We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Annexe

L'Annexe
14 Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-34010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: French, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Weekly Closing on Sundays and Mondays.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a fantastic meal here with my family, while here in Marakech. We were served the best food we ate the whole time we were in Morocco. The only bad thing I can say about the L'annexe was the way the boss treated his staff, he was fully abusing his young waitress who was so sweet and lovely and who had done a fantasitc job, in full earshot of the entire restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    175
    25
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great restaurant, reasonably priced for traditional french fair...not one to miss. The staff where very helpful and I had an amazing steak and fries-not traditional moroccan food but very tasty!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perhaps it was the contrast with cuisine Marrakchi or perhaps it was just charm and civilisation. Either way, we did indeed go back for a second consecutive lunch. Olivier and his gracious team at L'Annexe serve great food which is a mixture of classic French with a few inventive twists. Our favourites were salade perigourdine, steack hache avec oeufs cheval and tarte tatin with ice cream (not your usual tarte!).

Rue Moulay Ali isn't long and an iPhone map downloaded on your hotel wifi will guide you there easily. Make the trip. Closed Sundays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An alternative to Morrocan food & Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is another restaurant which you would never find without a taxi driver or by accident. It is a very modern chic place which would not be out of place in any UK city. It was also the first place in Marrakech where the lighting was bright enough to read the menu without squinting!
The service was brisk from a young waitress who spoke only French, so help in explaining the menu was from the owner who was courteous & helpful. The wine waiter was a Craig David lookalike who was friendly & attentive.
There were 3 veggie starters & one veggie main. The rest of the menu was steak & fish based. I chose creamed lentil, bacon & onion starter which came as a soup & was tasty. My husband had prawn cocktail which was shrimps & avocado, fairly average.
My main was carpaccio which I liked, my husband had chateaubriand which he had to return as it was undercooked, but after kitchen apologies returned cooked ok. We didn't have a pudding, & had a red wine from the middle of the list which was Moroccan & a reasonable £13.
We had coffee & my husband asked for Americano. However, the waitress misinterpreted thus for a cocktail on the menu of the same name. We didnt complein & thought it was funny, but the owner went away and gave us both coffees & the cocktail free if charge, which he didn't have to but was a nice gesture.
The only negative was the atmosphere. I can't put my finger on it as everything seemed right; lighting, music, busy, service, but no buzz. Having said that it certainly wouldn't stop me recommending a visit or returning there myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent meal when you can't face another brochette or tagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Tucked away down a dark restaurant lined road in the new town, l'Annexe offers inventive and classic fare. The inventiveness comes from French-takes on Moroccan classics (Bastilla, sleds, etc) and from Moroccan-isation of French specials (foie gras with saffrony sweet sauce, osso bucco starter [fabulous] with oregano and olive). The classics are perfectly done steaks of good quality meat. The side orders are great, and the children's pasta inventive yet spot-on, without being formulaic or too heavy. Waitering staff very friendly and speedy, yet allowed for an easy paced meal. Chef-patron frequently made it front of house and was plainly keen for us to enjoy his food, a nice touch without being at all pressurised.

If there is a quibble, to our personal taste, the lighting was a bit bright. So if you see some of the photos and a re a bit put off thinking it looks more like a bar, don't be: it is a place for great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Annexe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Annexe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.