We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quiet, good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
January Special Offer
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, quiet, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days in Monriad. It is located a few minutes from the square and yet is so peaceful and gave us a great nights sleep. Breakfast was nice, the staff were helpful and it is a good price for Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for dedicating a few minutes to our comment.

We are glad that you enjoyed the calm and peace of our riad. We are lucky to have a strategic location inside the medina, so that you can have a stroll in the crowded Jemaa El Fna and come back in a short time to enjoy the lovely view from our roof terrace with such a silence surrounding you.

When you want to come back we will happily welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    117
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
250
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fantastic comfortable place to stay with very friendly staff who are extremely helpful. A wonderful restful place to come back to from a hectic day out. An evening meal is available and is a great idea if you are planning to be out all day. Easy walk to the main square. Relatively quiet area and very interesting traditional lane ways.

Room Tip: Try for one on the first floor - those on the ground could be noisy and 2nd floor is quite a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Kath,

thank you for your lovely comment.

Yes, the little lanes and narrow streets are one of the typical features of the Medina..at the beginning it can get easily lost! But that's also one good way to discover hidden squares and places you would have never found.

Thank you for staying with us at the Monriad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleiswijk, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were warmly received and we got good information about the surrounding area! The riad itself was very beautiful from the inside.It is located nearby Jemma el Fna and the souks. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. We recommend this Riad to all travellers!!

Room Tip: The months june, july, august and september are too hot to go to marrakech.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you Jordy for recommending our riad!

We are glad that you enjoyed Marrakech and that our suggestions were useful to visit the city and its main sightseeing places!

Thank you for appreciating the Monriad and our staff's job! If our guests leave being happy of their stay, then we can only be satisfied!

We hope you will come back again to Morocco to discover its many mervellous places and cities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at MonRiad and it was very pleasant. The staff are welcoming, kind and efficient and speak excellent English. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean and the shower was the best we had in Morocco.
The riad is in a great location, 2 minutes' walk from the petit taxi rank and a leisurely 10 minutes to the main square.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Elizabeth,

thank you very much for your comment about the Monriad!

It was a pleasure having you here at our riad. we hope you found the leather shops you were looking for..otherwise you should come back to Morocco ;-)

We are happy to know that you liked the Monriad and our staff.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this Riad enough: clean, friendly, authentic and comfy beds.

We stayed 2 nights and then went to a horrendous resort. I wish we had stayed the whole week here -it was much better.

I recommend this hotel for all travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment!

We are glad to know that we managed to make the difference.
Our guests are at the centre of our attention and we really want to make you spend the best holiday you can.

We hope to see you soon in Morocco and at Monriad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay at MonRiad. It was beautifully decorated, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. It is centrally located, only a 5-10 minute walk to Jemma el Fna and the souks. The rooms were clean and the water hot. There was no curfew time.

Breakfast included a large selection of fresh fruit, chocolate croissants, pancakes, breads & jams, orange juice and coffee!

Please note that the rooms surround a central courtyard where breakfast is served, so bring earplugs if you like to sleep late.

Thank you for a lovely stay - we will stay again! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you Anja for the time you dedicated to us.

We are happy you had a good time in Marrakech and at Monriad!
We try to offer a great choice of food and drink at breakfast time, so that you can taste something typical Moroccan and something similar to a continetal breakfast.

Marrakech is safe and, during Ramadan, everybody is out in the street all night.

Sorry, but our riad is not isolated, so we do our best not to make too much noise while serving breakfast and at night when everyone is sleeping. But at least we are in a calm part of the Medina, so there s not noise coming from the outside.

We hope to see you again in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights here....it was was exceptionally clean, the staff very welcoming and held vast local knowledge. Breakfast was varied and always served with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble . Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors......it's a great view over the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jane,

thank you very much for your comment. We are really happy that you could spend a great time at Monriad and in Marrakech! Thank you for appreciating our Riad and our staff's work. Seeing our guests smile and be happy of their stay is the key factor to keep on doing our best to offer a better and better service.

Sleeping in an upper floor in Summer could be a bit hotter than at the first floor, but you are also closer to the roof terrace to get some fresh air in the evening =)

We hope to see you again in Marrakech!
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.