We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A beautiful oasis"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agounsane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kasbah Agounsane to your Saves list
Kasbah Agounsane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | 30 minutes from Marrakech Before the Km 35 of the Ourika Road, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A beautiful oasis"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have recently returned from our first trip to Morocco.
Kasbah Angounsane is a beautiful location, very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but still easily accessible for sightseeing etc.
The Kasbah is stunning in every respect and the staff could not have been more accommodating and attentive. the owners, Bruno and Sylvie were always on hand and are very knowledgeable. The personal service was exceptional.
The local wine is extremely good and the food served in the Kasbah is of a high standard. We went as a family with two teenage girls who enjoyed all of the cuisine and especially the mint tea!
The local Berber market on a Monday is a must and once again, Bruno and Sylvie were happy to assist.
The location of the Kasbah is a major asset when compared to other out of town locations. Many of the "mainstream" hotels and resorts are situated on the main road just outside the city and it was particularly gratifying to reach the Kasbah and make a favourable comparison!
A completely hassle free break, we will be coming back.
Thank you Sylvie and Bruno for all your efforts and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 800RJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived having spent four nights in Marrakech, to peace and tranquility. The hotel was extremely quiet for half term week and on arrival it felt like walking into someone's (very large and luxurious) home. From the moment we arrived we were treated in a very relaxed friendly way, we did not pay or even sign for anything until the day we left, which these days is quite unusual.
Via the hotel we arranged a successful trip out to the foothills of Toukbal, where we were met by a guide who spoke very good English, he escorted us through the local Berber villages. On return we enjoyed pre-booked treatments at the hotel, my friend opted for the traditional Moroccan hamman which cleared away every last speck of mountain dust.....!
The Kasbah Agounsane is SO peaceful and watching the sunset over the olive grove whilst unfurling the scrolled dinner menu to reveal the choices of the day, was unforgettable.
A wonderful place to completely 'switch off'.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeeandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire, Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to Morocco. We spent 7 days in hectic, but very interesting Marrakesh in a Riad and so planned the second week to be a quieter experience. Kasbah Agounsane certainly offered a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from our first Riad, this was prompt and we had a pleasant drive about 40 mins from Marrakech. The hotel is set within the foothills of the Atlas mountains in the Ourika valley, the traditional, with a contemporary twist, architecture of the hotel is stunning as are the reception interiors and the rooms. We had a large room with walk in wardrobe and a great bathroom with a drench shower. The food was of a high quality and as my husband and I do not eat meat (fish and Vegetarian) Sylvie and Bruno, the owners, respected this and were willing to accommodate any alterations we felt necessary to the menu. The Moroccon Les Gris wine is a must to try and many a bottle was consumed on the beautiful terrace which overlooks the well maintained gardens, a lovely setting for most of our meals. We arranged a trip to the valley and the first waterfalls, our driver was Abdul who works at the hotel, he made the trip very enjoyable and was always willing to answer any of our questions about the things we saw. We asked Sylvie and Bruno about the local village market which was on the Monday and as they were going to buy provisions they took us along. This was a valuable and stimulating experience allowing us to see the true side of the area and its people, unhindered by any tourist trappings, thanks again to you both. We bought fresh spices, which were far superior to the ones in the Souk, assisted with the experienced guidance of Sylvie who speaks good English, French and Arabic. All the Staff made us feel very welcome and we wish to thank them all. We can highly recommend Kasbah Agounsane to anyone wishing to have a relaxing, battery charging holiday in a stunning setting. We will be back.

Room Tip: We did not use the Spa on this occasion but other guests were very satisfied with this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A friend and I have just returned from a very enjoyable week at Kasbah Agounsane.
The staff could not have been more accommodating of us.
The outdoor area was lovely to relax in with a very nice well maintained pool, beautiful gardens and spectacular view of the surrounding mountains.
The hotel itself it decorated beautifully. We ate at the hotel on most nights and were very impressed with the variety of food and also of its quality (and quantity!).
Our room included a separate sofa/day bed each as well as a rainforest shower and lovely terrace with table and chairs to relax on of an evening.
We were also driven into Marrakesh and collected by the staff as well as taken on a trip around the local pharmacies when an unsuspecting tooth abscess hit!
We would like to thank Sylvie, Bruno and all of the rest of the staff for their kindness and for a very lovely week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGLadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is in an amazing position and the actual hotel is beautiful. Sylvie the owner was very friendly and helpful and we did enjoy our stay. Unfortunately there were several niggles which means that I cannot rate it a 5. It was very hot and the pool would have been lovely however there did not appear to be any filtration and the surface was covered in dead insects. We couldn't find a net to scoop them off. No one staying at the same time as us went in the pool despite the heat.
We also requested a Caesar salad for lunch which wasn't available so we ordered a salad Agounsane - main ingredient tuna. The salad was nice but no tuna! They also ran out of the wine we had chosen. Having said all that we would particularly like to praise Abdul who took us on a trip to the waterfalls - he was brilliant. I had read a previous review which mentioned that you are taken to various places for shopping along the way so we said right at the beginning NO SHOPPING and although he would have liked to stop a few times he respected our wishes and did exactly what we wanted to do.

If it was slightly better organised this could be an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The stay here was just perfect! Such a lovely hotel, and we were greeted with so much friendliness and throughout our stay the staff (Bruno and Sylvie in particular) were really friendly and helpful. The sunset views from the terrace outside the rooms were some of the best I have ever seen in my life. A short stay here is the perfect way to relax in serene surroundings away from the centre of Marrakech. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: A suite with a lovely outdoor terrace where you can have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely fab! The staff are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. It is a distance outside Marrakech and therefore maybe 2 nights here for peace and quiet is great then move to another hotel near the city. Or if you want to do nothing for a few days it's a great place to unwind. Bruno and sylvi are greats hosts!
Definitely worth staying here!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#172 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Agafay
Kasbah Agafay
#214 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#191 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#146 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#283 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Agounsane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agounsane

Address: | 30 minutes from Marrakech Before the Km 35 of the Ourika Road, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agounsane 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome In the heart of the Berber culture, 30 minutes from Marrakech, stands the Kasbah Agounsane when myth meets the new. This charming, elegant style and the many personalized services will reveal its magic. Customers reviews Come with me to share this wonderful place and is delighted that the Kasbah Agounsane! A place that can not be ignored as it unforgettable and spellbinding. The Kasbah Agounsane provided an excellent location and contrast to the bustle of Marrakesh only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Kasbah Agounsane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing