We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Agounsane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Agounsane to your Saves list
Kasbah Agounsane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful 2 days at The Kasbah. As we rented the car,we were a bit anxious to miss the turn for it as in the middle of the countryside just before starting the Ourika Valley roads. It was a hidden gem next to hills and mountains. The rooms are very spacious and are decorated in a Moroccan/Berber style. Each room carries the name of a person or a place relevant to the Moroccan history. The hotel staff makes you feel at home and is always welcoming and offering help, and speaks Arabic,French and English . This hotel is to escape to hustle and bustle of busy Marrakech,it is like you are on a whole different planet, the quiteness surrounding it, the beautiful exotic plants and garden around it with a gardener that really takes care of it . You could almost spend hours just sitting in the outside terrace or by the pool just listening to nature. The hotel also offers Spa services and day trips to the surrounding areas.I have traveled quite far, and this hotel to me to the kind of beauty of nature and service that you would get in a place like the Maldives,where you feel like you have a personalized service together with a total respect of nature . I would def recommand this hotel to any nature lover who wants to have the experience of a lifetime in a beautiful settings by the foothills of the Atlas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel on the outskirts of Tnine in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. There are only 9 suites all beautifully decorated. It was very quiet while we were there and had almost personal service. Food was good, although a limited dinner menu. Breakfast was interesting as there was no menu and it was a challenge to find out what was available. The manager arranged two good days out for us: one walking in the foothills and visiting the local villages, and a trip up the Oulrika Valley to the Cascades.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Kasbah Agounsane is a gem! My husband and I travel every three weeks in Morocco, and this lovely hotel is an outstanding find for us. A special highlight of the kasbah is its manager, Kamal, who takes a personal and sincere interest in his guests as well as the hotel. His face lights up with his pride and joy in his job. This meant so much to us as we felt especially well cared for and welcome. He cannot do enough in making sure we were having the perfect time. Another jem is the chef, Ahmed. Not only is his cooking so delicious and outstanding, but he just exudes charm and pride in his work. The rest of the staff are equally caring and helpful.
Another winning feature about the Kasbah Agounsane is the view, just breathtaking. The layout, decor, convenience of the room was also fabulous. Each room has its own fireplace which is so beautifully presented and romantic. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the sheets excellent quality and ironed. In the living room, fireplace area, a gorgeous pierced brass chandelier made shadows and lights surround the walls and ceiling, very very beautiful and special. Our room lead out to a gorgeous large patio with a view to die for.
The dining room has a huge fireplace, gorgeous decour, and as I said before the best food imaginable!
Honestly I cannot rave enough. Neither my husband nor I can wait to go back!!
One suggestion: I use a wheelchair and the entire upper floor is totally accessible to me, not one step or inconvenience; however, there is no elevator to the ground floor which has beautiful terraces as well as a fabulous pool. None of this mattered in January, but in summer, it would be a drawback.
Thank you for one of the most wonderful and enjoyable weekends we have had!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am an experienced traveller and have spent the last 20 years roaming the globe and staying in hotels, many of which have been in Arabic countries, so I do not say this lightly; The Kasbah Agounsane has been the finest staffed hotel, with one of the most comfortable living quarters, I have ever stayed in. Firstly the hotel itself is a magnificent piece of architecture, in a modernist 'Kasbah' (Castle) style, which is like a palace inside. It feels like a stately home due to its modest size, rather than a large commercial enterprise as many 5 star hotels feel. The restaurant, bar and lounge area are in a large common space with roaring open fires and soft, traditional music quietly playing to give an ambiance of calm. It is tastefully decorated with local art and some indigenous ornaments, some of which I suspect to be antiques, adding to a welcoming, at home feel to the place. The rooms are similarly decorated, with comfortable beds, roaring fires and a first class bathroom area which has the best shower facility I have ever used at home or abroad. The housekeepers diligently keep the rooms and social areas spotlessly clean. The gardens are young, but even in the year or so that the hotel has been established, they are flourishing and enjoyable to walk around. There are some domestic animals; a donkey called Nana, some chickens and a rooster and some guinea fowl. There is also a lovely puppy, very well behaved, called max, and we fell in love with him. This is all in a large privately walled complex giving security and seclusion, near the top of a hill overlooking the Atlas Mountains and foothills and, in the distance, Marrakesh and the suburban towns and villages. We walked in the garden in the sunshine, and the quiet would only be punctuated by the soft sounds of the poetry and prayer from the distant mosques. The swimming pool area was beautifully presented and clean. I used the pool once, which was lovely if a bit cold due to the time of year we were staying. We did not use the spa facilities but looking around them, they were again clean and well presented in the Kasbah style. The staff were excellent, some of whom we ended our stay knowing by name. The Manager, Kamal, was a professional who managed a happy team of staff. His standards were high and his team always achieved them. They were all friendly and very much felt to us like a family, who welcomed us as members, whilst maintaining the highest standards of formality and respect. The housekeepers were excellent, they cleaned the room and changed the bedding when we wanted, laying out fresh flowers in the room each day. Although there was an easy to use safe in the room, we left personal items out without fear as they are very trustworthy and honest, at one point they sought us out to return to us some