We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unorganised and overbooked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lila to your Saves list
Riad Lila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #592 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unorganised and overbooked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We visited Marrakech for 3 nights. The first night we got to the riad at about 11pm. We were greeted with mint tea and biscuits, to then be told that we can't stay in the riad we booked because there was a problem with the room. We had to stay in the riad next door in an unsecured room with unlocked doors either side. Obviously we didn't sleep the first night, if you've ever been to Marrakech you will understand!!!! Also, we later discovered that after reading other reviews and overhearing conversations in the riad, they over book everybody and first come first serve into the rooms and the late arrivals have to stay next door. When we were about to check out, we were told their card machine doesn't work and we had to take cash out on the other side of the medina without any notice, even though we booked with a credit card.
We will not be coming back that's for sure!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Really loved staying here. It's a tiny little place tucked away in a quiet street but near enough to all the action in the centre not to feel isolated. They've really made the best of the building and we had a nice breakfast on the sunny roof terrace. The rooms were immaculate, the wifi was fast and the bathrooms are sweet. The staff were delightful and really looked out for us as we were two girls staying in Marrakesh for the night on our own. It can be an intimidating place but we felt really safe and secure here. The service was very personal, they couldn't do enough for us and the price was extremely reasonable. I can't recommend this little place enough if you're passing through Marrakesh. Beautiful building, lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

A beautiful riad, very clean and with a huge matrimonial bed. In a very morrocan style, this is close to the Jemaa el Fnaa which is the heart of Marrakech. A pleasant experience of the morrocan life...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This Riad is really beautiful, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. It is also very quiet at night. the Riad is a bit difficult to find in back alleys but very near Cafe de France on the main square jemaa el fna. You might need to ask people to guide you there- they might ask you for money though. The staff was amazing, very helpful and friendly. We had dinner there one night and it was delicious! The breakfast is fresh orange juice and bread, butter, honey and jam with something different every morning such as local pancakes or cronuts. We had it served on the terrasse which was great.
The staff also recommended a good local spa. Would certainly recommend Riad Lila!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The Riad was hard to find on arrival as it was at night. Although you think you are initially going off the beaten track it is in fact down some quiet, narrow winding alleyways.
The staff in the Riad are really pleasant and helpful. Serving a breakfast every morning of toasted breads and pancakes with jams and honey, fresh orange juice and tea.
Riad lila is absolutely spotless clean. The rooms are small but not uncomfortably small.
Once you get your bearings you realise how near the riad is to the hustle and bustle of marrakesh and thats all that you want.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This Riad is just beautiful with only 5 rooms. The location is superb right off the square. Our welcome was wonderful which consisted of some snacks and traditional Mint tea. Our room was clean and the bed was huge!
We would highly recommend this Riad but just some points to note. As with all Riads it's hard to find (we got shown when we got out of the taxi for 30dirham) but after that we were able to find it ourselves. The breakfast is good some breads coffee tea and freshly squeezed orange juice no complaints at all. Our host see lovely but her English wasn't so good and our French is terrible so slight communication barrier. Overall for the price it is definitely worth it & I would return again.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at Riad Lila for two nights and truly loved it. It had a beautiful interior, that was very Moroccan. We were provided with a great breakfast every morning (amazing orange juice)! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in every way. They let us keep our bags there after checkout so that we would tour the city more easily. Initially, it was very difficult to find the Riad and the men who want to help you can be very pushy, but once we got settled in, we were fine with the location. It is right off of the main square, but very quiet despite the loud city atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lila

Address: Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.