We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamboo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Bamboo to your Saves list
Riad Bamboo
Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't fault the Riad or its staff. Sonia welcomed us and provided us with maps, recommendations and advice for our few days in Marrakech, the staff were brilliant and couldn't have done more to help us from organising pool days at out of town hotels, to early breakfasts on the day of our departure. We stayed in the smallest room on the ground floor and its was perfect, only occasionally was there noise from other guests sitting outside our window but I suppose that this is one of the downsides to being in a Riad. Given how close it is to the main square in Marrakech, there was no noise from outside at all!
The roof terrace was great for sunbathing and the plunge pool very much needed at times!
Breakfasts were great and the meal that we had in the Riad was the best food that we had in Marrakesh! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    47
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
138
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from our stay at Riad Bamboo (6th/13th Jul 2013) and we must say it has been simply amazing!The propriety is 2min waliking distance from Djeema El Fna but as you walk in it seems to be miles and miles away from everything!The Riad itself is very tastefully furnished,especially the quiet patio with its tiny swimming pool which is just what you need to find after an entire day of souks wandering!Our room was spacious and so charming,in perfect Berber style (fyi AC is in each room and works perfectly)
Breakfast is served in the patio or on the rooftop terrace at you choice. Every morning some good homemade food and a fresh orange juice...Yummi!!!
Sonia,Simon and Ibrahim are simply brilliant. They gave us some good advices which just made our stay perfect. We want to truly thank you all for the outmost assistance and help you gave us...we appreciated it so much!Last but least one comment on the city...you will just fall in love with her!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this Riad. Despite being in the heart of town near the market, it was a very relaxed place and we were warmly welcomed by the excellent staff. Facilities were excellent. Sonia and the rest of the staff gave us some useful tips on activities and restaurants. The wi-fi can be a bit patchy though, especially on the roof terrace. Would recommend an airport transfer on arrival as well, it can be quite difficult to find if you don't know your way around the side streets!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When me and my girlfriend got out from the taxi, we were shocked that we are staying in that area. It was midday and the markets were heaving with people trying to sell us stuff with the heat beating down on us. Eventually we found the Riad (apartment) and we were amazed. Its something you would not expect in that area. Its quite basic and the room we were in was the best room, however the bath was just an open floor. Therefore its defiantly different from what you would expect. Ideal for a couple looking for a new experience. Seymour and Brahim (staff members) made it an excellent stay for us. If you are looking to be in the heart of the Old Town then this would be an excellent place to stay, Just do your research on the rooms first. Twenty minute walk to the New Town strip, fifteen minute walk to the Spice Suk. Taxi should cost you nothing more then 100 dirham’s. Before booking, confirm the tourist tax rates per night. That silly tax does exist but can vary. Lastly, if its your first time going to Marrakech then bargin for everything, especially in the markets and taxis. General rule of thumb is by 2.5 i.e taxi driver may quite 250 dirhams however it should be 100. Have fun.

Room Tip: Pool side view room is quite good. But the bedroom is visable to the shower. Therefore it works for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Riad Bamboo in Marrakech and cannot thank Sonia, Simon and Brahim enough, as well as the 2 ladies, 'chef' and the 'chamber maid' who's names we cannot remember though we were introduced on arrival.
We found the Riad Bamboo via Trip Advisor when we looking to stay in Marrakech and the reviews were impressive and, as it turns out, very accurate. We did a tour of Morocco earlier this year, and in Marrakech we stayed in a modern hotel on the outskirts of town, so were looking for something much more personal, friendly and in the middle of everything.
Sonia and Simon met us in the Djemaa el Fnaa on arrival and took us on the 2 minute walk through the souk to the Riad. This was very useful as there are no accurate maps of the medina area that we have ever found and whilst it is very easy to find once you know, I think we would have struggled without that help initially. For the benefit of other travellers, it is on a small side street just off one the main roads off the north east corner of the square, so navigation back to your Riad is simple.
Despite being absolutely in the middle of the souk areas, the Riad is quiet, calm and a little haven in the hubbub. Beautiful, traditionally styled decor in the usual Moroccan style of being built around a central courtyard and all the rooms overlook the courtyard.
Sonia, Simon and Brahim were perfect hosts, ever helpful and attentive without being too obsequious, as can be the case in some bigger hotels - you were made to feel part of the family and thats exactly what this is, a 'family home' where the family just happens to change faces on a regular basis.
Breakfasts were perfect, various Moroccan pancakes, Sonias own homemade jams, homemade yoghurt, fresh french bread, freshly squeezed orange juice [not watered down], and teas or coffee. We also had dinner in the Riad on our first evening and it was simply superb, very high quality.
The rooms are not huge, but plenty big enough for couples to enjoy a relaxing time and act as a base for exploring this amazing city, especially if you plan on doing it on foot. Each is decorated individually but all are tastefully done. We stayed in 'Rubis' and were delighted anew each time we stepped through the door, our own little bit of tranquility in a mad, bustling city.
The roof terrace is also a perfect spot to just sit and chill out as well as eating up there if you want to. In May the temperatures are already up in the mid to late 20's during the day, so breakfast on the terrace was a must do!
You will get some noise from the street, especially during the evening when Moroccans 'come out to play', but despite our room being on the street side of the riad, we never found the noise intrusive enough to stop us sleeping, it was merely a gentle reminder that you are in the middle of a busy city.
On our last day, before leaving for the airport, we had booked a Hamman in the Riad [they have their own], which was truly an amazing experience. A full Moroccan 'bath' and massage, cannot recommend this highly enough, a great way to finish our holiday.
Overall, a truly brilliant place to stay and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are great, but avoid Rose des Sables if you don't want to be on the ground floor imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent four great nights from 21st April in this wonderful Riad which ticks all the right boxes, stylish decor,spotless clean and peaceful.A relaxing place to be.
Sonia a perfect owner and hostess with good recommendations for trips etc.. Staff a delight Simon and Aziz extremely helpfull,and made our stay special. We had two memorable dinners on the rooftop which were delicious, thank you Nadia.
Hopefully can visit again as so special.

Room Tip: Our room was the Rubin Room it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fantastic central location and outstanding value for money. The rooms were tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Staff all went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.
Would highly recommend as a perfect romantic retreat for any couple looking to explore a vibrant city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamboo

Address: Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the detour of the derb Hejra , Riad Bamboo is ideally located into the heart of the medina, street Dabachi really nearby of the famous place Djema El Fna.Sonia & Frédéric as well as their team will be very pleased to welcome you for a deserved moment of zen attitude after the turmoil of the souks.Bamboo gets 5 lovely rooms with charming and traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamboo Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bamboo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;