We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean and VERY helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lila

Save Saved
You added Riad Lila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Lila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #588 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well located, clean and VERY helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

As arranged an efficient, friendly taxi driver picked me up from the airport. The porter (take €3 for him) was friendly and pleasant. When I arrived I was given mint tea and shown my room. For the price it was a decent room and clean. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets but the outer blanket could have done with a little attention. However the staff are extremely helpful and showed such care and compassion for my girlfriend when she fell ill.

The Riad is bright, clean and very well located just a stones throw from the Jammaa el Fna square and all the souks. Although it is down a maze of alleys that, once you realise is the norm in the area, lose their intimidation. The excellent location means no noise at night and you can walk to many attractions and drop off all the fake fossils and crystals you've bought in the markets!

I highly recommend this Riad, they go the extra mile to help you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Although they will help you find a room in town if you just turn up and they have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked this based on photos and location and the photos are very true to the appearance of the Riad and the location was superb as it is just 5 minutes walk away from Jammaa el Fna square, down a side street so there is no noise or disturbance from outside to be heard inside the Riad. Imane communicated very well with us via email and she arranged a private car to collect us from the airport and take us back - which was very pleasant and ran very smoothly.
The Riad was lovely and comfortable. The room was of lovely decor and the surroundings were lovely. We ate breakfast on the terrace every morning which is served whenever you get up (which is great) and although it is a basic mix of bread, jam and pancakes it was all very fresh and clean. Also fresh orange juice, filter coffee and tea were served. In addition to this, the Riad offers complementary WiFi to its guests which works suprising well considering the city you are in!
The reason I am giving my rating 4 stars instead of 5 is that the staff did not speak hardly any English and communication was difficult. A couple of days into our stay the bathroom light blew and it did not get fixed for the remainder of our stay, although we did try and tell them and point..etc... I used Google Translate for French which came in handy a lot. Another thing everytime we asked the girl there to recommend something for us, such as where to go they just kept promoting their own things (for example; you ask about Taxi prices and they will tell you they have a driver - which will most likely be more expensive) rather then giving us a choice and information regarding where to go and taxis etc was next to nil so if you stay here you must do your homework first.
We ate at the Riad one night as outside is SO noisy and dirty and a tourist trap (hence the short stay - 5 days is much too long). The food was nice however, bearing in mind the economy of the country it was a little overpriced for what it was. They charged 15 EURO per person. It was a nice break though from the noisy rough and tumble of outside.
Be aware that you can hear internal noise within the Riad. The glass on the windows is very thin and if people are walking around or when the family wake up it is possible to hear them (and they can hear you)!
There is a plunge pool in the Riad though we did not feel enticed to use it as it was right outside the family home on the 3rd floor so for us personally, we would have felt akward sitting there in full view of the host family, although it looked clean and well kept.
Despite all this for a 3 day stay in Marrakech the Riad is perfect as it provides a comfortable base for your trip

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We recently stayed at Riad Lila. The first night, we were told that our room was not available as there was no running water. They offered to put us up in another Riad. We accepted. When we got to the square, the transport that was to pick us up was not there, although we had spoken with them a few minutes before and were told it would be waiting. We used another transport to get to Riad Lila. There was construction going on so we have to carry our bags over boards that were covering a large whole in the street. Once we got there, we had to carry our bags again over the hole in the street to the other Riad (Riad 2 Doors), which was lovely. We went back to Raid Lila for dinner (which was served 45 minutes after we were told it would be ready) and saw that all of the rooms were occupied—the water story was a fabrication to cover an overbooking. After our one night at the Riad 2 Doors, we were told our room would be available at Riad Lila at noon. We arrived the next day at 12:30 only to be told that our room would not be ready until 3:00. Then, when it came time to check out we were told that they would not accept credit cards (they list credit cards as a payment method on their website) and would need to pay cash. We needed to make our flight so had to come up with the money right then! To say that this was a low spot in an otherwise wonderful trip would be an understatement.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Riad is stunningly peaceful inside and is such a welcomed environment after experiencing the craziness Marrakech has to offer. The room was wonderfully decorated and set up. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and breakfast on the top of the roof was lovely. The only drawback to the riad is its location. The riad is located in a quiet street in the back streets of Marrakech. It is difficult to find at first and while we never felt unsafe, we never really felt safe walking down the alley with a few blind corners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010 via mobile

After arriving in the madina late at night we made our way through the chaotic maze of streets completly dumbstruck to whatvwe would find at the other end, however our fears were un founded. Riad lila completly blew us away, the staff are very atentive and are always smiling, they always seem to be working keeping the riad looking as beautiful as it does. The rooms were very clean and very traditional there were a subtle reminder to where we actuly were because the tranquility of the riad was at opposites to the chaotic yet exciting streets of the madina. Th breakfast was simple ajd continental but nice all the same, but the evening meals which are prepared on request were quite spectacular and wine was served which is a rarity in the old madina. The only trouble we had was the language barrier as english isnt a secod langiage instead it trails behind arabic and french in turms of use, this made communication difficult with the staff but still added to our expeeience no end. I would greatly recomend this riad to all and any who arevlooking to stay comfortably yet traditionly while in marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lila

Address: Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lila 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.