We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern French cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Annexe

L'Annexe
14 Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-34010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: French, Grill, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Weekly Closing on Sundays and Mondays.
Denver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Modern French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved this modern French gem in the new city of Gueliz. The French owner has created a restaurant of tasty cuisine that is also of value. Their wines were priced a bit lower than many spots in town. Enjoyed everything!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    212
    29
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just got back from an amazing dinner at this restaurant. The food was delicious, the service excellent, and the welcome from the owner was warm and genuine.

Since it was Saturday night, we made a reservation through our riad. It was a bit of a hike from the medina, but well worth it--just make sure to find the location online. Because we had booked late, we ended up at the table by the door (good place for people-watching), but the owner came over immediately to apologize profusely and gave us a lot of attention throughout the evening, including comping several items.

We started with rabbit terrine, fish soup and goat cheese croustade and moved on to two different lamb dishes (both were excellent). The daily special desert (apple tart with ice cream) was perfect. In short, the food was some of the finest we've had in a week in Marrakesh, comparable to or better than any of the other "fine" restaurants in town--and the bill was a lot more modest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Outstanding food and a cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A couple from Denmark visiting Marrakech, we wanted an evening with some european food for variation beside all the good local food in Marrakech we had been eating. This little french diner does not look like much from outside, but when you enter a very cozy atmosphere reveals and they make outstanding food. We were spoiled with a starter of avocado and salad, steaks and lamb for main course and chocholate fondant for dessert - at a vary fair price! Besides this - staff was friendly and professional. I warmly recommend any visitors in Marrakech to spend a night on this restaurant :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb French - Moroccan Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been visiting friends in Morocco for the new year and have been spoiled by authentic home cooking for most of my visit. Restaurants like Le Jardin and Terasse des Epices have proved disappointing, so I was skeptical when my host suggested I try L'Annexe with her for the first time. L'Annexe offers superbe food with friendly service for a good price. The French fare with a local twist is done correctly, unlike what is found on offer at so many local establishments. The chef / proprietor let me try a few wines before I settled on one to accompany my meal and prepared a smaller version of one of the menu's salads for me at my request. The restaurant readily accommodated the needs of a child in our party. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone seeking a quality French/Moroccan fusion meal in Marrakesh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

New Year's Eve and they got us in at the last minute. From entering the place we were welcomed with open arms as well as neck and shoulder massages. The food was a glorious relief from couscous, tagines and chicken skewers. The steaks were magnificent and the truffle and Parmesan risotto out of this world. Monsieur speaks only French but is delightful. Cannot recommend too highly. If you come to Marrakech and don't come to L'Annex then your trip is incomplete.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Annexe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Annexe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.