We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agounsane

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Agounsane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kasbah Agounsane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This visit was my husband's and my 4th visit to this gorgeous Kasbah. By accident we arrived one day earlier than we were expected. Luckily, the resident manager Hassan and one of his assistants Mustapha happened to be looking over the gorgeous views just outside the private gate. We noticed the puzzled look, but then the smiles began. Hassan greeted us like family and told us we would be more than welcome to stay even though no other staff was there. We insisted that we did not want to inconvenience anyone, but Hassan persuaded us to stay and assured us that it was no trouble at all. He even offered to personally make dinner for us as long as we liked Moroccan food, which we adore. Soon we were given tea and cookies on the terrace overlooking the most gorgeous valley imaginable. Hassan, whose English is perfection talked to us while we drank tea and ate cookies, and his entire charming and delightful personality came through. We ate the most delicious tangine in front of the warming and beautiful fire made for us by Mustapha. Each room in this lovely place has its own fireplace.
As I stated this was our 4th visit to Kasbah Agounsane, and we stayed a total of 3 days, but this first day with Hassan and the following days of gorgeous views, close access to the amazing snow-covered Atlas mountains with a ski resort as well as the sophistication of Marrakech made this the most delightful trips my husband and I have ever taken.
There is truly no way to express the warmth and kindness of the entire staff. Special thanks to Abderrahim and Rachid, the amazingly talented chef who made us the additional 2 meals. Each night Rachid came to us personally to find out what we would like and even made us his beyond delicious tiramasu as a special treat.
Each evening beautiful fires were lit for us both in the lounge and dining room. The bed is so very comfortable with lovely crisp monogrammed sheets. The room's decorations and tasteful colors add to the ambiance. In fact, the entire Kasbah is very elegantly appointed.
Each time we left the kasbah some of the staff helped us to our car and greeted us upon our return.
Even though this 4th trip was in December, we were lucky to have gorgeous sunny skies, making it warm. Marrakech is famous for its sunny days.
Another absolute plus about the Kasbah is the rooms themselves have central heat and cooling which is individually controlled by the guests, unlike most places in Morocco which have room heating and cooling units. This means there are no cold spots or imprecise temperatures in the rooms.
Another plus is the GM Bruno and his lovely wife Sylvie who made us feel so welcome.
Over the 5 years of living in Morocco, my husband and I have visited many riads and hotels, but Kasbah Agounsane is our very favorite. We will be back there in 2 weeks and, honestly, I can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is a peaceful haven in the foothills of the Atlas mountains and is a great respite from the hectic pace of life in Marrakesh. Wonderful views down onto the plains, would recommend dinner on the terrace under the stars, and overlooking the bright lights of Marrakesh in the distance. The staff were great, we had the place to ourselves. The only slight criticism was that our sheets were not changed during the four nights we stayed, this is not a real issue for us but may be for some people. Also if you're staying for more than a couple of days, you can get a bit tired of the menu as its the same at lunchtimes and evenings. Having said that, the food was very good, even the harrira soup in the mornings! If you just wanted to kick back and relax and not do anything other than laze by the large pool, you couldn't do much better than this place.

Out and about...
We walked down to the weekly local souk on Monday, be prepared to be hustled and hassled by prospective "guides" and hawkers selling fake geodes and plastic necklaces, but its worth a visit. We also did the Ourika Falls trip organised by the hotel, it was a good day out but too many stops at roadside stalls and I didn't particularly enjoy the visit to the argan oil co-operative, it charges ridiculous prices and the staff are very pushy, not what we expected. Could have done without the visit to the Berber house, it was jam packed with a bus tour - so much for an authentic experience! The driver/guide was very good, he spoke a bit of English and a bit more French.

The most enjoyable activity we did was take a walk up ourselves into the hills from the hotel (despite the gardener trying to come with us!). The scenery is spectacular and its great to get an insight into the day to day routines of the locals who were all very friendly and polite. We certainly felt we got a better feel for the area and people by getting away from the tourist hot spots.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites on the top floor, they share a huge terrace overlooking the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have just returned from 2 days in this hotel. I never got to know the names of the staff but overall we were very disappointed with the standard. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms lovely but we did not expect a crack in the door to the terrace. Hot water? No, seems you have to let the tap run for about 20 minutes to get hot water. What a waste of water. No turn down room service in the evening. The staff spoke limited english and we had one veggie and one cumin allergy in our party - it made life difficult. Breakfast wasn't great but did improve the second day when the requested fruit arrived. There was no diet coca cola and they had run out of tomato juice after the first evening. The 4 of us were the only guests for our first evening. The guide/driver was a very safe driver but his english was very limited so we got less out of our tour than we had hoped for. The manager was fairly ineffectual as was the owner or overseeer (not sure what he was - didn't do much except play on his computer!!).
The setting was nice but we expected more for our money. We would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful 2 days at The Kasbah. As we rented the car,we were a bit anxious to miss the turn for it as in the middle of the countryside just before starting the Ourika Valley roads. It was a hidden gem next to hills and mountains. The rooms are very spacious and are decorated in a Moroccan/Berber style. Each room carries the name of a person or a place relevant to the Moroccan history. The hotel staff makes you feel at home and is always welcoming and offering help, and speaks Arabic,French and English . This hotel is to escape to hustle and bustle of busy Marrakech,it is like you are on a whole different planet, the quiteness surrounding it, the beautiful exotic plants and garden around it with a gardener that really takes care of it . You could almost spend hours just sitting in the outside terrace or by the pool just listening to nature. The hotel also offers Spa services and day trips to the surrounding areas.I have traveled quite far, and this hotel to me to the kind of beauty of nature and service that you would get in a place like the Maldives,where you feel like you have a personalized service together with a total respect of nature . I would def recommand this hotel to any nature lover who wants to have the experience of a lifetime in a beautiful settings by the foothills of the Atlas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel on the outskirts of Tnine in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. There are only 9 suites all beautifully decorated. It was very quiet while we were there and had almost personal service. Food was good, although a limited dinner menu. Breakfast was interesting as there was no menu and it was a challenge to find out what was available. The manager arranged two good days out for us: one walking in the foothills and visiting the local villages, and a trip up the Oulrika Valley to the Cascades.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Kasbah Agounsane is a gem! My husband and I travel every three weeks in Morocco, and this lovely hotel is an outstanding find for us. A special highlight of the kasbah is its manager, Kamal, who takes a personal and sincere interest in his guests as well as the hotel. His face lights up with his pride and joy in his job. This meant so much to us as we felt especially well cared for and welcome. He cannot do enough in making sure we were having the perfect time. Another jem is the chef, Ahmed. Not only is his cooking so delicious and outstanding, but he just exudes charm and pride in his work. The rest of the staff are equally caring and helpful.
Another winning feature about the Kasbah Agounsane is the view, just breathtaking. The layout, decor, convenience of the room was also fabulous. Each room has its own fireplace which is so beautifully presented and romantic. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the sheets excellent quality and ironed. In the living room, fireplace area, a gorgeous pierced brass chandelier made shadows and lights surround the walls and ceiling, very very beautiful and special. Our room lead out to a gorgeous large patio with a view to die for.
The dining room has a huge fireplace, gorgeous decour, and as I said before the best food imaginable!
Honestly I cannot rave enough. Neither my husband nor I can wait to go back!!
One suggestion: I use a wheelchair and the entire upper floor is totally accessible to me, not one step or inconvenience; however, there is no elevator to the ground floor which has beautiful terraces as well as a fabulous pool. None of this mattered in January, but in summer, it would be a drawback.
Thank you for one of the most wonderful and enjoyable weekends we have had!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am an experienced traveller and have spent the last 20 years roaming the globe and staying in hotels, many of which have been in Arabic countries, so I do not say this lightly; The Kasbah Agounsane has been the finest staffed hotel, with one of the most comfortable living quarters, I have ever stayed in. Firstly the hotel itself is a magnificent piece of architecture, in a modernist 'Kasbah' (Castle) style, which is like a palace inside. It feels like a stately home due to its modest size, rather than a large commercial enterprise as many 5 star hotels feel. The restaurant, bar and lounge area are in a large common space with roaring open fires and soft, traditional music quietly playing to give an ambiance of calm. It is tastefully decorated with local art and some indigenous ornaments, some of which I suspect to be antiques, adding to a welcoming, at home feel to the place. The rooms are similarly decorated, with comfortable beds, roaring fires and a first class bathroom area which has the best shower facility I have ever used at home or abroad. The housekeepers diligently keep the rooms and social areas spotlessly clean. The gardens are young, but even in the year or so that the hotel has been established, they are flourishing and enjoyable to walk around. There are some domestic animals; a donkey called Nana, some chickens and a rooster and some guinea fowl. There is also a lovely puppy, very well behaved, called max, and we fell in love with him. This is all in a large privately walled complex giving security and seclusion, near the top of a hill overlooking the Atlas Mountains and foothills and, in the distance, Marrakesh and the suburban towns and villages. We walked in the garden in the sunshine, and the quiet would only be punctuated by the soft sounds of the poetry and prayer from the distant mosques. The swimming pool area was beautifully presented and clean. I used the pool once, which was lovely if a bit cold due to the time of year we were staying. We did not use the spa facilities but looking around them, they were again clean and well presented in the Kasbah style. The staff were excellent, some of whom we ended our stay knowing by name. The Manager, Kamal, was