We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agounsane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agounsane to your Saves list
Kasbah Agounsane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A place to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived having spent four nights in Marrakech, to peace and tranquility. The hotel was extremely quiet for half term week and on arrival it felt like walking into someone's (very large and luxurious) home. From the moment we arrived we were treated in a very relaxed friendly way, we did not pay or even sign for anything until the day we left, which these days is quite unusual.
Via the hotel we arranged a successful trip out to the foothills of Toukbal, where we were met by a guide who spoke very good English, he escorted us through the local Berber villages. On return we enjoyed pre-booked treatments at the hotel, my friend opted for the traditional Moroccan hamman which cleared away every last speck of mountain dust.....!
The Kasbah Agounsane is SO peaceful and watching the sunset over the olive grove whilst unfurling the scrolled dinner menu to reveal the choices of the day, was unforgettable.
A wonderful place to completely 'switch off'.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
924 helpful votes 924 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to Morocco. We spent 7 days in hectic, but very interesting Marrakesh in a Riad and so planned the second week to be a quieter experience. Kasbah Agounsane certainly offered a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from our first Riad, this was prompt and we had a pleasant drive about 40 mins from Marrakech. The hotel is set within the foothills of the Atlas mountains in the Ourika valley, the traditional, with a contemporary twist, architecture of the hotel is stunning as are the reception interiors and the rooms. We had a large room with walk in wardrobe and a great bathroom with a drench shower. The food was of a high quality and as my husband and I do not eat meat (fish and Vegetarian) Sylvie and Bruno, the owners, respected this and were willing to accommodate any alterations we felt necessary to the menu. The Moroccon Les Gris wine is a must to try and many a bottle was consumed on the beautiful terrace which overlooks the well maintained gardens, a lovely setting for most of our meals. We arranged a trip to the valley and the first waterfalls, our driver was Abdul who works at the hotel, he made the trip very enjoyable and was always willing to answer any of our questions about the things we saw. We asked Sylvie and Bruno about the local village market which was on the Monday and as they were going to buy provisions they took us along. This was a valuable and stimulating experience allowing us to see the true side of the area and its people, unhindered by any tourist trappings, thanks again to you both. We bought fresh spices, which were far superior to the ones in the Souk, assisted with the experienced guidance of Sylvie who speaks good English, French and Arabic. All the Staff made us feel very welcome and we wish to thank them all. We can highly recommend Kasbah Agounsane to anyone wishing to have a relaxing, battery charging holiday in a stunning setting. We will be back.

Room Tip: We did not use the Spa on this occasion but other guests were very satisfied with this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A friend and I have just returned from a very enjoyable week at Kasbah Agounsane.
The staff could not have been more accommodating of us.
The outdoor area was lovely to relax in with a very nice well maintained pool, beautiful gardens and spectacular view of the surrounding mountains.
The hotel itself it decorated beautifully. We ate at the hotel on most nights and were very impressed with the variety of food and also of its quality (and quantity!).
Our room included a separate sofa/day bed each as well as a rainforest shower and lovely terrace with table and chairs to relax on of an evening.
We were also driven into Marrakesh and collected by the staff as well as taken on a trip around the local pharmacies when an unsuspecting tooth abscess hit!
We would like to thank Sylvie, Bruno and all of the rest of the staff for their kindness and for a very lovely week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is in an amazing position and the actual hotel is beautiful. Sylvie the owner was very friendly and helpful and we did enjoy our stay. Unfortunately there were several niggles which means that I cannot rate it a 5. It was very hot and the pool would have been lovely however there did not appear to be any filtration and the surface was covered in dead insects. We couldn't find a net to scoop them off. No one staying at the same time as us went in the pool despite the heat.
We also requested a Caesar salad for lunch which wasn't available so we ordered a salad Agounsane - main ingredient tuna. The salad was nice but no tuna! They also ran out of the wine we had chosen. Having said all that we would particularly like to praise Abdul who took us on a trip to the waterfalls - he was brilliant. I had read a previous review which mentioned that you are taken to various places for shopping along the way so we said right at the beginning NO SHOPPING and although he would have liked to stop a few times he respected our wishes and did exactly what we wanted to do.

If it was slightly better organised this could be an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The stay here was just perfect! Such a lovely hotel, and we were greeted with so much friendliness and throughout our stay the staff (Bruno and Sylvie in particular) were really friendly and helpful. The sunset views from the terrace outside the rooms were some of the best I have ever seen in my life. A short stay here is the perfect way to relax in serene surroundings away from the centre of Marrakech. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: A suite with a lovely outdoor terrace where you can have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is absolutely fab! The staff are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. It is a distance outside Marrakech and therefore maybe 2 nights here for peace and quiet is great then move to another hotel near the city. Or if you want to do nothing for a few days it's a great place to unwind. Bruno and sylvi are greats hosts!
Definitely worth staying here!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Kasbah Agounsane. Our second visit - we loved it last time and just had to come back. We were even more enchanted this time. The Kasbah is very impressive both inside and out and our suite was the height of comfort and luxury. We were made very welcome by our charming hosts and again we were made to feel as if it was our home. These good people couldn't do enough for us and were well supported by their friendly and excellent staff. This time of year the days are warm 28 c and the nights tend to be cool if not chilly, but not to worry, roaring log fires kept us cosy in the lounge and restaurant. Good food, prepared in the kitchens, with home made Moroccan treats and a good wine list, what more could you want? A beautiful setting and peace and quiet - what a lovely place to stay. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Agounsane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agounsane

Address: 30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agounsane 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome In the heart of the Berber culture, 30 minutes from Marrakech, stands the Kasbah Agounsane when myth meets the new. This charming, elegant style and the many personalized services will reveal its magic. Customers reviews Come with me to share this wonderful place and is delighted that the Kasbah Agounsane! A place that can not be ignored as it unforgettable and spellbinding. The Kasbah Agounsane provided an excellent location and contrast to the bustle of Marrakesh only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kasbah Agounsane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agounsane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.