We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a luxury 5* hotel....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 8 Route D'Amezmiz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
South west
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a luxury 5* hotel....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in 4 different hotels in Marrakech and this one was by far the most disappointing. It has great reviews so we were expecting a lovely few days but quickly realised we had made a mistake booking this hotel. The best feature of this hotel would be the staff who are truly very helpful.

Unfortunately the hotel owner is a bit overbearing and when we checked out early the reception staff really did look very worried & one member of staff even followed my partner to the bathroom to ask why we were leaving early. We had decided on not explaining our early check out after reading the owners comments to other unhappy guests and we did not want a hostile argument. In fact the funniest part was when the worried reception staff asked for our email addresses by saying they would try to get a refund from the booking agent for us, realistically they just wanted to watch out for our tripadvisor reviews so the owner can bitterly dispute our views. The trouble is the cancellation policy is set out by the hotel so we had no chance of any refund anyhow. Luckily my booking agent (hotels.com) gave me a £100 refund coupon as we are a valued customer of theirs and they trusted my account of the hotel/photos to be a true reflection of our experience.

I understand some people may like this hotel, I liked the architecture and the overall concept but the details and quality finish were very much absent. This was the first hotel I have ever been in where you are made to tour the spa facilities before you are allowed to check into your room. Just for the records, people dont like the hard sell.

The breakfast buffet was very average but once again the serving staff made it acceptable.

Lunch was of average quality and more expensive than we expected.

The beds around the pool are stained and look dirty and when we arrived they looked buried in long grass. The hotel should really invest in some fitted sheets which can be removed daily and laundered for an overall better effect. The pool seemed nice.

Our patio door was broken and true to his word the manager did get it fixed asap. Very kindly we were upgraded after the first night, but unfortunately we just werent happy with the quality of the hotel and didnt want to spoil our honeymoon.

I think my photos show an insight into some of the things we experienced.

We moved to the La Maison Arabe for the same nightly rate after checking out early. It was far superior to the Sirayane in every way.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsmehdi, Directeur général at Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your comment, it is funny to see your hard as it is the second one you post on our hotel (one on expedia anonymous (why anonymous ???) and one here on tripadvisor).

I remember you very well. You had booked a standard room and on arrival you required to be upgraded and you were not at all happy with your booking.

On the day of arrival ( september 2014), the hotel was full and we told you that if a room was free the next day, we will be happy to free upgrade you as you were on honeymoon.

Please note that you got what you booked, a standard room. We are note responsible of your booking choice.

Dear customer, please note that before each arrival, rooms are inspected by three different services and we have a checklist that we follow. As such, prior to your arrival, your room has been inspected and was perfect (unlike the pictures you have published, I will come back later in my answer) except the carpet around the bed which was slightly damaged by customers before you and we ordered another one and received it, unfortunately, after your departure. I'm sorry if this has messed your holiday.
Also, from your check in, you reported that the glass door of the room did not lock. Immediately, our housekeeping manager came to show you how to close it. You've tried everything to get the upgrade on the day of arrival.
The next day, as you were on honeymoon, we double free upgraded you ,with pleasure, in a mini suite with private garden.

After the change of room, we made your first room and found the damage you caused to our room that match your photos (moved switch from its place, safe ripped from the closet, smashed trash ...) I point out that we have the same photos. We understood that you had prepared the staging in case we do not upgrade you.
You know it's ridiculous and impossible to find your room on arrival with all these defects while it was checked 3 times before your arrival. Sometimes, there may be one failure that we correct immediately but not quite what you wrote.

If this was the case, our hotel would not have had more than 95% satisfaction and win the traveller’s choice 2013,2014 & 2015 and has more than 26% of return guests.

Also, I ask myself why the photos you posted only concern the standard room and you did not post any pictures of the mini suite ? If I follow your reasoning, all rooms should be a mess. It's strange, right?

Moreover, the day before arrival, it rained with a sandstorm in Marrakech and therefore all our beds around the pool were wet and stained, and please know that it is impossible to mow a wet lawn.

For your record, we great all our guest on arrival with a welcome drink while one of our front office staff give all the information about Marrakech, our free shuttle bus... Then, we escort our guests for a tour of the hotel to show them where are all our facilities (restaurant, bar, sport bar, spa, gym, tennis court, heated pool...) with their opening hours.
Once in the room, we give them all the explanations about using the heating / AC, the safe, the TV / DVD ... before taking leave of them and wish them a very pleasant stay. This is called a personal welcome and not an attempt to a hard sell as you say. I 'm sorry if you are not used to this kind of welcoming.

Finally, one day before your departure (you were suppose to stay 3 nights), as you noticed that you have so exaggerated that no one was paying attention to you anymore, you have decided to leave our hotel. We were glad you left because the 01 night you have not spent at Sirayane allowed us to make the repairs.

Finally, please remember that we accept with the greatest pleasure all constructive comments for our improvement. By the way, thank you very much for your good comments about our staff (finally something positive).

I sincerely regret that your stay fell below your expectations and overall your comments make me ponder whether they are genuine or intend to serve another purpose....

Best regards,

Adil CHANTAR
Hotel Manager

NB : for your information, we have the email adress of all our guests, it came with the booking confirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    147
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
146
529
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sirayane staff work very hard to make their guests feel truly welcome in their beautiful hotel. My request for gluten-free bread was dealt with sympathetically and the kitchen was very attentive about any other problems in my diet. The rooms are spacious and elegant, the gardens beautifully maintained, and the food excellent. As January visitors we did not use the pool facilities but they looked most attractive, so maybe we will be back in the summer to check them out. All in all, we could not have wished for a better location for an unusual but comfortable winter break.
Peter and Rose Hammond

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Sirayane hotel in Marrakech for 4 nights.

Everything was perfect : service, food and spa. The room was clean and well furnished. The hotel is very calm.

The owner & manager was very polite and professional.

I strongly recommand Sirayane hotel and we will probably come back in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this well equipped, welcoming and nicely finished hotel. We were hosted with the best service we have ever experienced in a 5 stars hotel. The owner paid us a visit everyday, very nice touch.
All in all, this is by far one of the nicest hotel we have visited in Morocco. Thank you for such a great stay. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and i stayed for a week. It was amazing. It felt as if it were our own home. The staff were so friendly and attended to our every need and was more than happy to do so. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and they left water and a rose on the bed every night; which was a cute personal touch. The dinner was very high quality and there was a variety of different foods at breakfast. I would definitely reccommend that you stay here, i will surely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had a one week break at this beautiful hotel. The weather was perfect and the break was just what we needed.
The staff were outstanding and the owner offered a real personal touch. The Spirts and Shisha bar was a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon. The food was fantastic and the team were always ready to offer personal changes to the menus. The Spa offered a great selection of treatments and was great value.
Will I go again? You bet.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Sirayane, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a low-key but high-class place to stay near Marrakech.

Positives:

* Beautifully designed and maintained hotel and grounds - just looked stunning, and while it felt "modern" it was quite different to other places we had stayed and somehow distinctively Moroccan

* Large, private, beautifully appointed and comfortable room (we had a "mini-suite" in the grounds, with a small enclosed courtyard/garden area)

* Excellent service, both on the visible elements (in the bar & restaurant, pool-side drinks etc.) and also the 'invisible' elements (our room was meticulously cleaned and turned down morning and night, without ever disturbing us)

* Positive, friendly attitude from the staff - always willing to help and accommodate their guests to make for a really relaxing stay: even the junior or trainee staff who were still learning some of the ropes were always happy to help where they could (management are to be commended for giving junior staff opportunities to train themselves up, and clearly sharing the friendly service approach with them from the outset)

* Excellent food in the evening restaurant - both Morrocan-inspired and French/traditional menus at very reasonable prices. Every dish we tried was novel and really very well executed. Same goes for the 100% Moroccan wine selection - all of good quality, and a real discovery for me! The selection and quality of the lighter lunchtime/all-day meals was also excellent, and made for some very pleasant lazy lunches on the sunny terrace.

* Ease of access to Marrakech - regular, free shuttle service. It was also very easy to arrange guides, restaurant recommendations etc. through reception.

* Relaxed atmosphere - this is not a very big hotel, and while the amenities (swimming pool, spa, paddle court, pool) are excellent they are not really designed to provide a full programme of "activity" - but as a result the atmosphere around the hotel, even amongst the guests, is very much focused on quiet relaxation: we lay by the pool, we read, we watched DVDs from our terrace....we felt so relaxed after just a day or two here, I would definitely come back for a short break to get some rest!

Things to be aware of....Not really negatives as such, because I really find it difficult to fault the hotel - but to be aware of:

* It's out of town - even though there is a regular free shuttle service, this is not the place for you if you want to be "in" Marrakech: there is also not really much to do immediately outside the hotel - so you have to be happy to either relax at the hotel, or take the trip into town (or a day trip elsewhere)

* It's peaceful - if you want to have lots to do all day, this place may not work for you...yes, there is a spa, pool table, swimming pool, paddle court etc. - but really this is a place to come and relax quietly

* Evening meals - the evening restaurant was excellent (really, truly excellent), but for a longer stay it is worth noting that the only alternative to the "formal" restaurant is the fairly limited room service offering - this is of perfectly good quality and very enjoyable for a couple of evenings, but perhaps the option of a more 'informal' meal offering in the evenings would be welcome - essentially, if you were here much longer than 5-7 days you might want to think about eating out in town a couple of times if you want something other than the on-site restaurant or room service.

Overall - a really, really excellent stay. We will be returning.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the "mini-suites" in the grounds, it's a bigger and more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Km 8 Route D'Amezmiz, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirayane Boutique Hotel Marrakech
Sirayane Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.