We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Annexe

L'Annexe
14 Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-34010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: French, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Weekly Closing on Sundays and Mondays.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A let down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The presentation and table service were above average. Our meal was reasonably agreeable without being outstanding in any particular way. I would say that what is provided the prices were no bargain. Our evening meal was destroyed by the worst exhibition by the patron. When a staff member apparently got a drink order wrong at a table of four the patron called the man into the kitchen and proceeded to physically strike him several times. This incident was witnessed by at least eight guests. We cut our meal short and would not return to this establishment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    175
    25
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a must for French Cuisine in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

L'annexe has been able to consistently maintain a very high quality standard for its French cuisine at very reasonable prices. There is no doubt this is a must have. Some of the favourites are the mix of salmon specialities or the "pain perdu" if you still want to enjoy a great end of meal experience. Quality of the service is also high with a permanent attention of the owner to make sure his guest enjoy the culinary experience. Will return, for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best food in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Quite simply the best meal we had in Marrakech. French cooking done superbly. Rabbit terrine for me and duck pate for my wife. The terrine would not look out of place at any michelin star restaurant. Then superb steaks to follow served with garlic saute potatoes and salad. Other mains such as duck breast, pasta and chicken in a mustard sauce also looked delicious. One minor criticism is that the portions are too large so we had no room for what looked like lovely desserts.

Initially it was too quiet with only one other couple at 8.30pm but soon it filled up and there was a lovely ambience to add to the friendly and efficient service. Our bill for two courses for two, a bottle of Morrocan wine and water came to 620 dhirams (48 pounds) which we thought was excellent value.

It can be hard to find so tell the taxi driver that it is round the corner from the hotel diwane in the gueliz district.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food but lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at L'Annexe, the food was delicious, we had goats cheese filled filo pastry for starters which was light and tasty and chicken for main course which was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.
I thought the meal good value, my only criticism with the restaurant was the lighting which lacked any sort of atmosphere. Well worth a visit for the food alone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be surprised....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Using TA we decide to give it a try: yes, it is of the beaten track, yes, it is very French, yes it is is not a tourist trap so GO- food is delightful nay exquisite , service is informal but good and you will be made to feel welcome (even with my school-boy French). We enjoyed it so much we went back two nights later and will go again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Annexe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Annexe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.