We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located but that's about it....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad BB Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad BB Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad BB Marrakech
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Fhal Zefriti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean and well located but that's about it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Riad BB Marrakech was a slightly difficult find - the alleyway is a bit dark and smelly (a lot of stray cats and people sitting around). But once you find it (next to the big RH Jardin hotel) and directly across from a juice place, you'll find the location is quite ideal. The rooms were also very clean.
Other than that, I can't recommend the service. The owner was insistent to pay upfront based on his exchange rate (a bit money grubbing). I wouldn't say that riad was well decorated either. It was a bit spartan, and felt a bit sterile. The rooms were a bit noisy, and the doors were stiff (opened and closed very loudly).

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the ground floor - it's loud. Also, don't take a room at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hidden away riad is in a perfect location near the main square. Initially it was very tricky to find as it is down an alley off the main street and required a local's help to find it. We were unable to contact the riad prior to arrival due to lack of email, and the telephone number provided went to answer phone.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished with a decent quality shower. Unfortunately the first room we stayed in had a leaking roof during heavy rain periods which made the bedding wet as well as the floor.

We did not try out the rooftop pool but the terrace around it provides an ideal location to view the surrounding area and relax. the riad was surprisingly quiet taking into account it is near the main square and it provides a sanctuary to return to when looking to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main city.

We did not have breakfast on any mornings so are unable to comment on this

Overall great value and a perfect riad for our stay when looking for a relaxing rather than luxurious accomodation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in Riad BB last weekend and really enjoyed our time. The Riad is spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. You cannot get a better location right on the square and within walking distance of everything.

I've been to Marrakech before so didn't think it was tricky to find - but if it is a first visit then the staff will arrange a taxi to collect you from the airport for 15 euros.

The Riad was a bit chilly as it was towards the end of season and could have done with more blankets / bedding.

I didn't try the plunge pool as the weather wasn't that hot, but it would be lovely in the summer. I thnk we were the only ones at the Riad for most of the time, but if it had been full I think the terrace could have been a bit crowded - there were only 2 sunbeds available.

All in all I would recommend the Riad - a really good price for a clean, safe and perfectly located place to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nttingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly I'd just like to point out that this was not a luxurious riad, but absolutely excellent value for money! If you are looking for a luxurious riad then search elsewhere and pay more, but if you are on a budget but want a good, basic,clean riad, then this is the place for you! Primarily, the location is spot on. You are two mins by walking from the Koutoubia mosque and main square, but are not subject to any of the noise from the square once in the riad. The rooms are basic, but clean, with a shower, toilet, wash basin, towels, air-con and the password to the free wi-fi on the back of the bathroom door (which worked from the terrace and in your room). Breakfast was extra, but very nice. Omelette, pancakes, fresh juice, pastries, tea/coffee, which we had at a table on a patio just outside of our room. Be aware though that we had to pay for our accomodation and breakfasts in cash on arrival, so ensure you have cash to hand when you check in. We also arranged a pick-up from the airport through the riad for 200Dirhams extra, and was very glad we did (we may have paid more than a usual taxi, but when you're stright off the plane and don't know where you're going, it just makes it that bit easier in the heat!). Our driver was waiting as we came through arrivals at Marrakesh airport, and was more than happy to wait whilst we got some money exchanged. Another guide was then waiting for us at the end of a street to walk us to our riad when the taxi could take us no further through the smaller streets.
The real plus though was the roof-top plunge pool. It's not a huge luxurious rooftop terrace, but the pool was clean and had two sunbeds with towels provided. Unfortunately, after a morning of sight seeing we returned to the riad to find the sunbeds were already taken, however, there was still room for us to sit on some chairs on the terrace by the plunge pool, and a nice cool dip was lovely after walking around in the heat! From the terrace you are able to see the Atlas mountains, but hear no noise at all from the main square - except for the call to prayer. Also be aware that the riad does not sell alcohol, but just around the corner is the hotel 'Les Jardins des Koutoubia'. (You will pass it on the way as you walk to the riad). They had a lovely restaurant on their terrace serving delicious curries and in the bar downstairs they did the most fantastic mojitos (we travelled in Cuba last year and the mojitos here are far better than any we had in Cuba!). So, we used to pop in for a little 'nightcap' and enjoy a drink by their pool of an eve before heading back to the riad. The front door/desk is not manned 24 hrs, but you are given a key to open the front door, as well as the door to your room, so are free to come and go at whatever time of day.
We stayed at this riad because we were travelling around Morocco for almost 3 weeks and were on a budget, but if we were just on a city break to Marakesh for a few days then I think I would pay more to stay somewhere with a few more comforts, but for the budget we had for this particular trip it was absolutely fine. I can only imagine that some previous guests have expected more for their money, but remember riads are not the cheapest option in Morocco. Just don't pay peanuts and then moan it's not 5*!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our fourth visit to this lovely Riad & we have no reason to go elsewhere! 2 minute walk from Koutoubia Mosque & 3 minutes fro Jemma, makes it an ideal location to discover the hustle & bustle of central Marrakech! - When things start to get too hot, simply walk back to the Riad & cool down in the rooftop pool. As far as we know, this is the only Riad in Marrakech with this facility (on the roof) & it really is a big bonus & the main reason that keeps us coming back each year.

