We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful riad with lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamboo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Bamboo to your Saves list
Riad Bamboo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, helpful riad with lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from 4 days in Marrakech where my husband and I stayed at Riad Bamboo. It was an absolute pleasure to stay at this charming Riad, we were incredibly well looked after by Sonia and her lovely staff and wanted for nothing. The room was spotless, the bed incredibly comfortable, and the riad just has a really calming, friendly atmosphere which of course is just what is required to escape from the wonderful madness outside. We had a fantastic hammam at the riad, a very special experience which gives you the silkiest skin imaginable, and massage. Special thanks to Simo, assistant manager, who looked after us magnificently. Perfect location 5 minutes from Djemma el Fna. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you riad bamboo!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hospitality as it should be, food as it should be and a great location.
In the heart of it all a few minutes away from the sqaure you feel liek you are living with the locals.
If you dont like noise then try not to stay on the ground floor as some guests can be noisy at breakfast or dinner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikathrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Bamboo 4 nights. Bamboo is a very nice place and central, rooms are very comfortable and clean. Terrace is nice, but the weather was too cold to use it a lot. The existing hamam and offered massages I can recommend.
The atmosphere and people are very nice and especially Simon is admirable and client oriented.
Why not 5 stars? The rooms and Riad is clearaudient and therefore you don´t really have privacy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMunich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My friend and i have travelled for many years but this was our first relaxing holiday away from partners, children and businesses. Everything was perfect, Sonia, Frederic, Simone and all the staff, the breakfasts and evening meals, and Moroccan wines, the roof terrace was great even in the rain.
The rooms were clean and plush, even the 5am call to prayer was slept through after the first night.
Airport transfers and all trips were organised with little fuss and were reasonably priced.
The best thing for me was the Hamman and the massage 1.75 hours of pure indulgence.
We loved the bustling Djamma El Fna, alleys and Souks and never felt threatened, maybe a little daunted on the first night but we were looked after very well.
We would certainly recommend Riad Bamboo.
P.S
Simo please look after the bees at breakfast time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I just spent three days with Riad Bamboo and were very pleased with everything. The location is excellent and, as advertised, only a three minute walk from the Jemaa El Fna. Upon arrival we were greeted by Sonia and Simone, her house assistant, and given hot sweet mint tea and pastries to welcome us to her Riad. At all times the staff was excellent, kind, and very helpful...especially Aziz, who was so nice I wanted to take him home with me! Our room, although not large by US standards, was comfortable, very nicely decorated, and upscale in design. It had a dyed concrete bath tub and concrete walls with a really cool etched design in them that reminded me more of New York than Morocco. The large bay window opened up to look down into the interior courtyard. The bed and pillow were also very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well! A very filling breakfast was served on the roof where you could watch the sunrise (or sunset), birds, and listen to the city...most enjoyable! Sonia's husband Frederick picked us up and returned us to the airport which I recommend as it helps you get situated immediately before you head out to the Jemaa. Aziz helped us confirm our return airplane reservations via internet and his personal phone. Sonia and Frederick have spent a lot of time and money making Riad Bamboo a very comfortable and enjoyable place to stay. I would gladly stay there again and recommend you give them consideration when staying in Marrakesh. RM 14/09/2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsjg911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 as the Riad appealed to me over any of the fancy hotels around the area. I was advised to stay outside of the Old Town as it can be noisy however Riad Bamboo is perfect as it quiet and welcoming and yet you are in the City Centre. The breakfast is lovely and just what you need to set you up for the day. Frederic is a star and will happily give you plenty of information on where to visit. He even borrowed an Iphone charger as a favour to me. Thanks again Frederic. I would also suggest getting the taxi transfer that the Riad can arrange for you, as it takes the pain away from trying to locate the street on your arrival.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorcan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Sonia is the perfect riad owner who pops in to greet guests and chat but leaves the day to day running to Simo and the girls who we can't praise highly enough. Never intrusive but always on hand for anything you need. The food (and wine!) is delicious and the place is spotlessly clean. The riad is perfectly located and easy to find and has been sympathetically restored to a high standard with modern amenities but has kept all the charm you crave. It has its own hamman and spa with reasonably priced beauty treatments so you can really relax after a day in the square!! The roof terrace is just perfect for lounging around in the sun or dining and the dipping pool is a welcome relief. The tour guide we arranged through Simo was brilliant and took us to the mountain villages for the day which was well worth the 90€ as he was a mine of information and humour. Marrakech is a world away in so many ways but you will feel completely at home in this beautiful riad. It is now the only riad for us. Thank you to everyone at Riad Bamboo who made our stay the highlight of our holiday. X

Room Tip: All beautiful but would be advisable to opt for one on the second floor unless you're an early r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookieweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Oasissime
Riad Oasissime
#122 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#119 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#127 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#75 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamboo

Address: Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the detour of the derb Hejra , Riad Bamboo is ideally located into the heart of the medina, street Dabachi really nearby of the famous place Djema El Fna.Sonia & Frédéric as well as their team will be very pleased to welcome you for a deserved moment of zen attitude after the turmoil of the souks.Bamboo gets 5 lovely rooms with charming and traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamboo Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing