We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MonRiad

Save Saved
You added MonRiad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MonRiad
4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€120 (EUR)
Ranked #81 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I'd say the most important thing about this hotel was the service, honestly couldn't fault it. Staff were always happy and helpful, ready with recommendations which was so important in such a daunting city. Hotel itself was spotless and lived up to our expectations.
Would go back, good value for money, great location, peaceful, overall very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    105
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
235
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This riad probably stood out as one of the easier to find places in Marrakech - it was only a couple of minutes walk from the nearest parking (good if you're getting a taxi from the airport) and it wasn't buried down a maze of winding streets. Its location in the city as a whole was also very good, with a simple (1 road, no turns necessary), 10 minute walk to get to Jemaa el Fna.

Upon arrival we were greeted with tea and shown to our room, which was pleasantly decorated and had all the necessities: ensuite, AC, double bed, cleanliness etc. Breakfast was standard Moroccan/continental fare and was pretty much as you would expect anywhere else in the country. Other plus points of this riad were the small plunge pool, ideal for cooling off on a hot day and the rooftop terrace, which, while not amazingly attractive, did the job.

Finally, the airport transfer we arranged with them had no fuss and no problems.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family looking for a reasonable hotel at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great hotel, quiet, peaceful, very clean and staff is really friendly.
We really felt in peace everytime we were back at the riad.

There's a terrace where you can spend a good time at night before going to bed... during the day, it's really hot.

Rooms are small, but they have air conditioner which makes them great!

Location is also great, close to Jamaa el Fna, and most attractions in Marrakech..

Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Top location, very good staf. Clean room, great showers. Good beds and relaxed roof terrace. Very good value for money. So good that we skipped our last night in essaouirra to stay one more night at monriad in marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The riad itself is pretty nice and the location is about 10 minutes walking to the main square. the "pool" is teeny-tiny and not suitable for swimming (you couldn't fit an entire human into the pool). The terrace was alright, could use a bit of sprucing up. Rooms were nice and clean. The cleaning lady folded all of my clothes each day.

Be careful with the excursions booked through the riad. We booked one to the Atlas Mountains and when we were ready to board the bus the price suddenly went up and we felt we were getting scammed so we walked away. Also the riad staff got the timing of our breakfast wrong that day and the server was super grouchy toward us. Breakfast wasn't that great anyway, but judging by other travellers we talked to its a pretty standard Moroccan breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived in Marrakech after traveling in Spain for a week, and Manuela had arranged for us to be picked up from the airport by one of the staff. Marrakech is like nothing I've ever seen before---it was completely lawless in terms of driving, with no lanes and people weaving in front of each other. Needless to say, we were very happy to be picked up by an experienced, trustworthy driver ! There is very limited driving in Medina because of the narrow streets but there is a parking lot right next to the hotel so you don't have to drag your bags for more than 2 minutes. Our stay was great--the breakfast in the morning was delicious and the rooms were clean. On the last day, we had covered everything we wanted to see so Manuela arranged a camel ride for us in the Palmaerie (which I do NOT recommend) but I really appreciated Manuela's assistance. Overall, we had a great stay there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We visited Marrakech in April/May for a week to celebrate my birthday. I spent lots of time researching suitable riads and was pleased to find that it lived up to all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. At the risk of boring you and repeating what has been echoed in so many other reviews...here are my highlights:
- Excellent value for money - we were upgraded to a larger room after two nights (free of charge) and room rate includes a lovely fresh and simple breakfast each morning
- Warm welcome and unobtrusive service
- Fantastic location just five minutes walk from Jemaa el fna (the main square) although it will take longer to walk through because of the array of stalls, sights and smells
- We ate here on two occasions...lovely homecooked food, again good value for money, nice bottle of Moroccan rose
- Definitely book the airport pick up, i'd hate to have to find this place on arrival with a week's luggage. Well worth the extra for the ease of this service
- Lovely roof terrace to relax on at the end of the day...we were often the only people up here. Great place to watch the sunset, see the storks, hear the prayer calls, see the snow topped Atlas mountains
Phew this review is long overdue. Happy memories indeed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MonRiad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.