We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Souad

Save Saved
You added Riad Souad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Souad
19 Derb Abdelwasaa | Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riad during our honeymoon in November 2010 (I know, late review). The place is just lovely and Nathalie was so incredibly helpful. Total bargain and just beautifully decorated. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
118
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in Jasmine and Ambre rooms for three days (26 - 29 dec, 2012) during our first trip to Marrakech. The rooms are very well decorated and were very clean (they clean the rooms every morning). The riad also has nice decorated patio and cool terrace.

Nathalie and Gerard were very friendly and nice. They gave us the most valuable tip: the Toubkal restaurant, a nice and cheap restaurant (was there three days in a row)

The riad was pretty close to Jamaa el Fna (less then 10 mnts walking). However, might be a bit difficult to find the riad for the first time during the night. But they do have noticeable sign to direct you to the door.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there, and would love to recommend this riad to everyone who wants to visit Marrakech. This riad really offer a good value!

Room Tip: Ambre and Jasmine are both pretty spacious. Both are great for couples. Ambre room has windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay with Gerard and Nathalie in their wonderfully kept Riad. The house is very authentic and off the trodden path, but by no means far away from the action of the Medina. We stayed in their Santal Chambre, which is a beautifully decorated well sized bedroom with direct roof access. Nathalie and Gerard are very friendly hosts and were always helpful, when we had questions. The breakfast is an extended version of a french petite dejeuner and kept us well on our feet until mid-day. We would thoroughly recommend this house and come back at any time.

Room Tip: We were very happy with their flagship room Santal! It might get hot in the summer, but you have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have been really well welcomed, Nathalie and Gérard are really nice and helpfull and do not bother you if you want to rest or be ndependant : you have a key so you can go and come anytime, the room was very nice and clean, we enjoyed particularly the sun on the roof !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Best to request the airport pick up, as the place is not easy to find. We loved the rooms, small but beautiful, however the roof top terrace at 5 in the morning was worth staying at this cozy Riad.
It is centrally located for those who want to explore the old Marrakesh on foot. However make sure to bring the small map that the owner will draw for you and remember the visual cues, as getting around will not be easy for those who are unaccustomed to irregular, curvy streets and alleys.
Do not forget your basic greetings in french and do not be afraid! We walked around at night and we were never threatened, even though it gets plenty dark and the street lights are not so many.
If you speak good french, you will have the pleasure to communicate with the hosts, a friendly couple, who will be glad to point you in the right direction of whatever you would like to see in Marrakesh.
I highly recommend taking a day guide or a day trip to some of the beautiful nature in the vicinity. We loved Rough Tours, they did a great job!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of Oct 2011 and had a lovely time. The Riad has been beautifully restored and Nathalie and Gérard are wonderful hosts. They organised trips for us, made reservations at a hammam and even walked us to our restaurant when we got lost in the maze of tiny streets. My boyfriend and I would highly recommend this Riad as an affordable but luxurious and tranquil place to stay within the madnes of Marrakech! It definitely helps if you can speak French as Nathalie and Gérard only speak a little English. Breakfast comprised of traditional Moroccan pastries/breads, jam, honey and yogurt as well as a choice of hot drinks and orange juice and is more than adequate and sets you up well for a day's exploring. Would love to return if we ever get the chance. Bisous N&G, from Caroline and Simon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We emailed the riad a couple of months in advance to make a reservation and their responses were always prompt. I was pleased to take advantage of the taxi to and from the airport they offered and also an evening meal on the first night as we were arriving a little late. The pick up from the airport went smoothly – as the medina is only accessible on foot the driver parked a short distance away and so we carried our cases there. We were greeted by Nathalie and Gerard who bought the riad two years ago, having renovated it completely. They were both charming and welcoming and, having been shown our room and a little tour, we were immediately served dinner which was typically Moroccan with three courses and it was delicious. We stayed two nights in the Jasmin room and a further three in the Santal – both were delightfully decorated with private bathrooms. The riad comprises four bedrooms, one of which can be twin or king-size and they all looked lovely. At the top of the riad is a small terrace with a plunge pool (this is where the Santal room is located) and a further terrace above with fabulous views of the whole of the Medina, minarets and the Atlas Mountains. There are some chairs and sun loungers here which we made good use of. As many before me have said Marrakech assaults all the senses and returning to the riad allows you to recover before venturing out again. Breakfast was from 8am-11am which comprised the traditional Moroccan bread, jams, butter and cheese with yoghurt and a different crepe each day which was filling and set you up for the day. Nathalie printed off a map showing us how to get from the riad to the Jemma el Fna square where it all happens! We never got lost coming or going and the map was more than adequate. She also ringed where the main attractions were. We took an excursion to a waterfall in the Atlas Mountains which was excellent and we seem to have made a 20% discount on what others had been charged (thanks Nathalie!) A note of caution, however, these expeditions are not for the elderly or disabled as there was significant climbing involved. Marrakech is very much a “dry” city but there are venues where alcohol is on sale, although it is not readily advertised. Gerard, being true to his country of birth, is more than happy to provide a good and reasonably priced bottle of wine upon request to have either at dinner or on the terrace. I really cannot rate this riad too highly – it is clean and charming, within 10 minutes’ walk of the Jemma El Fna and very conveniently placed for all attractions, as well as allowing you to experience a taste of real life in the Old City. It is very good value all round. We also walked to the New Town in under 40 minutes. Also I must commend Nathalie and Gerard for their hospitality: despite my poor French and my husband’s hand signals they were always cheerful and polite – nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt very much at home. We would certainly stay again and there is no higher praise than that!

Room Tip: All are lovely, but stay in the rooms on the first floor if you are a light sleeper and want to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Souad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Souad

Address: 19 Derb Abdelwasaa | Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Souad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Souad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.