We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Siwan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Siwan
Zanka Adika No. 28 | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five days at the Riad Siwan. Staff and owners could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The accommodations and room features were elegant. Food was outstanding, and the accompanying Moroccan wine was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This riad is an oasis in the medina. The rooms are spectacular, the food is very good (some of the best we had in Morocco) and the staff are attentive, pleasant and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend anyone to this riad. There are no phones, no newspapers and no television - a perfect escape!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

One of the top Marrakech Riads. I have just been back for the sixth time. I always enjoy being in and around Marrakech, but I now go more for the sheer pleasure of staying in Riad Siwan. Absolutely worth what it costs.

Newly (re)built with top quality materials in a modern Moroccan style, it is light and airy with a wonderful, spacious roof terrace full of flowering plants where you can enjoy delicious breakfasts or candlelit dinners. There is an overall air of understated elegance and a sense of calm is guaranteed to ensure a feeling of well-being. It is in a good, safe area.

Nothing is too much trouble for the charming staff. The Manager, Khalid, is always available to assist you; he is caring and courteous. Fatima comes on request to give you a professional massage with the now-renowned Moroccan argan oil – guaranteed to give you the Feel Good Feeling. The rooms are large and light, all so tastefully decorated (less is more). Super beds and bed linen. Very special features throughout are the hand-made designer lamps and hand-carved pale cedar-wood doors.

The Dutch owners – Cees and Maryjk – are in Marrakech to stay and can give you the very best advice. If you get the chance, also visit one of the hostals for Moroccan girls of which Maryk is a fervent protagonist.

Riad Siwan is an oasis of calm on returning from the hectic street life and the fascination of the medina with is colours, smells and impact on your every sense.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We felt so lucky to have found this gem for our 4 nights stay in Marrakech.

Riad Siwan has been lovingly restored by its owners Maryk and Cees. The decoration is beautiful, elegant and of a very high standard. The rooms are tastefully furnished in Marrocan/African style, and our marble bathroom was spacious and had a wonderful shower. Pure bliss!

The manager and staff are extraordinarily friendly, and will go out of their way to make your stay special. We had also 2 wonderful dinners at the Riad. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.

Riad Siwan is located in a quiet side street, but very central. Once the door closes behind you, you can almost forget that you are in the middle of the medina. The beautiful and spacious roof terrace is also heavenly! You can enjoy views over the medina to the Atlas mountains. Breathtakingly beautiful!

We can highly recommend Riad Siwan. Thank you to Maryk, Cees, Khalid, Moustafa and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

It was our second visit to Riad Siwan in fact a third visit to Marrakesch having stayed at the sister Riad Azzur in 2009, Riad Siwan is delightful, the hosts are adorable and so helpful, the staff are so attentive and the Riad is a little piece of paradise oin a busy vibrant city. If you want 5* quality but don't want to pay the price - this place is perfect. The rooms are smart and chic and oooze moroccan style. The food is delighful and cooked to order in the evening. Our meals were served on the terrace and they even arranged for a wonderful lady to come and provide a sumptuous body massage in our room - what more could you ask for - thank you again Maryk and Cees.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We loved our stay at Riad Siwan. Owners Maryk and Cees and manager Halid (and staff) couldn't have been lovelier to our group of 8 which included 2 families with 4 kids between us. We were all made to feel totally at home. Halid organized separate yet equally beautiful meals for the kids so that the adults could enjoy delicious & relaxed dining later while the kids happily watched movies. After spending our days exploring the medina, relaxing on the roof of Riad Siwan was a highlight of each day. Between the delicious food & excellent atmosphere we had no desire to venture out to restaurants. Maryk & Cees were also wonderful about helping us organize day trips. Riad Siwan is a stylish feast for the eye. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

After a very bad experience in a very bad and expensive riad in Marrakech, I found Siwan by chance, and my holiday turned into a dream. The riad is wonderful, to say little, from the rooms and suites, each differrent from the others and designed in a very tasteful theme and style, the staff are very professional, polite and always present. We had also dinner by their great maroccan cook and it was exellent....The owners Marike and Cees are very hospitable and caring for their guests'satisfaction.
The ryad shows their culture, excellent taste and politeness.
A little note: to whom complains about the absence of television, minibar ecc, I simply say that a riad is a maroccan traditional guest house, or palace, as in this case, not a star-hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Siwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Siwan

Address: Zanka Adika No. 28 | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Riad Siwan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Siwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Siwan to your Saves list