We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Souad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Souad to your Saves list
Riad Souad
19 Derb Abdelwasaa | Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Den Haag
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recently we had a wonderful stay in Riad Souad. Gerard and Nathalie make you feel at home in their stylish accommodation. They have given us guidance in Marrakech and they were kind enough to join us a few times on our way to the centre. They gave us good tips for restaurants. Thanks by the enthusiasm of Gerard we fortunately visited the wonderful garden of Majorelle. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace. It was real paradise in Riad Souad!

Room Tip: De kamer vlakbij het terras is prachtig
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed with Nathalie and Gerard for six nights in June this year. They were very friendly, but not intrusive. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they had a great sense of humour.

My only niggle was that I would have liked some fruit with breakfast. We eventually bought our own fruit. Probably, we should have asked. They still rate five stars.

Room Tip: The top floor with the terrace , bar and plunge pool is to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riad during our honeymoon in November 2010 (I know, late review). The place is just lovely and Nathalie was so incredibly helpful. Total bargain and just beautifully decorated. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in Jasmine and Ambre rooms for three days (26 - 29 dec, 2012) during our first trip to Marrakech. The rooms are very well decorated and were very clean (they clean the rooms every morning). The riad also has nice decorated patio and cool terrace.

Nathalie and Gerard were very friendly and nice. They gave us the most valuable tip: the Toubkal restaurant, a nice and cheap restaurant (was there three days in a row)

The riad was pretty close to Jamaa el Fna (less then 10 mnts walking). However, might be a bit difficult to find the riad for the first time during the night. But they do have noticeable sign to direct you to the door.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there, and would love to recommend this riad to everyone who wants to visit Marrakech. This riad really offer a good value!

Room Tip: Ambre and Jasmine are both pretty spacious. Both are great for couples. Ambre room has windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay with Gerard and Nathalie in their wonderfully kept Riad. The house is very authentic and off the trodden path, but by no means far away from the action of the Medina. We stayed in their Santal Chambre, which is a beautifully decorated well sized bedroom with direct roof access. Nathalie and Gerard are very friendly hosts and were always helpful, when we had questions. The breakfast is an extended version of a french petite dejeuner and kept us well on our feet until mid-day. We would thoroughly recommend this house and come back at any time.

Room Tip: We were very happy with their flagship room Santal! It might get hot in the summer, but you have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have been really well welcomed, Nathalie and Gérard are really nice and helpfull and do not bother you if you want to rest or be ndependant : you have a key so you can go and come anytime, the room was very nice and clean, we enjoyed particularly the sun on the roof !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Best to request the airport pick up, as the place is not easy to find. We loved the rooms, small but beautiful, however the roof top terrace at 5 in the morning was worth staying at this cozy Riad.
It is centrally located for those who want to explore the old Marrakesh on foot. However make sure to bring the small map that the owner will draw for you and remember the visual cues, as getting around will not be easy for those who are unaccustomed to irregular, curvy streets and alleys.
Do not forget your basic greetings in french and do not be afraid! We walked around at night and we were never threatened, even though it gets plenty dark and the street lights are not so many.
If you speak good french, you will have the pleasure to communicate with the hosts, a friendly couple, who will be glad to point you in the right direction of whatever you would like to see in Marrakesh.
I highly recommend taking a day guide or a day trip to some of the beautiful nature in the vicinity. We loved Rough Tours, they did a great job!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Souad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Souad

Address: 19 Derb Abdelwasaa | Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Souad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Souad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.