We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alternative to Morrocan food & Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Annexe

L'Annexe
14 Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-34010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 585 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: French, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Weekly Closing on Sundays and Mondays.
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An alternative to Morrocan food & Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is another restaurant which you would never find without a taxi driver or by accident. It is a very modern chic place which would not be out of place in any UK city. It was also the first place in Marrakech where the lighting was bright enough to read the menu without squinting!
The service was brisk from a young waitress who spoke only French, so help in explaining the menu was from the owner who was courteous & helpful. The wine waiter was a Craig David lookalike who was friendly & attentive.
There were 3 veggie starters & one veggie main. The rest of the menu was steak & fish based. I chose creamed lentil, bacon & onion starter which came as a soup & was tasty. My husband had prawn cocktail which was shrimps & avocado, fairly average.
My main was carpaccio which I liked, my husband had chateaubriand which he had to return as it was undercooked, but after kitchen apologies returned cooked ok. We didn't have a pudding, & had a red wine from the middle of the list which was Moroccan & a reasonable £13.
We had coffee & my husband asked for Americano. However, the waitress misinterpreted thus for a cocktail on the menu of the same name. We didnt complein & thought it was funny, but the owner went away and gave us both coffees & the cocktail free if charge, which he didn't have to but was a nice gesture.
The only negative was the atmosphere. I can't put my finger on it as everything seemed right; lighting, music, busy, service, but no buzz. Having said that it certainly wouldn't stop me recommending a visit or returning there myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    209
    29
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent meal when you can't face another brochette or tagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Tucked away down a dark restaurant lined road in the new town, l'Annexe offers inventive and classic fare. The inventiveness comes from French-takes on Moroccan classics (Bastilla, sleds, etc) and from Moroccan-isation of French specials (foie gras with saffrony sweet sauce, osso bucco starter [fabulous] with oregano and olive). The classics are perfectly done steaks of good quality meat. The side orders are great, and the children's pasta inventive yet spot-on, without being formulaic or too heavy. Waitering staff very friendly and speedy, yet allowed for an easy paced meal. Chef-patron frequently made it front of house and was plainly keen for us to enjoy his food, a nice touch without being at all pressurised.

If there is a quibble, to our personal taste, the lighting was a bit bright. So if you see some of the photos and a re a bit put off thinking it looks more like a bar, don't be: it is a place for great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in 2 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Trip advisor, as usual, was a great help. We went to marrakech for the first time and wanted good food, L'Annexe was highly recommended.
We travel all over the world for both business and pleasure, eating in some of the best restaurants, and therefore are not often surprised by a restaurants offer.
It is small and unassuming from outside, relatively simple contemporary style inside, interesting and uncomplicated menu. The service was good and the owner extremely vigilant as well as welcoming.
The food was extremely well presented, cooked perfectly, tasted delicious and would have graced any of the best restaurants worldwide for flavour, presentation and combination.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Close on a Sunday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Before I went to Marrakech, my plan was to eat here, took us a while to find it and it was close when we got there =( I wished they have mentioned it in their site.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Such lovely place , the food was so good the honour of the place such nice guy the service was good its really worth the trip cheers

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Annexe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Annexe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.