a professional who managed a happy team of staff. His standards were high and his team always achieved them. They were all friendly and very much felt to us like a family, who welcomed us as members, whilst maintaining the highest standards of formality and respect. The housekeepers were excellent, they cleaned the room and changed the bedding when we wanted, laying out fresh flowers in the room each day. Although there was an easy to use safe in the room, we left personal items out without fear as they are very trustworthy and honest, at one point they sought us out to return to us some personal items we had left loafing. The two chefs were amazing at their trade. The menu was a limited a la carte, but changed week to week. The chefs however would make things if you requested them that were off the menu. We rarely did that as the standard of the food and the choice available was more than sufficient. The 2 chefs were highly motived and often came to ensure we were satisfied with their work. The restaurant and bar staff were again respectful and friendly and spoke very good English, which in Morocco is not an essential language to learn. Hassan and his colleagues were of the highest quality. We met the gardener a few times and he was respectful, friendly and informative about his work and allowed us to feed and interact with the animals, whilst ensuring our, and the animal's, safety at all times. At the gatehouse in the wall of the Kasbah was a security guard, who was friendly and we witnessed him doing his job when he politely dealt with our airport driver, who had turned up expectantly early. The feeling of safety in this rural area unfamiliar to us can be attributed to him. Then there was Abduletif, the hotel driver, who we also saw carrying out other tasks too. He drove like a chauffeur driving a Rolls Royce Corniche. In a city like Marrakesh, where the rules of the road are merely a seldom used guide by its motorist, Abduletif took us through the sometimes chaotic Marrakeshi' roads and it felt like we could have been being driven through the quiet Wiltshire countryside. He spoke a little English, but with his little knowledge of English and my even smaller knowledge of French, and some gesticulation we got to know him quite well. He took us to Marrakesh several times and was always there to meet us at the appointed time, which was sometimes quite late in the evening. He took us into the mountains too, guiding us through the countryside to the best scenery and also helped us interact with the local market stall holders, making sure we got the best price and also stopped us being pestered too much. We really liked him, and he was an excellent driver, guide and friendly face in a foreign land. Kamal, the manager, is the man who co-ordinates his staff to deliver this great service. He helped us organise our excursions, at a really reasonable price compared to the online or professional companies based in Marrakesh offering excursions, with the advantage that we were the only people in our excursion group. He, at our invitation, engaged in much conversation with us and we learnt so much about Moroccan culture, history and how thing work there. His insights and advice were always very useful. We were lucky enough that he took us to a Berber village nearby and we had some tea and bread with a Berber family. On this trip he took us personally and showed us around and we were able to see what a charitable and good man Kamal is on a personal level. He helps the local communities and individuals, putting his own money in and encouraging children to go to school, whilst helping community projects in the Berber village. One project he showed us was the extension for a Mosque which will house new technologies to educate and help women and children of the community. He is a truly moral and good person, who we felt humbled to spend time with. All this really added up to a wonderful experience, and the Kasbah Agounsane is a wonderful place to be, even over Christmas. Most people I think use it as a small stop between traveling around Morocco, where we used it as our base for 11 days. Marrakesh is only 30-40 minutes away and is no trouble to get to. We filled our time using the Kasbah Agounsane as our base and we would do the same next time on a trip to Marrakesh. One piece of advice to anyone going; do not use an airport transfer company (definitely not resort hoppa) to take you from the airport to the hotel. Resort Hoppa told me that there needed to be a 4x4 to get to the hotel, citing that the road leaning up to it was all off-road. This was incorrect, the road is unfinished yes, but it is merely a gravel track and was navigated by 50cc scooters, so a 2 wheel drive car, as used by the hotel, is sufficient to navigate the road. Phone Kamal direct at the hotel, I am sure he will be able to organise a car for you, at a reasonable price, as he was able to do so much more for us. Thank you Kamal and thanks to your staff for a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel, we have been back 2 days now, but our hearts are still with you there in the mountains...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Agounsane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agounsane

Address: 30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agounsane 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome In the heart of the Berber culture, 30 minutes from Marrakech, stands the Kasbah Agounsane when myth meets the new. This charming, elegant style and the many personalized services will reveal its magic. Customers reviews Come with me to share this wonderful place and is delighted that the Kasbah Agounsane! A place that can not be ignored as it unforgettable and spellbinding. The Kasbah Agounsane provided an excellent location and contrast to the bustle of Marrakesh only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Kasbah Agounsane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agounsane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.