We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Flore

Villa Flore
4 Derb Azzouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is listed in the hotels sections but not as a restaurant. I ate in the restaurant but did not stay at the hotel. I would like to submit a review of the restaurant only.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Potential but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Fine meal if smallish portions with fair pricing - nice setting and attentive staff but a large group overwhelmed their abilities. Had to wait far too long for coffee and received profuse apologies when we had to remind waiter of the order. Would consider a return visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    79
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had another excellent meal here, our second in seven months. The atmosphere seems to distract or depress some who have reviewed Villa Flore. But we didn't mind. Do keep in mind that as the center tables are outside in the central courtyard, smokers prefer those tables. You can sit in any of the adjoining rooms and avoid this. It did not bother us. Good service and very good food makes this an excellent choice for those staying anywhere near the Fontaine Mouassine in the Central Medina. Note that you'll need the man sitting out front (by the sign) to lead you into this boutique hotel/restaurant as you certainly wouldn't walk into that "derb" (alleyway) unless you knew that the restaurant was there. Perfectly safe, however.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was good. It helped that it was starting to get busy in Marrakech when we were there so the restaurant was 3/4 full. It is expensive by Marrakech standards but worth the extra money and worked out costing the same as a more average meal back home. Everything was cooked well, full of flavour and there was a good wine list too. The Domaine de Sahari gris (rosé) was excellent and I'd recommend it. In a sea of ok meals this was a little bit of special. The surroundings are very minimal (boutique hotel style) but was nice to eat under the stars in the calm of the Riad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All round fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for our anniversary and it was the best choice!
Service was fab, so so attentive but not overdone, food was excellent, prices were perfect, atmosphere was warm and romantic!
Perfect dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just missed being good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Being very close to where we were staying we hoped this would be good.
Do not be put off by the alley to the entrance. Once inside you could be in any upmarket restaurant in the world.
Attentive service, without being intrusive. Can understand up to a point the comment on atmosphere by previous reviewer. We dined on a quiet night, but did not find it an issue.
What we ate was a bit disappointing. Beware of the filleted Monkfish, not filleted lengthways but crosscut leaving the centre bone in. Not what one would expect at the price. Maybe that is the Moroccan way?
Shredded lamb was tasty, but as a main course it was quite small and I am not a huge eater.
Chocolate dessert was a big disappointment, given the French patisserie heritage would have hoped for better.
Perhaps I expected too much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Flore also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Villa Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Flore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.