We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive for good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Inexpensive for good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good, clean and inexpensive riad in the medina very close to El Fnaa, but in a quiet spot down a side street.

We had booked, well in advance, a twin room for two friends. On arrival they had only a double, but the bed was so enormous we had no trouble sharing it and even decided not to change rooms the next night to two singles.

Good bathroom and plenty of space for a night or two.

Great view from roof terrace. Nobody else was ever there - perhaps as no service up there unless you order your drink from several floors below.

Clean, basic place with helpful staff. Italian owned. Federika very helpful.

Breakfast plentiful with fresh fruit (but no fresh orange juice - why, when oranges are so good in Morocco? A crime not to serve the juice at breakfast!).

We were on ground floor and there was a bit of very early morning 6am staff chatter that echoed and was a bit disturbing. That, and the aroma of brewing coffee they were brewing, made it hard to get back to sleep.

Then, just a little later and as were we were right beside the breakfast area, it was hard to sleep when other people were having their breakfast and chatting just outside our door.
But really, all this is just a niggle.

Their booked taxi transfer from airport was reasonable enough but best to walk around the corner and get a taxi from the square outside the palace if you want to go anywhere else. They gave us a quote for taxi to Amizmiz which was 3 times the going rate. We guessed the guy just didn't want to do it, or else was just winging it and hoping...as a a lot of people selling you things in Marrakesh seem to do.

Good base in Marrakesh if you want something reasonable, clean, with helpful people in a great location.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on floors above the ground floor which might be noisy in early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dera Madam,

we would like to thank you for your contribution. It is important to us having clear what is appreciated and what is not but let me explain you something about some aspects you mentioned.
Firstly, regarding the kind of room assigned, let me say that room n° 2 is intended to be twin bedded. You should have asked for two beds. We woud have made the change on the very moment.
Secondly, spaces in riad are not comparable to the spaces you can find in the largest hotel outside the medina. If you decide to stay in a Riad like ours you must consider that simplicity and essentiality are primary elements.
The service on the terrace is difficult when you have eleven rooms , a kitchen downstairs and a lot of stairs to cilmb. We offer, though, this service on request.
As for the breakfast, we decided not to serve fresh orange juice for hygienical reason but we try replace this aspect with other delicious specialities such as homemade crepes and yogurt.
When preparing early breakfast we usually avoid to speak loudly and we keep the door of the kitchen close, even if honestly I do not know how the aroma of the coffe can damage the sleeping of a person. It's up to the common sense of the people not shouting during breakfast time . WE always remind them, anyway.
Regarding the excursions, asking for a private service has higher costs but it also offers more benefits, as well. It is not knew that if you want good quality you need to spend more. Though, we offered other alternatives to this tours.
Revealing you our thoughts on these matters, we sincerely hope that you will be willing to give us another chance ! We all look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards from the Ville Rouge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    116
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
247
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff and MonRiad were lovely, helpful and very accommodating.
The location is great, within walking distance of the main square and everything around.
Breakfast is simple continental style, but adequate for the heat.
Our room was on the second floor, air conditioned with an en-suite bathroom. Hot water was always available.

They offer an airport pickup service. It is about double the cost of the price normal cabs cost to go to the airport but for ease and knowing that they will actually find the riad (it is tucked away in a little side street) I recommend it if it is the start of your trip.

Thank you for making the start of our holiday lovely MonRiad!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are honoured that we gave our contribution to make you spend a lovely holiday in Marrakech!
As you said, we can provide a private transfer from and to the airport. If it is your first time in Marrakech and you don t know how it works here in Morocco and you want to be sure you won t have any surprise, this is a good solution. But it is always up to you whether to book a private transfer or to take a taxi once you are here.

Thank you for having chosen Monriad!

We hope to see you again in Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really nice stay . Collected to and from the airport. Ten minutes to the main square. Nice rooms overlooking inner courtyard where we had a great breakfast each day with lovely service. Lots of help on what do and where to go.Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Best rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Jerry for sharing your opinion.

