We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agounsane

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agounsane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah Agounsane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The stay here was just perfect! Such a lovely hotel, and we were greeted with so much friendliness and throughout our stay the staff (Bruno and Sylvie in particular) were really friendly and helpful. The sunset views from the terrace outside the rooms were some of the best I have ever seen in my life. A short stay here is the perfect way to relax in serene surroundings away from the centre of Marrakech. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: A suite with a lovely outdoor terrace where you can have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is absolutely fab! The staff are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. It is a distance outside Marrakech and therefore maybe 2 nights here for peace and quiet is great then move to another hotel near the city. Or if you want to do nothing for a few days it's a great place to unwind. Bruno and sylvi are greats hosts!
Definitely worth staying here!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Kasbah Agounsane. Our second visit - we loved it last time and just had to come back. We were even more enchanted this time. The Kasbah is very impressive both inside and out and our suite was the height of comfort and luxury. We were made very welcome by our charming hosts and again we were made to feel as if it was our home. These good people couldn't do enough for us and were well supported by their friendly and excellent staff. This time of year the days are warm 28 c and the nights tend to be cool if not chilly, but not to worry, roaring log fires kept us cosy in the lounge and restaurant. Good food, prepared in the kitchens, with home made Moroccan treats and a good wine list, what more could you want? A beautiful setting and peace and quiet - what a lovely place to stay. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great stay. The service was excellent, the attention to detail really showed and made you feel special. The spa is definitely worth a visit with the Hammam (with scrub) being an experience that you might not expect (follow it with a massage to help get you into the holiday mood).

The staff will arrange excursions if you fancy exploring outside of the beautiful kasbah. The Food was very good and a very good wine selection was available.

We were very impressed with the room, huge, with the biggest bed I have ever seen!

We are definitely coming back.
A huge thank you to the staff for making it such a great stay.

Room Tip: Call direct and speak to Bruno or Sylvie to get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The kasbah is set in beautiful grounds and had 360 degree views. The rooms are large and beautiful furnished. We went as A family - there were 6 if us and we had the kasbah to ourselves. The staff and the owners were lovely . The breakfAsts and dinners delicious and plentiful. I highly recommend this kasbAh.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Off season, we were the only guests and were made welcome but the staff were attentive without being obtrusive. The outdoor swimming pool looked enticing but it was a bit too cool to take the plunge. Food was delicious with a choice of Moroccan dishes and wine. Wood fires in the lounge and dining areas added to the charm. Modern decor with Moroccan paintings, rugs and object d'arte. The drive from Marrakech took about 45 minutes yet the last bit was quite rugged and remote. The Kasbah has an olive grove just below the house, pool and garden. Wifi only in the lounge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Pastura Brac, Royal Azur Hammermet Tunisia, Montania Pine Oludeniz Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spent two weeks at the Kasbah Agounsane unlike most of their visitors who seemed to stay for 2-4 days. Now our kids have, practically, grown and flown we are looking for a holiday location where the two of us can relax and recharge our batteries, make plans for the coming year, enjoy good local food and wines, gasp at stunning views and sunsets, take a couple of trips. This holiday gave us all of that and then some.

Bruno and Sylvie (the owners) were extremely generous with their time and very helpful when we needed to go to Marrakech (they needed to get supplies there) for foreign exchange and ended up spending the day showing us around the markets and the labyrinthine Souk.To reciprocate, we took them for a superb lunch in a terrace restaurant (recommended by Slvie) overlooking the square and market.

We had to change suites (one of our holiday 'pet hates') but the alternative accommodation was fabulous. Whilst the new suite was slightly smaller than the previous the terrace and views were stunning. The terrace was massive and had a panoramic view of the plain of Marrakech. In fact, the terrace was almost as big as the plain of Marrakech!

The menu is suited for a short stay but what was on it was fresh, local and tasty. As too was the local wines - white, gris and red.

During our second week we arranged a trip to the Ourika Valley with the hotel driver, Abdul Latif (sorry if the speling is wrong) who came from the valley itself. A fantastic day out. We visited a Berber co-operaive, a Berber house and then headed to the valley dodging flooding and landslides due to a storm of biblical proportions. Abdul Latif, a quietly spoken man, is the perfect guide. Knowlegable and helpful with finding the best 'value for money' stall to buy souvenirs. We visted 2 valleys with waterfalls and we would recommend strong footwear and wearing layers. Back in the town he introduces us to some of his friends one who sells cactus honey and toasted almonds that are combined to make a delicious paste served with bread. We purchased a bag of toasted almonds (equally delicious) to take back and eat by the pool prelunch. They lasted for three days and the last one tasted as good as the first.

The staff were very helpful, attentive and friendly and basic French would be useful.

The hotel is located in a rural area so wi-fi (if that's your thing) is limited (strongest in reception) and if it rains heavily the road from the hotel to the town tends to disappear in places. We took a number of early morning walks around the local area and found most of the locals to be receptive when greeted in French or in Arabic.

We had a great time on this holiday and wish you the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Agounsane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agounsane

Address: 30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agounsane 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome In the heart of the Berber culture, 30 minutes from Marrakech, stands the Kasbah Agounsane when myth meets the new. This charming, elegant style and the many personalized services will reveal its magic. Customers reviews Come with me to share this wonderful place and is delighted that the Kasbah Agounsane! A place that can not be ignored as it unforgettable and spellbinding. The Kasbah Agounsane provided an excellent location and contrast to the bustle of Marrakesh only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Kasbah Agounsane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agounsane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.