We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad BB Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad BB Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad BB Marrakech
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Fhal Zefriti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #343 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in Riad BB last weekend and really enjoyed our time. The Riad is spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. You cannot get a better location right on the square and within walking distance of everything.

I've been to Marrakech before so didn't think it was tricky to find - but if it is a first visit then the staff will arrange a taxi to collect you from the airport for 15 euros.

The Riad was a bit chilly as it was towards the end of season and could have done with more blankets / bedding.

I didn't try the plunge pool as the weather wasn't that hot, but it would be lovely in the summer. I thnk we were the only ones at the Riad for most of the time, but if it had been full I think the terrace could have been a bit crowded - there were only 2 sunbeds available.

All in all I would recommend the Riad - a really good price for a clean, safe and perfectly located place to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nttingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly I'd just like to point out that this was not a luxurious riad, but absolutely excellent value for money! If you are looking for a luxurious riad then search elsewhere and pay more, but if you are on a budget but want a good, basic,clean riad, then this is the place for you! Primarily, the location is spot on. You are two mins by walking from the Koutoubia mosque and main square, but are not subject to any of the noise from the square once in the riad. The rooms are basic, but clean, with a shower, toilet, wash basin, towels, air-con and the password to the free wi-fi on the back of the bathroom door (which worked from the terrace and in your room). Breakfast was extra, but very nice. Omelette, pancakes, fresh juice, pastries, tea/coffee, which we had at a table on a patio just outside of our room. Be aware though that we had to pay for our accomodation and breakfasts in cash on arrival, so ensure you have cash to hand when you check in. We also arranged a pick-up from the airport through the riad for 200Dirhams extra, and was very glad we did (we may have paid more than a usual taxi, but when you're stright off the plane and don't know where you're going, it just makes it that bit easier in the heat!). Our driver was waiting as we came through arrivals at Marrakesh airport, and was more than happy to wait whilst we got some money exchanged. Another guide was then waiting for us at the end of a street to walk us to our riad when the taxi could take us no further through the smaller streets.
The real plus though was the roof-top plunge pool. It's not a huge luxurious rooftop terrace, but the pool was clean and had two sunbeds with towels provided. Unfortunately, after a morning of sight seeing we returned to the riad to find the sunbeds were already taken, however, there was still room for us to sit on some chairs on the terrace by the plunge pool, and a nice cool dip was lovely after walking around in the heat! From the terrace you are able to see the Atlas mountains, but hear no noise at all from the main square - except for the call to prayer. Also be aware that the riad does not sell alcohol, but just around the corner is the hotel 'Les Jardins des Koutoubia'. (You will pass it on the way as you walk to the riad). They had a lovely restaurant on their terrace serving delicious curries and in the bar downstairs they did the most fantastic mojitos (we travelled in Cuba last year and the mojitos here are far better than any we had in Cuba!). So, we used to pop in for a little 'nightcap' and enjoy a drink by their pool of an eve before heading back to the riad. The front door/desk is not manned 24 hrs, but you are given a key to open the front door, as well as the door to your room, so are free to come and go at whatever time of day.
We stayed at this riad because we were travelling around Morocco for almost 3 weeks and were on a budget, but if we were just on a city break to Marakesh for a few days then I think I would pay more to stay somewhere with a few more comforts, but for the budget we had for this particular trip it was absolutely fine. I can only imagine that some previous guests have expected more for their money, but remember riads are not the cheapest option in Morocco. Just don't pay peanuts and then moan it's not 5*!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mareofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our fourth visit to this lovely Riad & we have no reason to go elsewhere! 2 minute walk from Koutoubia Mosque & 3 minutes fro Jemma, makes it an ideal location to discover the hustle & bustle of central Marrakech! - When things start to get too hot, simply walk back to the Riad & cool down in the rooftop pool. As far as we know, this is the only Riad in Marrakech with this facility (on the roof) & it really is a big bonus & the main reason that keeps us coming back each year.

The owners, Mustaffa & Nizha always make us feel so welcome & their staff, Khadeeja & Aziz have become part of our family!

We're looking forward to many more trips here in the years to come, Inshallah!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here for 4 nights in mid march. It was initially hard to find but as is any Riad in Marrakech. We were too lone females and i wouldnt say we felt unsafe. A young boy showed us the way to the Riad (taking us on a very long route there which we realised the next morning, we had already walked right past the entrance to the alleyway leading to the riad). They will expect money (or as they say 'a present') for showing you the way. You will find people standing around near the riad asking if you are looking for Riad BB, if you see these you know you are nearby.
If you get the bus from the airport you need to walk up the street from the bus stop towards the koutoubia mosque, you need to take the first right, you will pass an Indian restaurant and the turn off for the Riad is on the left about 50 metres after this, through a keyhole shaped archway.
The Riad was very clean and modern and in an excellent location. There have been some complaints about the showers but it was one of the best showers I have had, lovely and hot and great pressure. The bathrooms are more like wet rooms. I had absolutely no complaints about the accommodation. The staff were very friendly and polite. I would definately stay here if I ever return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 5 nights in November this year. As others have mentioned, it is initially very difficult to find, however it is well located, and easy to relocate from Jeema el Fna once you are orientated.

The riad is stylish and very clean, with a pleasant terrace and comfortable (if very sparse) rooms. We found that our stay frustrating due to small details which could easily be rectified. Breakfast was luke warm coffee, with beautiful fresh juice, but no fruit or youghurt, only rubbery pankcakes and bread, every morning. In a country where fruit is sold on every street corner at low prices it would have been nice to have some at breakfast.

The rooms are non smoking which is fine, but the terrace area is locked around 10pm, meaning anyone who wishes to smoke cannot do so after this time. The rooms are sparse with no shelves in the bathroom or curtain to the shower, meaning water floods over the whole bathroom, however the water was hot every day, but lacked pressure.

Staff were kind, and spoke variouis languages, the owners were friendly enough, but there were no offers of recommendations of things to do, which in a city with such mixed activities on offer would have been welcome, and expected in this price range.

We liked the oasis of calm the riad offered from the hustle of the medina, but the doors in each room were noisy when opened and closed, meaning light sleepers would be woken by staff each morning and voices in the communal areas.

Visit this riad expecting sylish surroundings with almost no services and you will not be disappointed, it is very well located, and everything was fine. The terrace was welcome, but small, in the summer I would imagine it would inadequate as it had only 2 sunbeds, this did not bother us as we did not come to Marrakech to lounge around!

Some of the reviews are nonsense, and clearly left by people who would be better off staying in another hotel in another city. If you want calm at a reasonable price in an exciting city you could do worse than this, but it could easily be made much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor, or by the breakfast terrace area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliva, Spain
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights. The approach to the Riad is quite intimidating, with beggars approaching you. Not somewhere for females alone. It took a long time to carry out the admin. and the manager did not speak much english. We were immediately asked to pay for the 4 nights. We did not do this. The rooms were clean but the bedding was unironed, we had no bedside tables, no shelf in the bathroom for toiletries, the shower was slippery and dangerous with no curtain to prevent water going on the floor.There were no sockets in the bathroom, no shampoo or shower gel only soap. No hairdryer. There were light fittings without shades nor bulbs. The curtains hooks neeeded putting into the rings on the pole to stop the curtain sagging. The steps were uneven, with variable heights making them dangerous to ascend and descend safely. On at least one occasion our door was left unlocked by the cleaning staff when they were not in attendance. The manager continually harassed us for money. The owners were at the Riad on the second morning but nothing was said about wanting payment. On the third day the owner charged my friends credit card without her permission even when we had said we would pay that evening, resulting in it costing us 40 euros more, as we were charged in Dirhams not euros, the rate he used being higher than the bank. We spoke with the owner the next morning and were told it is customary to pay in advance. It does not state this on the website which we brought to his attention .The breakfast was minimal , on the last morning we barely had half a glass of juice and only enough coffee in the jug to give half a cup of coffee each. The description on the website where we booked this Riad stated it had an a la carte restaurant -no, 24hr reception - no, tour desk - no, swimming pool - no - dunking pool -yes 2mx2m and shallow - this was dirty. When I see other travellers reviews of this Riad it sounds like we were staying somewhere totally different. The staff lacked language skills and have not been trained properly. I would not recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Go to another riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally7151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The riad is located down a dark alleyway and one wrong turn would take you in completely the wrong direction but the owner kindly met us in Jemaa el Fna on arrival and walked us to the house (about 2 min walk). Riad is very nice, rooms spacious. No TV or other entertainment in the riad, apart from a roof top pool which was too hot (in Mid July) for us to enjoy as there was no shade. No wifi access in our ground floor room, had to go up a floor.

Location was perfect, 1 minute walk to Jemaa el fna and cafes, the souks, bank ATMS. Plenty to keep us occupied for 4 days.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was slightly claustrophobic as the window opened onto the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailc231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#163 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#224 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#183 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#259 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#307 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#322 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad BB Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad BB Marrakech

Address: 34 Fhal Zefriti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad BB Marrakech 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and beatiful riad and super location two minute from the famous place jamaa el fena , koutubia mosque and shoping spot. the new manager and his team will make you feel confortable and relax . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad BB Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bb Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing