We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad with lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights special offer!
Ranked #74 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leeds UK
1 review
“Lovely Riad with lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really nice stay . Collected to and from the airport. Ten minutes to the main square. Nice rooms overlooking inner courtyard where we had a great breakfast each day with lovely service. Lots of help on what do and where to go.Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Best rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Jerry for sharing your opinion.

It is a pleasure for us and for all our staff to know that you enjoyed Marrakech and its atmosphere. We are glad you liked our breakfast with fresh products and prepared by our Moroccan staff according to their local habits. During the month of the Ramadan,for example, we prepare and cook our own bread, as Moroccans are used to do.

We hope to see you here in Morocco and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our riad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    103
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
226
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I traveled with a friend and we really enjoyed our stay here. The location is great and the facilities and food were top notch. We had to catch an early flight and they even had breakfast ready for us at 5:30am. And for the westerners like myself, there is a door that fully separates the bathroom from the bedroom, which is nice if you are on the modest side

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

You are our guest, so we do our best to make you feel comfortable from the beginning to the end of your stay.
At the Monriad you can always find someone to welcome you, so that you are free to enjoy Marrakech at any time of the day and of the night.

Thank you for having chosen Monriad! We hope to see you again here in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great riad giving the Marrakech experience with high standards and excellent service. Location great for all the main sights, lovely breakfast and peaceful roof terrace to relax in the sun away from the chaos of the town

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Manager at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you could spend a great time here in Marrakech. And we are happy to see that you loved our terrace..it is really calm at any time and it offers a lovely view of the city. Our staff do their best to make you feel comfortable and to give you all the information you need to enjoy the Red City.

Thank you for having chosen Monriad and we hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hard to find but if you call the reception, somebody will go and get you. When you arrive you will be amazed by the beauty of this little riad. It's typical and if it was what you wanted, you will not be disappointed.
Owners are an Italian family who are really extremely nice and helpfull.
The situation is great, service is great, even the price is great ... !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

Our riad is inside the Medina, the historic part of the city of Marrakech, where many streets are narrow and really similar one to the other, so at the beginning it can be difficult to find. Once you get here, we will provide you with a map, our address and phone number...but we are sure you will enjoy the city and will learn quickly how to move inside the Medina to discover its beauty.

We are happy to know that you liked our riad and that we were able to offer you a pleasant stay in Morocco.

We hope to see you again here at Monriad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Got a brilliant Moroccan welcome on arrival at Mon Riad from Federika and her team who served some mint tea. After a long journey this was very well received. Lots of room in bedroom which had its own bathroom with shower. All very clean and tidy. There are great views of the town from the roof terrace of the riad and it is a lovely place to go to when the sun is coming up. There was a good choice for breakfast from freshly squeezed orange juce, tea/coffee, fresh bread, local type pancakes, butter and jams and cereal for anyone who wanted anything more to eat. All served with a smile. It is only a short walk to the main square Jemaa el-Fnaa where you can experience the fantastic atmosphere of the food stalls, orange juice sellers and snake charmers. It is also only a short distance to the el Badi Palace where you can see the storks nesting on the roof. You can also pick up taxis quite easily at the bottom of the street and if you need help with your luggage you can get someone with a barrow to help you out. Although I've not used my school French for a while this also came in handy when speaking to some of the locals. I am looking forward to going back to Morocco again and would definitely stay at Mon Riad when I am in Marrakech due to its friendliness, cleanliness and good position. Although I crammed lots into my visit there are many more things to see and places to visit which I didn't have time to do.

Room Tip: I was on second floor and paid a single supplement for my room. I don't travel light and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Ivy,
Thank you for staying with us in Marrakech.
We try to offer our guests the best comfort in the riad and we pay much attention to cleanliness. When people come to Marrakech they normally expect to see typical aspects of the Moroccan lifestyle that is why we also make an effort to give you an idea of the local taste with some freshly made yoghurt and crepes. Unfortunately, we are no more able to serve freshly squeezed orange juice due to hygiene norms we must respect, so we hope you won’t be disappointed to arrive and see we have orange juice in bottles.
For sure, Marrakech and Morocco have many wonderful places to discover, so we wish to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The place is beautiful, has a nice terrace. The location is really great, 10 minutes walk to the Jema el Fna square. We felt pretty safe walking there and back even at night. You can explore the whole Medina by foot from the riad, which is nice. Some of the staff did not speak english.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Riad is just a couple of minutes away from the Bahia Palace and also from the main square. Few more minutes from El Badi Palace. It is few metres away from the main street in a cul de sac so it is very easy to miss it, be prepared to get lost so my advice is to ask for more details and reference points before arriving. A taxi stand is also around the corner. I liked the location not just because is close to a couple of attractions and the main square but also because this part of the medina is a bit more open and less claustrophobic! From the terrace of the riad you can have a good picture and view of the medina and the Atlas mountains. Good service and rooms, I would suggest to ask for a higher floor to be more isolated from the ground floor courtyard. The staff is happy to talk to guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We want to thank you for your comment.
Yes, the Monriad is close to the main places to visit inside the Medina and being in a cul-de-sac makes it a quiet and relaxing oasis. At the beginning you could get lost, but with a couple of reference points you won’t miss it! We usually provide our guests with a map of the city (where the Monriad is clearly marked) and a business card with our address and telephone number, so that you can contact us whenever you need it.
We try to do our best to welcome our guests with warmth to make you feel at ease in such a fascinating city. We just want you to enjoy your time here in Marrakech and to make it as pleasant as possible for you.
We hope to see you again here in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.