We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad BB Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad BB Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad BB Marrakech
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Fhal Zefriti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #376 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Budget Riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I found this riad to be a good place to stay on a budget in Marrakech. It definitely had some downsides, but for the price, it was totally worth it. Keep in mind that if you want to stay in the medina, you are going to have to put up with some of these hassles to get an authentic experience. The stuff in my review is more of less info that I would have wanted to know before staying here.

First the location was excellent. This riad was within a minute or 2 walking distance of the main square (Djemaa el-Fnaa) as well as the Koutoubia Mosque. Now the downsides... getting to the B&B was a big pain. It is tucked away back in the damp alleys off the main roads. When we stayed there we were particularly unlucky because the city must have been doing work on the pipelines and all the alleys were dug up and nasty. Just to get into the alley we had to slide down a 4 ft high dirt and rock mound (the stairs were burried underneath), so that was unpleasant. The alleys them selves were mostly dirt mounds and holes with rickety wooden boards over it, so that was not so great. Other times the men working in the alleys wouldn't let us pass- so we had to go the long and confusing other way out. Not so fun. Also, its not a place you would ever find on your own. Those dank alleyways are not marked with street signs, so your best bet is to pay someone in the neighborhood to take you or just do what we did and arrange an airport transfer. This was more expensive then paying a taxi driver but for piece of mind it was worth it, since they take you right to the front door.
As for the riad, we were asked to pay for our 3 nights of stay up front. I did not like this, and I also found it unprofessional. I didn't mind paying the cash over card, as I think that is very common in Morocco, but I dont think a guest of the hotel should be expected to pony up all the fees at once. As a customer, there felt like there was no safety in this transaction and there was no receipt given. Furthermore, they did NOT give us a key to get in the building and even gave us a curfew of 11 PM. Now, I understand it being a B&B, but in my book, when it is a professional establishment that I am paying money for, I dont expect when to be told home, especially when previous reviews on here had been given the courtesy of a key. I expect the same treatment as others. And also, during our stay there was only one person looking after the B&B and she only spoke french, so there was no assistance with english. I was just lucky to have had a bit of french under my belt!

Other than those setbacks, we actually were pleased with the stay. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was good. The furniture seemed new and was modern- although the rooms were no frills. The only weird thing is that the shower doesn't drain very well and there is no shower curtain, so it soaked the floor and any nearby items. That I found weird and could easily be rectified. The breakfast was delicious, and we were very pleased with this. There was fresh coffee, juice, bread, flatbreads, yogurt, and even omelets! The cost was 70 dirhams for 2 people, so the price was fantastic (although it does defeat the purpose of staying in a b&b if breakfast is not included, but I digress). The rooftop had a great view and a little plunge pool, although it was not hot enough out to use it. I also did find the riad to be a bit noisy with guests coming and going, but it was overall a quiet place to stay.
We also chose to arrange a tour guide for the day, but this was something I had to do on my own. They have no pamphlets of info in the lobby, I was just lucky enough to have had the Riad email address, so that I could contact Mustafa (presumably the owner) and he set me up with the contacts to arrange a tour. The tour was excellent and we were thrilled with our guide. He showed us things we never would have seen on our own and even helped us negotiate fair prices in the souks. We were very very happy with this and would have done another tour with this company if we had the time.

Overall, the stay was average but the price made it all totally worth it. If you are the kind of person that can put up with a few hassles, then this is a good fit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good: good signal of the WiFi, very clean room, very quiet and very good position in Medina. The quality of the sleep is very good and you can also really enjoy it on the terasa.
Bad: 1. We could not find it with the address indicated on the site where we book it (venere.com), so after 40min of searching, we had to pay 100DH to a local to take us there. There are no signs to the Riad.
2. They gave us a big exchange rate 11,6DH/1Euro. Our bill was in Euro, but we payed in DH. In the city, the exchange rate was between 10,7-10,9/ 1 Euro.

They are also offering breakfast, but we did not take it, so I can not say something about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Riad BB Marrakech was a slightly difficult find - the alleyway is a bit dark and smelly (a lot of stray cats and people sitting around). But once you find it (next to the big RH Jardin hotel) and directly across from a juice place, you'll find the location is quite ideal. The rooms were also very clean.
Other than that, I can't recommend the service. The owner was insistent to pay upfront based on his exchange rate (a bit money grubbing). I wouldn't say that riad was well decorated either. It was a bit spartan, and felt a bit sterile. The rooms were a bit noisy, and the doors were stiff (opened and closed very loudly).

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the ground floor - it's loud. Also, don't take a room at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hidden away riad is in a perfect location near the main square. Initially it was very tricky to find as it is down an alley off the main street and required a local's help to find it. We were unable to contact the riad prior to arrival due to lack of email, and the telephone number provided went to answer phone.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished with a decent quality shower. Unfortunately the first room we stayed in had a leaking roof during heavy rain periods which made the bedding wet as well as the floor.