The owners, Mustaffa & Nizha always make us feel so welcome & their staff, Khadeeja & Aziz have become part of our family!

We're looking forward to many more trips here in the years to come, Inshallah!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here for 4 nights in mid march. It was initially hard to find but as is any Riad in Marrakech. We were too lone females and i wouldnt say we felt unsafe. A young boy showed us the way to the Riad (taking us on a very long route there which we realised the next morning, we had already walked right past the entrance to the alleyway leading to the riad). They will expect money (or as they say 'a present') for showing you the way. You will find people standing around near the riad asking if you are looking for Riad BB, if you see these you know you are nearby.
If you get the bus from the airport you need to walk up the street from the bus stop towards the koutoubia mosque, you need to take the first right, you will pass an Indian restaurant and the turn off for the Riad is on the left about 50 metres after this, through a keyhole shaped archway.
The Riad was very clean and modern and in an excellent location. There have been some complaints about the showers but it was one of the best showers I have had, lovely and hot and great pressure. The bathrooms are more like wet rooms. I had absolutely no complaints about the accommodation. The staff were very friendly and polite. I would definately stay here if I ever return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 5 nights in November this year. As others have mentioned, it is initially very difficult to find, however it is well located, and easy to relocate from Jeema el Fna once you are orientated.

The riad is stylish and very clean, with a pleasant terrace and comfortable (if very sparse) rooms. We found that our stay frustrating due to small details which could easily be rectified. Breakfast was luke warm coffee, with beautiful fresh juice, but no fruit or youghurt, only rubbery pankcakes and bread, every morning. In a country where fruit is sold on every street corner at low prices it would have been nice to have some at breakfast.

The rooms are non smoking which is fine, but the terrace area is locked around 10pm, meaning anyone who wishes to smoke cannot do so after this time. The rooms are sparse with no shelves in the bathroom or curtain to the shower, meaning water floods over the whole bathroom, however the water was hot every day, but lacked pressure.

Staff were kind, and spoke variouis languages, the owners were friendly enough, but there were no offers of recommendations of things to do, which in a city with such mixed activities on offer would have been welcome, and expected in this price range.

We liked the oasis of calm the riad offered from the hustle of the medina, but the doors in each room were noisy when opened and closed, meaning light sleepers would be woken by staff each morning and voices in the communal areas.

Visit this riad expecting sylish surroundings with almost no services and you will not be disappointed, it is very well located, and everything was fine. The terrace was welcome, but small, in the summer I would imagine it would inadequate as it had only 2 sunbeds, this did not bother us as we did not come to Marrakech to lounge around!

Some of the reviews are nonsense, and clearly left by people who would be better off staying in another hotel in another city. If you want calm at a reasonable price in an exciting city you could do worse than this, but it could easily be made much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor, or by the breakfast terrace area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad BB Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad BB Marrakech

Address: 34 Fhal Zefriti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad BB Marrakech 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 min walking to Djamaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad BB Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bb Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad BB Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.