We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Middle of the Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamboo

Save Saved
You added Riad Bamboo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bamboo
Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Oasis in the Middle of the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Two mates and myself recently stayed at the Riad Bamboo, in the heart of the Medina, for 4 nights in May 2012. This isn't your traditional Riad, in that, it has been modernized with all the amenities required to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Yet at the same time, it has kept much of the old world charm in its decor successfully mixing old and new in a way that makes traveling away from home transparent.

From the initial contact with Sonia, two months before our travel, right through the duration of our stay, Simon was exceptionally attentive to our needs; including organizing a trip into the desert, suggesting restaurants and being flexible to our changing morning schedule for serving breakfast each day. This Riad has everything you need to make your visit to the city pleasurable. I would suggest that if you use the hotel to book any trips outside of the Marrakech ensure you provide details of the language you want your guide to speak; we had a French guide, which made communication a bit difficult at times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    46
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
131
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Riad Bamboo for four nights. Stepping into the riad from the hectic streets of the medina was like stepping into another world. The rooms are nice and a great breakfast was served either in the courtyard or on the roof. All the staff are very helpful and eager to attend to your every need, especially Simone. My only suggestion for improvement would be to jack up the power on the WiFi server. It seemed only to work if within a short distance of the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at Riad Bamboo.What a beautiful oasis in busy Marrakech!
Thanks to Sonia,Frederic and their dedicated staff I felt so special.There is so much good energy in this place!
The Riad is beautifully and tastefully decorated,very clean and with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!
The location is perfect,just minutes from the main square and the souks.
When I arrived Simo welcomed me wth traditional Moroccan fresh mint tea and cute pastries.Simo was always so helpful,friendly and polite.I felt like a Moroccan princess :-)
I had a Hammam and massage which was great and soooo relaxing!
I loved having breakfast in the court yard,listening to relaxing arabic music in the background and seeping my morning coffee...perfection!

To sum up - I felt in love in Morocco and I felt in love in Riad Bamboo X

Maggie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Riad Bamboo in the Medina for 3 nights in April. I can think of only two negative comments:
It was difficult to find the first time. We came to Marrakech on a bis from Agadir so weren't transferring from the airport and got a taxi which couldn't take us all the way to the Riad due to its proximity to the main square (Djeema el fna) so we have to find it ourselves. Ended up having to pay a local boy 20Dh to show us the way!
Also, the shower is not separate from the room. In our (downstairs) room, the only separation from the shower to the bed was a small wall (if you were walking around in the room you would see the other person in the shower).

The plus points, however assively outweigh the negatives! It was very clean, quiet and welcoming. Sonia, the owner, greeted us warmly and looked after us very well. Rooms were very stylish, staff were all very helpful, breakfast in the mornings on the terrace were lovely and the Hammam offered through the Riad was fabulous! Really very good.

All in all, this was a very satisfying stay and I would thoroughly recommend Sonia's Riad Bamboo to anyone looking for a bit of tranquility in Morocco.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room (there are only 5 rooms!) which was probably one of the most private ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Riad Bamboo. It provided us with a welcoming escape from the
noise and traffic that is Marrakech. Sonia & Frederic have found some lovely staff especially Soni. what a lovely young man to welcome us for our stay. Always polite & with a smile. given a map and good advice. Are arrangments included transfer from the airport a must for any new tourist to Marrakech. We also had a lovely meal on the roof terrace under the stars.Also some nice wine with our meal. Nothing to much trouble.We had no trouble returning to the Riad during the day. Thankyou to Sonia & team a lovely personal experiance.

Room Tip: as Riads are historical old buildings dont expect all modern additions. no phones or tv in rooms. bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Rid Bamboo and would definitely recommend it. We stayed in the suite which was spacious and clean. The breakfast on the terrace made for a great start to the day and as other people have mentioned Semo was a great help during our stay

The only negatives I can think of was that we booked a tour through the Riad to the Ourika valley but weren't made aware of any extra costs and had to pay for a guide that was quite expensive at 200MAD for just over an hour. And also the Riad could be a little noisy from kids in the street and other guests but this is to be expected from a Riad

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have just returned from 12nights in Morocco,the last 3 nights of which was spent at the Riad Bamboo Marrakech ,It was the perfect Oasis.Sonia the owner and all her staff were absolutely delightful and nothing was to much trouble.The rooms were Authentic Morroc style beautifully and sympathetically designed ,very clean and very comfortable .Breakfast was served either in the tranquility of the court yard by the swimming pool or on the spacious roof terrace,both ideal for that relaxing breakfast before a busy day of sight seeing and shopping.The Riad is situated down one of the many labyrinths of paths and narrow roads and you wonder where you are going but believe me its worth it.The other upside is its location its only 5 mins walk from the square ,shops, markets, souks and restaurants.We would not hesitate in staying here again 10/10 and we wish Sonia and here Family all the very best for them and there wonderful Riad. Mark and Keith

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamboo

Address: Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the detour of the derb Hejra , Riad Bamboo is ideally located into the heart of the medina, street Dabachi really nearby of the famous place Djema El Fna.Sonia & Frédéric as well as their team will be very pleased to welcome you for a deserved moment of zen attitude after the turmoil of the souks.Bamboo gets 5 lovely rooms with charming and traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamboo Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bamboo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.