We did not try out the rooftop pool but the terrace around it provides an ideal location to view the surrounding area and relax. the riad was surprisingly quiet taking into account it is near the main square and it provides a sanctuary to return to when looking to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main city.

We did not have breakfast on any mornings so are unable to comment on this

Overall great value and a perfect riad for our stay when looking for a relaxing rather than luxurious accomodation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in Riad BB last weekend and really enjoyed our time. The Riad is spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. You cannot get a better location right on the square and within walking distance of everything.

I've been to Marrakech before so didn't think it was tricky to find - but if it is a first visit then the staff will arrange a taxi to collect you from the airport for 15 euros.

The Riad was a bit chilly as it was towards the end of season and could have done with more blankets / bedding.

I didn't try the plunge pool as the weather wasn't that hot, but it would be lovely in the summer. I thnk we were the only ones at the Riad for most of the time, but if it had been full I think the terrace could have been a bit crowded - there were only 2 sunbeds available.

All in all I would recommend the Riad - a really good price for a clean, safe and perfectly located place to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nttingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly I'd just like to point out that this was not a luxurious riad, but absolutely excellent value for money! If you are looking for a luxurious riad then search elsewhere and pay more, but if you are on a budget but want a good, basic,clean riad, then this is the place for you! Primarily, the location is spot on. You are two mins by walking from the Koutoubia mosque and main square, but are not subject to any of the noise from the square once in the riad. The rooms are basic, but clean, with a shower, toilet, wash basin, towels, air-con and the password to the free wi-fi on the back of the bathroom door (which worked from the terrace and in your room). Breakfast was extra, but very nice. Omelette, pancakes, fresh juice, pastries, tea/coffee, which we had at a table on a patio just outside of our room. Be aware though that we had to pay for our accomodation and breakfasts in cash on arrival, so ensure you have cash to hand when you check in. We also arranged a pick-up from the airport through the riad for 200Dirhams extra, and was very glad we did (we may have paid more than a usual taxi, but when you're stright off the plane and don't know where you're going, it just makes it that bit easier in the heat!). Our driver was waiting as we came through arrivals at Marrakesh airport, and was more than happy to wait whilst we got some money exchanged. Another guide was then waiting for us at the end of a street to walk us to our riad when the taxi could take us no further through the smaller streets.
The real plus though was the roof-top plunge pool. It's not a huge luxurious rooftop terrace, but the pool was clean and had two sunbeds with towels provided. Unfortunately, after a morning of sight seeing we returned to the riad to find the sunbeds were already taken, however, there was still room for us to sit on some chairs on the terrace by the plunge pool, and a nice cool dip was lovely after walking around in the heat! From the terrace you are able to see the Atlas mountains, but hear no noise at all from the main square - except for the call to prayer. Also be aware that the riad does not sell alcohol, but just around the corner is the hotel 'Les Jardins des Koutoubia'. (You will pass it on the way as you walk to the riad). They had a lovely restaurant on their terrace serving delicious curries and in the bar downstairs they did the most fantastic mojitos (we travelled in Cuba last year and the mojitos here are far better than any we had in Cuba!). So, we used to pop in for a little 'nightcap' and enjoy a drink by their pool of an eve before heading back to the riad. The front door/desk is not manned 24 hrs, but you are given a key to open the front door, as well as the door to your room, so are free to come and go at whatever time of day.
We stayed at this riad because we were travelling around Morocco for almost 3 weeks and were on a budget, but if we were just on a city break to Marakesh for a few days then I think I would pay more to stay somewhere with a few more comforts, but for the budget we had for this particular trip it was absolutely fine. I can only imagine that some previous guests have expected more for their money, but remember riads are not the cheapest option in Morocco. Just don't pay peanuts and then moan it's not 5*!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our fourth visit to this lovely Riad & we have no reason to go elsewhere! 2 minute walk from Koutoubia Mosque & 3 minutes fro Jemma, makes it an ideal location to discover the hustle & bustle of central Marrakech! - When things start to get too hot, simply walk back to the Riad & cool down in the rooftop pool. As far as we know, this is the only Riad in Marrakech with this facility (on the roof) & it really is a big bonus & the main reason that keeps us coming back each year.

The owners, Mustaffa & Nizha always make us feel so welcome & their staff, Khadeeja & Aziz have become part of our family!

We're looking forward to many more trips here in the years to come, Inshallah!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#152 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#210 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Free Parking, F...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#339 of 461 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#173 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#175 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Restaurant, Rom...
Show More
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#95 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad BB Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad BB Marrakech

Address: 34 Fhal Zefriti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad BB Marrakech 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 min walking to Djamaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad BB Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bb Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad BB Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.