personal items we had left loafing. The two chefs were amazing at their trade. The menu was a limited a la carte, but changed week to week. The chefs however would make things if you requested them that were off the menu. We rarely did that as the standard of the food and the choice available was more than sufficient. The 2 chefs were highly motived and often came to ensure we were satisfied with their work. The restaurant and bar staff were again respectful and friendly and spoke very good English, which in Morocco is not an essential language to learn. Hassan and his colleagues were of the highest quality. We met the gardener a few times and he was respectful, friendly and informative about his work and allowed us to feed and interact with the animals, whilst ensuring our, and the animal's, safety at all times. At the gatehouse in the wall of the Kasbah was a security guard, who was friendly and we witnessed him doing his job when he politely dealt with our airport driver, who had turned up expectantly early. The feeling of safety in this rural area unfamiliar to us can be attributed to him. Then there was Abduletif, the hotel driver, who we also saw carrying out other tasks too. He drove like a chauffeur driving a Rolls Royce Corniche. In a city like Marrakesh, where the rules of the road are merely a seldom used guide by its motorist, Abduletif took us through the sometimes chaotic Marrakeshi' roads and it felt like we could have been being driven through the quiet Wiltshire countryside. He spoke a little English, but with his little knowledge of English and my even smaller knowledge of French, and some gesticulation we got to know him quite well. He took us to Marrakesh several times and was always there to meet us at the appointed time, which was sometimes quite late in the evening. He took us into the mountains too, guiding us through the countryside to the best scenery and also helped us interact with the local market stall holders, making sure we got the best price and also stopped us being pestered too much. We really liked him, and he was an excellent driver, guide and friendly face in a foreign land. Kamal, the manager, is the man who co-ordinates his staff to deliver this great service. He helped us organise our excursions, at a really reasonable price compared to the online or professional companies based in Marrakesh offering excursions, with the advantage that we were the only people in our excursion group. He, at our invitation, engaged in much conversation with us and we learnt so much about Moroccan culture, history and how thing work there. His insights and advice were always very useful. We were lucky enough that he took us to a Berber village nearby and we had some tea and bread with a Berber family. On this trip he took us personally and showed us around and we were able to see what a charitable and good man Kamal is on a personal level. He helps the local communities and individuals, putting his own money in and encouraging children to go to school, whilst helping community projects in the Berber village. One project he showed us was the extension for a Mosque which will house new technologies to educate and help women and children of the community. He is a truly moral and good person, who we felt humbled to spend time with. All this really added up to a wonderful experience, and the Kasbah Agounsane is a wonderful place to be, even over Christmas. Most people I think use it as a small stop between traveling around Morocco, where we used it as our base for 11 days. Marrakesh is only 30-40 minutes away and is no trouble to get to. We filled our time using the Kasbah Agounsane as our base and we would do the same next time on a trip to Marrakesh. One piece of advice to anyone going; do not use an airport transfer company (definitely not resort hoppa) to take you from the airport to the hotel. Resort Hoppa told me that there needed to be a 4x4 to get to the hotel, citing that the road leaning up to it was all off-road. This was incorrect, the road is unfinished yes, but it is merely a gravel track and was navigated by 50cc scooters, so a 2 wheel drive car, as used by the hotel, is sufficient to navigate the road. Phone Kamal direct at the hotel, I am sure he will be able to organise a car for you, at a reasonable price, as he was able to do so much more for us. Thank you Kamal and thanks to your staff for a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel, we have been back 2 days now, but our hearts are still with you there in the mountains...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We spent a delightful three nights at the Kasbah after a week of trekking a couple of nights in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. This was exactly what we needed; a spacious, tastefully decorated hotel with a lovely pool to relax by, complimented by good food and excellent attentive service. Kamil the manager is keen to make sure that everything is to your liking without being over-bearing and this attitude is passed on to the staff who were all attentive and polite without being stuffy.
I'd highly recommend this place and would happily return myself. If we return, we'll definitely upgrade our room though. Not because ours was bad, (far from it, it was lovely) but because the higher grade rooms are just fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnsane, Gérant at Kasbah Agounsane, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you very match for your answer.we will be in your disposition.
Again thank for taking your time to write nice coments about us.
All the best .
kamal
Manager
KASBAH AGOUNSANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Although just a short journey from Marrakesh the contrast could not be greater. The setting is beautiful and the pool area is particularly attractive.The service was attentive without being overpowering and we were made to feel very welcome. Do not be put off by the deceptively simple menu as the food is excellent.The manager, Kamal, arranged a tour of the Ourika Valley with the hotel's driver and an evening walk through the local Berber village,both of which we highly recommend. Our room was very spacious, attractive and comfortable and the public areas are extremely stylish, A lovely place to stay enhanced by the friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: One room opens onto the terrace which might lack privacy if the hotel is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnsane, Gérant at Kasbah Agounsane, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Madame.Sir.
Thank you very match for your nice answer.we hope to see you next time in our kasbah.
All the best
KAMAL
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