It is a pleasure for us and for all our staff to know that you enjoyed Marrakech and its atmosphere. We are glad you liked our breakfast with fresh products and prepared by our Moroccan staff according to their local habits. During the month of the Ramadan,for example, we prepare and cook our own bread, as Moroccans are used to do.

We hope to see you here in Morocco and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our riad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I traveled with a friend and we really enjoyed our stay here. The location is great and the facilities and food were top notch. We had to catch an early flight and they even had breakfast ready for us at 5:30am. And for the westerners like myself, there is a door that fully separates the bathroom from the bedroom, which is nice if you are on the modest side

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

You are our guest, so we do our best to make you feel comfortable from the beginning to the end of your stay.
At the Monriad you can always find someone to welcome you, so that you are free to enjoy Marrakech at any time of the day and of the night.

Thank you for having chosen Monriad! We hope to see you again here in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great riad giving the Marrakech experience with high standards and excellent service. Location great for all the main sights, lovely breakfast and peaceful roof terrace to relax in the sun away from the chaos of the town

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you could spend a great time here in Marrakech. And we are happy to see that you loved our terrace..it is really calm at any time and it offers a lovely view of the city. Our staff do their best to make you feel comfortable and to give you all the information you need to enjoy the Red City.

Thank you for having chosen Monriad and we hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hard to find but if you call the reception, somebody will go and get you. When you arrive you will be amazed by the beauty of this little riad. It's typical and if it was what you wanted, you will not be disappointed.
Owners are an Italian family who are really extremely nice and helpfull.
The situation is great, service is great, even the price is great ... !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

Our riad is inside the Medina, the historic part of the city of Marrakech, where many streets are narrow and really similar one to the other, so at the beginning it can be difficult to find. Once you get here, we will provide you with a map, our address and phone number...but we are sure you will enjoy the city and will learn quickly how to move inside the Medina to discover its beauty.

We are happy to know that you liked our riad and that we were able to offer you a pleasant stay in Morocco.

We hope to see you again here at Monriad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Got a brilliant Moroccan welcome on arrival at Mon Riad from Federika and her team who served some mint tea. After a long journey this was very well received. Lots of room in bedroom which had its own bathroom with shower. All very clean and tidy. There are great views of the town from the roof terrace of the riad and it is a lovely place to go to when the sun is coming up. There was a good choice for breakfast from freshly squeezed orange juce, tea/coffee, fresh bread, local type pancakes, butter and jams and cereal for anyone who wanted anything more to eat. All served with a smile. It is only a short walk to the main square Jemaa el-Fnaa where you can experience the fantastic atmosphere of the food stalls, orange juice sellers and snake charmers. It is also only a short distance to the el Badi Palace where you can see the storks nesting on the roof. You can also pick up taxis quite easily at the bottom of the street and if you need help with your luggage you can get someone with a barrow to help you out. Although I've not used my school French for a while this also came in handy when speaking to some of the locals. I am looking forward to going back to Morocco again and would definitely stay at Mon Riad when I am in Marrakech due to its friendliness, cleanliness and good position. Although I crammed lots into my visit there are many more things to see and places to visit which I didn't have time to do.

Room Tip: I was on second floor and paid a single supplement for my room. I don't travel light and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Ivy,
Thank you for staying with us in Marrakech.
We try to offer our guests the best comfort in the riad and we pay much attention to cleanliness. When people come to Marrakech they normally expect to see typical aspects of the Moroccan lifestyle that is why we also make an effort to give you an idea of the local taste with some freshly made yoghurt and crepes. Unfortunately, we are no more able to serve freshly squeezed orange juice due to hygiene norms we must respect, so we hope you won’t be disappointed to arrive and see we have orange juice in bottles.
For sure, Marrakech and Morocco have many wonderful places to discover, so we wish to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.