We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sadaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sadaka to your Saves list
Riad Sadaka
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sidi Ahmed Soussi, Derb Talmoudi 34 | A 30 Metres du Restaurant Yacout a Bab Doukala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoughts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just got back from our stay in Marrakech I have mixed emotions about the city and riad,,the room we had was clean and tidy ,but I would have liked to have had the bed changed not just made,the attention to detail is perfect it's a shame this isn't one of those details.we got there in the morning and was greeted by a happy smiling manager and were taken to our room,we decided to go out and was given directions,we were stopped at one point and told we were staying at the riad and his mother worked there,this is a common con,to cut a long story short this man who said Allah was telling him to help guide us demanded 400dh and left us in the middle of nowhere,this is what the locals do to earn money but if seen by police can face prison time of two days mmmm. We got back to the riad annoyed that we had been hassled and that is putting it lightly to this they said nothing just that they were only responsible for anything happening in the riad,not very comforting.this was the first day and mustn't put you off but be warmed you will be constantly hassled and most don't want to be helpful,they want your money. The night market is amazing full of smells and sights of all kinds some not all good,the leather goods are amazing and so many colours and choice,if you don't like haggling this is not the place for you,if so go to the indoor cooperative which has fixed prices and are ll polite and friendly and the items are beautiful and very well made,the henna lady there is also very good .we ate at a few places but found the pizzeria at the islane hotel to be one of the best,it is reasonably priced and good food and the staff are all helpful,I've seen bad reviews about this place but you take as you find we were polite and friendly and they were in return.Aziz our waiter went above and beyond the call of duty and the owner is lovely and very hands on and is never to busy to chat,for us the perfect place to eat. It is a city of beauty,poverty,and great wealth,there are beggars everywhere and the women with babies tug at the heart,one particular woman held a baby girl and sat next to her was her son in a wheelchair about 7 with cerebral palsy this broke my heart,there's no nhs here ,we gave to her many times and gave water,saying that we gave to many beggars,what's the point of having if you can't share . The young lad at the riad is very helpful,always smiling and works very hard he is happy to chat to you and help with any advice and I'm pleased to say we have a friend in him,he is an asset to the riad. It is a Muslim country but few tourists respect the culture,women should cover shoulders neck area and legs which I did even though it was lovely suntan weather I felt I should be respectful to the place I was visiting but many wear little clothing it's up to the individual. We went for a culture holiday and that's what we got,the people can be lovely and then some can be a hassle,the smells are mixed some good some toilet like,the goods you can buy are worth every penny,they are a hard working country and even though I'm not sure I'd go again,I'm glad we went for the week ......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stratford-upon-avon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of April. Marrakech is a busy and hectic place, and I'm sure many choose a hotel thinking it is better... My advice would be to choose a riad, and this riad is excellent, if you want to really experience the culture of marrakech. At first it is a little difficult to find and it is a little off putting that whenever you stop and look at a map, someone will try to show you the way and charge you for doing so! But Isam was so helpful, downloading google maps for me to my phone so we could always find where we were. With google maps and a good guidebook that had detailed maps of each area, finding where to go was not too hard after the first couple of days. Look confident and walk with purpose!!! Chantelle arranged a guide for the first day so we saw all the main sites and Adil took us on an excursion to a Berber village and the waterfalls, taking us through countryside with fantastic views of the Atlas Mountains. He even took time to take us to the Menara Gardens on the way back and was happy to wait and we wandered at our leisure. Isam spent time with us every evening and made us feel like part of a family, talking about his culture and answering many questions for us. We returned to the uk exhausted as marrakech really is a very full on city, but our time there was much more enjoyable due to this riad and the excellent staff!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadSadaka, Gérant at Riad Sadaka, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
The pleasure of welcoming you back among us during another trip.
We send you our best regards.
Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Riad is beautiful, it is like a sanctuary after being around busy Marrakech. The rooms are tastefully decorated and contained everything we needed. There is a lovely roof terrace to relax on after a busy morning. Staff were very helpful giving directions, recommendations for restaurants and booking taxis. The location of the Riad isn't ideal, but as long as you have good navigational skills it's fine; about a 10minute walk from the top of the Souks. Breakfast is included and was ok, often we had to ask for top-ups of items as it had run out. But basic selection of breads, jams, pancakes, OJ & yoghurts (some fruit would have been nice). We arranged a return airport transfer through the Riad which was 25 Euros. The Riad only accepts card payments over 1000 dirhams, so bring some cash if you have any extras to pay for. Overall this Riad was a great base for the weekend and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a window/balcony overlooking the Riad centre which are lovely and sunny e.g. Wafa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Beautiful little sanctuary in the heart of the busy and bustling Medina district. The entire Riad is decorated and maintained with the utmost taste in all aspects -- decoration, art, music, and scents. Every single one of the staff members were extremely friendly and warm, going out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay for everyone. On the morning of our flight, Chantal woke up at 4 am to serve us breakfast and see us off... something we were not expecting at all.
The only downside to this lovely Riad could be its location. The Medina is a little intricate and the streets are not well-labelled. Chantal and Adil were great with explaining routes to make it simple, but I could see why it could be difficult for some. My navigation skills are good so my mum and I were fine, and my other friends who stayed here had Google Maps with them at all times, but for those with poor navigational skills or who prefer convenience over quaintness, this factor should be considered.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadSadaka, Gérant at Riad Sadaka, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
I thank you from the deepest of my heart for this lovely review.
So thank you so everything you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. We wish you all the best. Take good care of you.
You are home at Riad Sadaka
Adil Benabbou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from a few days away in marrakech. The staff could not have been any more friendly. From the gorgeous breakfast each morning , to the stunning beauty that is the riad with the most helpful staff. Chantal was great at organising excursions and recommending things to do and showing us how to get around. She even joined us for a drink when we made friends with the other guests. Adil was equally great, picking us up from the airport, showing us how to get to the shops and being a great travel guide when we went to ourika valley and oukaimden mountain (where he also had to be our translator). I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone and will 100% be making a reappearance in the not so distant future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadSadaka, Gérant at Riad Sadaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
A great thank you for your review about your stay at our house. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the charm, decoration and services during these few days at the Riad Sadaka. We are waiting for your next trip. Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralejo, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Chantal the owner couldnt do enough to help, from recommending excursions and helping arrange them, providing food and drinks, being a tour guide, she really went above and beyond.
She gave us a map and directions to anywhere we wanted to go. Even led us to a restuarant one night and if we ever got lost she told us to phone her and she would get us back. A gorgeous Riad in a great location and an absolute bargain. Highly highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mawes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just arrived recently from the holiday.We really enjoyed every minutes.The riad staff were very friendly and helpful,especially Adil!We had a dinner when we arrived!The couscous was lovely,the portion was huge,the service was great!The riad in the medina can be found,onto 15 minutes from the Djema El-Fna and Koutoubia minaret.First day we lost,but we got a map, how we can find the way back.The breakfast was nice as well,definetly the fresh orange juice,brad and pancake.It was a separate joy that the staff spoke in English.In most restaurants and hammam where we were in Marrakech ,they did not speak even one word!There is wi-fi also.Chantal the owner was very kind,especially when I asked packaged breakfast to the next-day excursion and when I ran out of the "drink"...Summed up the riad a quiet little oasis in the souk's mad forest!I just want to recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sadaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sadaka

Address: Sidi Ahmed Soussi, Derb Talmoudi 34 | A 30 Metres du Restaurant Yacout a Bab Doukala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sadaka 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us in the heart of Marrakech in a charming location, where a friendly and professional staff will welcome you at Riad Sadaka! Join us and find relaxation at Riad Sadaka, the riad of friendship! The double room ZENOBIA has joined the contingent of Riad Sadaka; we have now 6 rooms available including 3 doubles, 2 twin and 1 triple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Sadaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sadaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.