We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Little Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lila to your Saves list
Riad Lila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #520 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at Riad Lila for two nights and truly loved it. It had a beautiful interior, that was very Moroccan. We were provided with a great breakfast every morning (amazing orange juice)! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in every way. They let us keep our bags there after checkout so that we would tour the city more easily. Initially, it was very difficult to find the Riad and the men who want to help you can be very pushy, but once we got settled in, we were fine with the location. It is right off of the main square, but very quiet despite the loud city atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We love to reach the hotels alone and independently and we had that experience in Morocco, but this property maps and coordinates provided false - large discrepancies, so we had to ask local for the help. It’s unpleasant because they are rude and ask for this job much more than they deserves. Riad is in dead end of street, so reach it escorted by five strangers is scary.
Inside is cosy, calm fairy tail world. Nice stuff! Lovely interior design and all moroccan decor details and colours. Room very tiny, but clean, cosy.
We spent three weeks in Morocco and this was the last stop, so I can compare it with other places we've stayed - good place, warm stuff, but nothing exceptional i think for the next time I would look for other place, but I can't say nothing particularly bad about this riad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was nice but we had a couple issues upon arrival. First, we had booked based on the room size as listed on the website we used and the number they gave was 474 ft. The actual room size ended up being half that, which I still struggle to understand. Aditionally, they had put us in a room not the one we booked and after talking to the owner who was probably in her chateau in France when we spoke on the phone, she gave us our room the next morning. I don't know how they can give a size that is not the actual size of the room and claim to include a kitchen and other ammenities in the room descritption. We should have known that it was too good to be true as riad rooms in Marrakesh are usually holes in the wall and to get 474, you'd have to book at the palatial hotel. Aside from the city being an overwhelming experience and the people being complete grabby and annoying at times, coming back to the quiet riad was nice after having been torn to shreds by Medina sellers and tattoo ninjas. Thanks Hana for everything. Just make sure to get the booking right.
All in all, if you want the exotic riad experience, this place is great for a good price. Otherwise, with the madness of the suks and the stink in the square, I'll probably stay outside the Medina next time just to be able to escape the rude comments by the locals (they didn't think we spoke both their languages) and the tight walkways that can get to you after a week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a lovely stay at riad Lila. Riad is in the middle of the medina but once you enter the riad it is quiet and very nice decorated. Hannah was such a nice women who made our stay really comfortable and she was always helpfull and friendly. Breakfast at the roof terrace was great, nice views and you could ask for anything. Our room was really nice, two seperate beds and it was clean. We stayed our first night in the other riad while lila was overbooked but this was no problem. We would definately recommend this riad to others. They also organized our airport transfer (eur 40 retour) which we would recommed to do while the riad may be hard to find yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Unexpectedly there was dinner waiting for us on our arrival (we arrived after 8 pm) as Hannah thought we might be tired after our trip - she was right, we were very grateful and it was well worth the 10 euros per head. All our rooms were comfortable and very clean. There was plenty to eat for our breakfasts which we were able to have on the roof terrace in the morning sunshine. This Riad is ideally situated only a few hundred metres away from the Jamma el Fna market square and souks. Hannah was extremely helpful in arranging minibuses for our trips out to the Atlas mountains where we visited Berber villages and had guided walks. Being a large group we had to synchronise our shower times as water pressure seemed to be a problem particularly for the room at the top. Unfortunately we were unable to pay by credit card as the machine wasn't working.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a good standard, comfortable and clean. An ideal base for our group of 12 as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The manager was fantastic he could not do enough
The weather in feb is not good very cold and wet
Only go if you can barter well, with everything.
Never go to the tanneries keep well away
I ma glad I have been but will never return ,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this Riad based on the photos and reviews on here. And we were not disappointed.
I had read warnings about being harassed from the taxi door by people wanting to show you the way to your hotel. We had this, that said I don't think we would have found the place otherwise! It is well hidden down several small alleys. Once we knew the way, we were fine getting in and out though.
On arrival we were given mint tea, before being shown up to our beautiful and spotless room.
Breakfast is a table filled with more food than you could ever hope to eat, at whatever time you roll out of bed.
The staff are always smiling and happy to help as best they can. Their English is not great, but better than my French or Arabic, so I can't complain.
Going in November it wasn't really the weather for spending any time on the terrace, while it wasn't cold it certainly wasn't sunbathing weather. But I did have a quick look up there, and I imagine it would be great in the summer evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lila

Address: Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.