We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base to explore Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights special offer!
Ranked #73 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic base to explore Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at MonRiad for a total of 6 days over the course of a two week trip around Morocco, using the Riad as a base in Marrakech.

From the moment we arrived and were picked up from the airport to the minute we finally left, MonRiad was a perfect little oasis of calm in an otherwise crazy city! The welcome we received (complete with mint tea) from Manuela, Luca and the rest of the staff was so warm, and the service at the Riad from there did not disappoint. Nothing was every too much trouble and because of them we were able to make the most of our time in the city, exploring all the main sites and bartering our way through the souks.

We returned to MonRiad after a few trips elsewhere (trek up Toubkal and trip to the desert and Merzouga), and each time we came back the greeting did not change. Manuela even checked up on whether we were OK when she was worried we hadn't returned from our mountain climbing trek!

The Riad itself is really lovely, very peaceful and a nice calm place to return after a day exploring Marrakech. It is incredibly central to all the main sites, and the rooms are really generously sized, comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast is a traditional Moroccan affair (complete with home made yoghurt), and again they are always very accommodating, with the timings changed to suit your timetable.

In short - we couldn't recommend MonRiad highly enough for anyone that wants to explore Marrakech whilst experiencing a traditional Riad. Thanks Manuela and Luca for everything!

Room Tip: Throughout our full stay we saw three different rooms and all the rooms are really nicely done. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I will like to thank you so much because you spent some of your time giving us a wonderful review. We do all our best to satisfy the needs of our guests and sometimes more! This what we like to give as a Riad, not just a merely accomodation but a full service!

Thank you again

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    92
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
214
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A long weekend trip to Marrakech wife my wife, brother & sister in law. The hotel was in a small back road virtually in the middle of the old city, a short walk to the main square, Jamaa El Afna.
The hotel only had about 10 room around a central court yard with a roof terrace overlooking the city. The room were clean and decorated well. The staff were very helpful and the evening meal we had on arrival and breakfast were good and plentiful. We spent an early evening on the roof before going out drink a bottle of wine supplied by the hotel. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble for the owners and staff. would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the old city in an authentic Riad and not a large corporate faceless hotel.

Room Tip: top rooms hear footsteps from anyone on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review, we do our best to make our costumer feel like home. A Riad is a old house turned nowadays in Hotel, but still we keep to recreate this sense of being at home. With the food, the service and always ready to share many moments with our guest.

We always appreciate any suggestion and Ideas! Ready to improve!

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely clean Riad with very helpful staff. The breakfast is good with lots to choose from. We were disappointed as we thought there was a swimming pool but its actually more of a plunge pool. We took the opportunity to sit on the roof each evening. It's a fantastic location just a short stroll from the main square.
It's just the nature of the Riad that it can be a bit noisy as all the rooms face into the central courtyard.

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise a ground floor room as it would be noisy when breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the nice review, and I would like to take advantage of this review to remember that all what we served in the breakfast is homade. From the so called 'bot bot' the bread, the 'baghrir' the crepes and cake! All made by our fantastic maroccan ladies!
The pool is a nice refreshing corner for the really hot marrakshi summer, you cannot avoid to enter when here is 45 degrees.....
Thank you again

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I spent 6 nights at this Riad and it was a great experience. Kind staff, peaceful atmosphere, great location, and the best showers in Morocco! Ask for Room 2 if you're tired of climbing stairs. (My only suggestion is that they make the central courtyard a "no smoking" zone, given that the guest rooms open onto it.)

Room Tip: Room 2 - twin, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, hope you're enjoyed your staying.
The suggestions which permit to improve our work are always welcome.
We wish you a nice day and hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here, and we wish we stayed more. Great location, a 2 min. walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Comfortable bed. Free Wifi with strong signal. AC. Good breakfast. Professional & very helpful staff, out of the 8 hotels/riads i stayed at in Morocco, this had the best service. Great stay, definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello,

thank you for your comment and for recommending the Monriad!
We try to offer you the help you need to make you enjoy Marrakech and your stay here. We are glad you liked the Monriad and its mixed style, both Moroccan and Italian.

We hope to see you again here in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at €43 a night in a very nice and spacious room. 4 poster bed with comfortable mattress, spacious modern bathroom and a large shower. Very tasteful room. Breakfast included was filling. Aircon in room and WIFI never missed a beat. Plenty of places to sit either on the ground floor or on the roof top terrace. Pretty hard to fault and every one of the staff both helpful and friendly. English, French and I think probably Italian spoken. Also offer 3 course dinner for €15 which was very very nice (Lemon Chicken). Central quiet location about a 5 minute walk into the main square. Do your research on how to find it before you get here or be prepared to pay a local to show you the way. Very interesting place with the locals not seeming to be as persistent (or annoying) as Fez. Taxi to train station 20 Dirham if your prepared to negotiate hard or walk some of the way or 30 without too much discussion. 50 will be the opening bid most times especially right outside the train station. Laundry at 170 Dirham was well over the odds. Guide services offered but not pushed which was also nice. You won't regret staying here in what is a very well run and friendly guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment. It s a really detailed description =)

We think your tips will be helpful for other travellers who would like to come to Marrakech and stay in our riad.
It can be hard to find the Monriad because all the paths inside the Medina look similar and there are plenty of cul-de-sac, but you will see it is very easy to get to the main square and to reach all the main sightseeing places of the city.

We do our best to welcome you with warmth and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Monriad and that the wi-fi worked well as you had requested!

We hope to see you again in marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days in Monriad. It is located a few minutes from the square and yet is so peaceful and gave us a great nights sleep. Breakfast was nice, the staff were helpful and it is a good price for Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for dedicating a few minutes to our comment.

We are glad that you enjoyed the calm and peace of our riad. We are lucky to have a strategic location inside the medina, so that you can have a stroll in the crowded Jemaa El Fna and come back in a short time to enjoy the lovely view from our roof terrace with such a silence surrounding you.

When you want to come back we will happily welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.