We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Siwan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Siwan
Zanka Adika No. 28 | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Buried within the twisting narrow lanes of this frenetic, ancient medina, behind a nondescript door, you enter a tranquil bit of heaven.

The central garden and fountain, the ornate and delicate carved ceiling and archways, and the fantastic suites - this was a wonderful place to enjoy our breakfasts, a late afternoon drink, an occasional dinner and a perfect night of quiet and rest.

Meals are served on a multilevel rooftop patio. The breakfasts for two could have served 4, and everything was delicious with gentle service by the staff. We ate dinner 2 of the four nights that we stayed at Riad Siwan and they were wonderful (and very romantic under the stars).

My wife and I hardily recommend this oasis as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent 2 days at Riad Siwan after having spent 5 days in the Grand Atlas. After the peace of the mountains, Marrakech is sensory overload - hawkers, snake charmers, scooters speeding through the narrow crowded lanes, smells and smoke from cooking, and the heat of the sun. Riad Siwan was a calm oasis that allowed us to appreciate this fantastic city without burning out. Located in the heart of the medina, which makes most of the major attractions within easy walking distance, the Riad is not easy to find - a journey through twisting, narrow lanes and tunnels leads to an unassuming door marked only as #28. Beyond that door is a newly remodeled slice of paradise, run by a friendly and efficient staff. The central atrium courtyard characteristic of a riad is a small but lush garden around a central fountain. We stayed in Ifrane, a twin room on the upper floor decorated in beautiful Moroccan colors. The room overlooks the atrium and is air-conditioned, but as it cooled down rapidly after sunset we only used the air conditioning during the hottest part of the day. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The en suite bathroom was spacious and modern. A few steps up led to the roof terrace, where meals were served, as well as to the small but very welcome plunge pool. A few more steps led to the tower, with superb panoramic views of the medina. As one of the days we stayed at the riad was my travel companion's birthday, the staff prepared a superb dinner for us - a chicken tagine with confit citron and olives that was to die for - by far the best food we had in Marrakech. The manager Khalid is extremely helpful and proactively looked after our comfort, and also arranged a city guide for us, which made our foray into Marrakech much more informative and enjoyable. WiFi was readily accessible in all parts of the riad. Riad Siwan also supports Education For All, which provides assistance for Moroccan girls pursuing higher education.

I would highly recommend Riad Siwan to anyone staying in Marrakech. Our stay there could not have been better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Riad Siwan is a beautifully renovated Riad in a very central location in Marrakech. Our suite was fantastic, with a huge bathroom. Bed and pillows were very comfortable! The furnishings are very stylish and mostly sourced locally. It was very quiet and relaxed, an oasis to come back to after a day in the souks. The roof terrace is spacious and extremely comfortable with great views over the city. A great place for breakfast in the morning sun. We had dinner twice in the Riad and the food was fantastic and very good value. We also had a good lunch on the terrace. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Cees & Maryk are wonderful hosts and full of good advice about where to go in Marrakech. We have been to Marrakech several times and will now always stay at Riad Siwan. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five days at the Riad Siwan. Staff and owners could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The accommodations and room features were elegant. Food was outstanding, and the accompanying Moroccan wine was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This riad is an oasis in the medina. The rooms are spectacular, the food is very good (some of the best we had in Morocco) and the staff are attentive, pleasant and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend anyone to this riad. There are no phones, no newspapers and no television - a perfect escape!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

One of the top Marrakech Riads. I have just been back for the sixth time. I always enjoy being in and around Marrakech, but I now go more for the sheer pleasure of staying in Riad Siwan. Absolutely worth what it costs.

Newly (re)built with top quality materials in a modern Moroccan style, it is light and airy with a wonderful, spacious roof terrace full of flowering plants where you can enjoy delicious breakfasts or candlelit dinners. There is an overall air of understated elegance and a sense of calm is guaranteed to ensure a feeling of well-being. It is in a good, safe area.

Nothing is too much trouble for the charming staff. The Manager, Khalid, is always available to assist you; he is caring and courteous. Fatima comes on request to give you a professional massage with the now-renowned Moroccan argan oil – guaranteed to give you the Feel Good Feeling. The rooms are large and light, all so tastefully decorated (less is more). Super beds and bed linen. Very special features throughout are the hand-made designer lamps and hand-carved pale cedar-wood doors.

The Dutch owners – Cees and Maryjk – are in Marrakech to stay and can give you the very best advice. If you get the chance, also visit one of the hostals for Moroccan girls of which Maryk is a fervent protagonist.

Riad Siwan is an oasis of calm on returning from the hectic street life and the fascination of the medina with is colours, smells and impact on your every sense.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We felt so lucky to have found this gem for our 4 nights stay in Marrakech.

Riad Siwan has been lovingly restored by its owners Maryk and Cees. The decoration is beautiful, elegant and of a very high standard. The rooms are tastefully furnished in Marrocan/African style, and our marble bathroom was spacious and had a wonderful shower. Pure bliss!

The manager and staff are extraordinarily friendly, and will go out of their way to make your stay special. We had also 2 wonderful dinners at the Riad. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.

Riad Siwan is located in a quiet side street, but very central. Once the door closes behind you, you can almost forget that you are in the middle of the medina. The beautiful and spacious roof terrace is also heavenly! You can enjoy views over the medina to the Atlas mountains. Breathtakingly beautiful!

We can highly recommend Riad Siwan. Thank you to Maryk, Cees, Khalid, Moustafa and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Siwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Siwan

Address: Zanka Adika No. 28 | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Riad Siwan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Siwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Siwan to your Saves list