We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap but food and setting is ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Baroud

Dar El Baroud
275, Avenue Mohamed V | Derb Saïdalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00212 5 24 42 60 09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #368 of 616 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tourist trap but food and setting is ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Like many of the other reviewers this restaurant was booked for us by our hotel concierge. It was our first night in Marrakech and we weren't feeling all that adventurous after a day travelling. The restaurant is set in a 'typical' Moroccan Riad style, and is actually quite lovely. We were given a set menu that was around 500 MAD (Dirhams), so about £45 each!! We weren't all that hungry and asked if there were any other options; we were reluctantly given a different menu. We had a selection of salads to start, and then lamb couscous and chicken tagine for main course. The food was fresh and tasty, and the service attentive. So why only 3 stars? It just felt massively contrived and over-priced. I know you can do a lot better for that sort of money in Marrakech.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fellow guests at our Riad mentioned this restaurant to us and said that it was authentic and delicious. They were correct on both counts! We enjoyed the ambiance, service and guitar player and thought that the food was wonderful. I am surprised to see negative reviews...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is by far the bast restaurant in Marrakech. Food to die for, service second to none and although a little more pricier than most it is well worth paying the extra. Our party of four ended the night playing the guitar with the musicians and everyone made our night really perfect!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We were scammed and taken here by a man who said he worked at our Rhiad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were scammed. We were approached in the street by a man who said he worked in our Rhiad. A popular scam but as it was only our first day in Marrakech we didn't know about it. He said the restaurant we were looking for was dreadful and organised a taxi to take us a couple of hundred yards to this much better restaurant. Once we realised what was going on we didn't stay, it seemed very expensive and was absolutely empty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read a few of the reviews here I feel the Dar El Baroud may be a 'Marmite' experience.
PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU READ THE GOOD BIT AT THE END
Like most of the reviewers here, we were recommended it by the Concierge at our hotel (Sofitel). We were told it was 'nice prices' and also picked up and dropped back free of charge, it seemed too good to miss, so we went. We, like everyone else, was shown the set menu at 450 Dirhams each (£33) which didn't seem too bad, however, do be careful,
HERE'S THE NEGATIVE BIT - as once you add a bottle of wine and a tip, the price does ramp up to a staggering 1,375 Dirhams (£101) . . . .
HERE'S THE POSITIVE BIT - Whilst it's expensive, the experience is amazing. the decor and the ambiance is amazing, the food (3 huge courses) is fantastic and you also get authentic Oud (Mandolin) music throughout your meal and two sessions of belly dancing (decent dancing too). I would suggest that this evening could be compared to booking a Moroccan evening through your agent and would have paid more than this cost and would have received rubbish food, rubbish drink and 'tourist' entertainment.
We thoroughly enjoyed it and whilst we're not wealthy and £100 is an expensive meal, we felt it was great value and the experience far outweighed the cost.
FINALLY, AND HERE'S THE GOOD BIT - YOU DON'T HAVE TO HAVE THE SET MENU - just ask for the courses you want (just a main if you want to (150 Dirhams - £11)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar El Baroud also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar El Baroud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Baroud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.