What a lovely place.

We had a wonderful 4 nights here. We arrived very late at night after a 35 min drive from the airport and the attentive Jamal (the manager) and his staff were on hand to welcome us with Moroccan Tea and left us to a very comfortable nights sleep in our suite. Breakfast, consisting of breads, jam, cheese and eggs, was available whenever we wanted it the next day and we awoke to the gorgeous views and blazing sunshine. Our bag got 'delayed' with the airline so Jamal kindly took us into town the next morning to buy some essentials to keep us going and then coordinated the return of our things. We then spent 2 days being looked after by the very attentive staff. On the 3rd day the Kasbah arranged for a guide to take us up into the mountains for a day trip which was most enjoyable and highly recommended.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. In the foot hills of the Atlas mountains but only 35 mins from Marrakech. The views are stunning and the setting peaceful. It would make a wonderful honeymoon destination. All the rooms have their own open fireplace so in the winter I would imagine it would be wonderfully cozy!

The hotel itself is only a year or so old and the staff who were there were all quite new and therefore exceptionally keen to please. The service was immaculate. At some places we have been, the hotel tries too hard to be ‘refined’ and the staff try so hard that they become too discreet and therefore distant and the whole place feels a bit sterile; not the case here. The staff were engaging, welcoming and tried their utmost to make us feel like it was home. The restaurant food is very good as well and featured in the Morocco equivalent of the good food guide. Deservedly so.

Overall we loved this place. Our thanks to all the staff who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnsane, Directeur général at Kasbah Agounsane, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
It is with pleasure that the Directorate of Kasbah Agounsane and his team invite you to discover our hotel located just 30 minutes from Marrakech.
Nestled at the foot of the Atlas, this guest house rental welcomes you every day. Our chef offers fine dining as well as Moroccan
International dishes. For lunch or even dinner, rest assured that you will be surprised by the flavor of our original kitchen.

We offer very competitive rates to stay single or combined with activities "discovery" or a quiet weekend to enjoy
Pool, garden and services, "Well Being" SPA at amazing prices!

Check out our flyers and be surprised when you get in a few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Agounsane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Agounsane

Address: 30 minutes from Marrakech Ourika | Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Agounsane 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome In the heart of the Berber culture, 30 minutes from Marrakech, stands the Kasbah Agounsane when myth meets the new. This charming, elegant style and the many personalized services will reveal its magic. Customers reviews Come with me to share this wonderful place and is delighted that the Kasbah Agounsane! A place that can not be ignored as it unforgettable and spellbinding. The Kasbah Agounsane provided an excellent location and contrast to the bustle of Marrakesh only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Kasbah Agounsane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Agounsane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.