We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly, clean, peaceful oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights special offer!
Ranked #73 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly, clean, peaceful oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I spent 6 nights at this Riad and it was a great experience. Kind staff, peaceful atmosphere, great location, and the best showers in Morocco! Ask for Room 2 if you're tired of climbing stairs. (My only suggestion is that they make the central courtyard a "no smoking" zone, given that the guest rooms open onto it.)

Room Tip: Room 2 - twin, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, hope you're enjoyed your staying.
The suggestions which permit to improve our work are always welcome.
We wish you a nice day and hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    102
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
226
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patras
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here, and we wish we stayed more. Great location, a 2 min. walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Comfortable bed. Free Wifi with strong signal. AC. Good breakfast. Professional & very helpful staff, out of the 8 hotels/riads i stayed at in Morocco, this had the best service. Great stay, definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello,

thank you for your comment and for recommending the Monriad!
We try to offer you the help you need to make you enjoy Marrakech and your stay here. We are glad you liked the Monriad and its mixed style, both Moroccan and Italian.

We hope to see you again here in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at €43 a night in a very nice and spacious room. 4 poster bed with comfortable mattress, spacious modern bathroom and a large shower. Very tasteful room. Breakfast included was filling. Aircon in room and WIFI never missed a beat. Plenty of places to sit either on the ground floor or on the roof top terrace. Pretty hard to fault and every one of the staff both helpful and friendly. English, French and I think probably Italian spoken. Also offer 3 course dinner for €15 which was very very nice (Lemon Chicken). Central quiet location about a 5 minute walk into the main square. Do your research on how to find it before you get here or be prepared to pay a local to show you the way. Very interesting place with the locals not seeming to be as persistent (or annoying) as Fez. Taxi to train station 20 Dirham if your prepared to negotiate hard or walk some of the way or 30 without too much discussion. 50 will be the opening bid most times especially right outside the train station. Laundry at 170 Dirham was well over the odds. Guide services offered but not pushed which was also nice. You won't regret staying here in what is a very well run and friendly guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment. It s a really detailed description =)

We think your tips will be helpful for other travellers who would like to come to Marrakech and stay in our riad.
It can be hard to find the Monriad because all the paths inside the Medina look similar and there are plenty of cul-de-sac, but you will see it is very easy to get to the main square and to reach all the main sightseeing places of the city.

We do our best to welcome you with warmth and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Monriad and that the wi-fi worked well as you had requested!

We hope to see you again in marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days in Monriad. It is located a few minutes from the square and yet is so peaceful and gave us a great nights sleep. Breakfast was nice, the staff were helpful and it is a good price for Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for dedicating a few minutes to our comment.

We are glad that you enjoyed the calm and peace of our riad. We are lucky to have a strategic location inside the medina, so that you can have a stroll in the crowded Jemaa El Fna and come back in a short time to enjoy the lovely view from our roof terrace with such a silence surrounding you.

When you want to come back we will happily welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fantastic comfortable place to stay with very friendly staff who are extremely helpful. A wonderful restful place to come back to from a hectic day out. An evening meal is available and is a great idea if you are planning to be out all day. Easy walk to the main square. Relatively quiet area and very interesting traditional lane ways.

Room Tip: Try for one on the first floor - those on the ground could be noisy and 2nd floor is quite a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Kath,

thank you for your lovely comment.

Yes, the little lanes and narrow streets are one of the typical features of the Medina..at the beginning it can get easily lost! But that's also one good way to discover hidden squares and places you would have never found.

Thank you for staying with us at the Monriad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleiswijk, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were warmly received and we got good information about the surrounding area! The riad itself was very beautiful from the inside.It is located nearby Jemma el Fna and the souks. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. We recommend this Riad to all travellers!!

Room Tip: The months june, july, august and september are too hot to go to marrakech.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you Jordy for recommending our riad!

We are glad that you enjoyed Marrakech and that our suggestions were useful to visit the city and its main sightseeing places!

Thank you for appreciating the Monriad and our staff's job! If our guests leave being happy of their stay, then we can only be satisfied!

We hope you will come back again to Morocco to discover its many mervellous places and cities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at MonRiad and it was very pleasant. The staff are welcoming, kind and efficient and speak excellent English. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean and the shower was the best we had in Morocco.
The riad is in a great location, 2 minutes' walk from the petit taxi rank and a leisurely 10 minutes to the main square.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Elizabeth,

thank you very much for your comment about the Monriad!

It was a pleasure having you here at our riad. we hope you found the leather shops you were looking for..otherwise you should come back to Morocco ;-)

We are happy to know that you liked the Monriad and our staff.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.