We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, clean and good ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Annexe

L'Annexe
14 Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-34010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 611 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: French, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Weekly Closing on Sundays and Mondays.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice food, clean and good ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had enough of all the generic food in Marrakech and decided to travel out of the medina ( my hubbie fancied a beer) so after ages finding a taxi that knew the street and negotiating hard only to find we didn't have the right money anyhow.... We arrived. About 10 mins from the main square.

The restaurant itself was extremely lean and pleasant, nice door and the owner ( I guess he was) was very attentive.

Waitress was a bit miserable, but the main was amazing, scallops and bacon.... What could possibly go wrong. Eh? Dessert was just ok ish, but the beer and wine am up for everything.

Would probably rate higher had the miserable waitress been grateful tha we where having a joke wit her and left her a handsome tip.... Also, the toilets only out a 4/5 as there was a need for someone to use the toilet to clean it.... If you get my drift! Anyhow, I would definitely there again..... Cos the run of the mill food in Marrakech gets a bit tiresome, as does all the filth.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier1202, Propriétaire at L'Annexe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your message and your contribution on Tripadvisor.
Olivier BIANCIOTTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    195
    28
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

If you want great meat in marrakesh, this is just the place to be. Designwise the place is somewhat questionable - I didnt really fancy the style. Food and wine where excellent, also not very price at all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A let down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The presentation and table service were above average. Our meal was reasonably agreeable without being outstanding in any particular way. I would say that what is provided the prices were no bargain. Our evening meal was destroyed by the worst exhibition by the patron. When a staff member apparently got a drink order wrong at a table of four the patron called the man into the kitchen and proceeded to physically strike him several times. This incident was witnessed by at least eight guests. We cut our meal short and would not return to this establishment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a must for French Cuisine in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

L'annexe has been able to consistently maintain a very high quality standard for its French cuisine at very reasonable prices. There is no doubt this is a must have. Some of the favourites are the mix of salmon specialities or the "pain perdu" if you still want to enjoy a great end of meal experience. Quality of the service is also high with a permanent attention of the owner to make sure his guest enjoy the culinary experience. Will return, for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best food in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Quite simply the best meal we had in Marrakech. French cooking done superbly. Rabbit terrine for me and duck pate for my wife. The terrine would not look out of place at any michelin star restaurant. Then superb steaks to follow served with garlic saute potatoes and salad. Other mains such as duck breast, pasta and chicken in a mustard sauce also looked delicious. One minor criticism is that the portions are too large so we had no room for what looked like lovely desserts.

Initially it was too quiet with only one other couple at 8.30pm but soon it filled up and there was a lovely ambience to add to the friendly and efficient service. Our bill for two courses for two, a bottle of Morrocan wine and water came to 620 dhirams (48 pounds) which we thought was excellent value.

It can be hard to find so tell the taxi driver that it is round the corner from the hotel diwane in the gueliz district.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Annexe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Annexe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.