We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven of calm in the madness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Souad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Souad to your Saves list
Riad Souad
19 Derb Abdelwasaa | Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little haven of calm in the madness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of Oct 2011 and had a lovely time. The Riad has been beautifully restored and Nathalie and Gérard are wonderful hosts. They organised trips for us, made reservations at a hammam and even walked us to our restaurant when we got lost in the maze of tiny streets. My boyfriend and I would highly recommend this Riad as an affordable but luxurious and tranquil place to stay within the madnes of Marrakech! It definitely helps if you can speak French as Nathalie and Gérard only speak a little English. Breakfast comprised of traditional Moroccan pastries/breads, jam, honey and yogurt as well as a choice of hot drinks and orange juice and is more than adequate and sets you up well for a day's exploring. Would love to return if we ever get the chance. Bisous N&G, from Caroline and Simon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We emailed the riad a couple of months in advance to make a reservation and their responses were always prompt. I was pleased to take advantage of the taxi to and from the airport they offered and also an evening meal on the first night as we were arriving a little late. The pick up from the airport went smoothly – as the medina is only accessible on foot the driver parked a short distance away and so we carried our cases there. We were greeted by Nathalie and Gerard who bought the riad two years ago, having renovated it completely. They were both charming and welcoming and, having been shown our room and a little tour, we were immediately served dinner which was typically Moroccan with three courses and it was delicious. We stayed two nights in the Jasmin room and a further three in the Santal – both were delightfully decorated with private bathrooms. The riad comprises four bedrooms, one of which can be twin or king-size and they all looked lovely. At the top of the riad is a small terrace with a plunge pool (this is where the Santal room is located) and a further terrace above with fabulous views of the whole of the Medina, minarets and the Atlas Mountains. There are some chairs and sun loungers here which we made good use of. As many before me have said Marrakech assaults all the senses and returning to the riad allows you to recover before venturing out again. Breakfast was from 8am-11am which comprised the traditional Moroccan bread, jams, butter and cheese with yoghurt and a different crepe each day which was filling and set you up for the day. Nathalie printed off a map showing us how to get from the riad to the Jemma el Fna square where it all happens! We never got lost coming or going and the map was more than adequate. She also ringed where the main attractions were. We took an excursion to a waterfall in the Atlas Mountains which was excellent and we seem to have made a 20% discount on what others had been charged (thanks Nathalie!) A note of caution, however, these expeditions are not for the elderly or disabled as there was significant climbing involved. Marrakech is very much a “dry” city but there are venues where alcohol is on sale, although it is not readily advertised. Gerard, being true to his country of birth, is more than happy to provide a good and reasonably priced bottle of wine upon request to have either at dinner or on the terrace. I really cannot rate this riad too highly – it is clean and charming, within 10 minutes’ walk of the Jemma El Fna and very conveniently placed for all attractions, as well as allowing you to experience a taste of real life in the Old City. It is very good value all round. We also walked to the New Town in under 40 minutes. Also I must commend Nathalie and Gerard for their hospitality: despite my poor French and my husband’s hand signals they were always cheerful and polite – nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt very much at home. We would certainly stay again and there is no higher praise than that!

Room Tip: All are lovely, but stay in the rooms on the first floor if you are a light sleeper and want to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in Riad Souad last week, as a couple, for my 40th birthday. Nathalie and Gerard were exceptionally friendly, helpful and accommodating. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, within the heart of Marrakech. A really lovely calm haven! We will return with the family next time. Thank you Nathalie and Gerard.

Room Tip: There is a cockerel living in the neighbourhood; not intrusive, that and the early morning call to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My other half and I have just returned from 4 days in Marrakech staying at the beautiful Riad Souad. Our hosts Gerard and Nathalie were very gracious and so lovely! On arrival we were offered some mint tea and then Gerard accompanied us to the Jemaa el Fna square which only took about 10 minutes to get to. On the way he pointed out a wonderful little pattiserie and another place on the square where to find good but inexpensive meals. We found getting around the Medina was not too difficult actually as we'd been provided a very useful map that highlighted interesting places to visit as well as the path to and from the square. Nathalie showed us around the next day as I had a few things I was interested in buying and she was kind enough to take us around to places she knew where we could get what we were after. The square and surrounds were very noisy and busy but the Riad was the complete antithesis being so peaceful and quiet. Our favourite part of the day was sitting on the terrace at sunset listening to the evening sounds around us. We would highly recommend the Riad and a visit to Marrakech. Will definitely return to both one day!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Santal room which has it's own ensuite bathroom and is right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We arrived to Marrakech late after our trip to the Sahara, our guide called the owner of the Riad Souad and he was waiting for us at one entrance of the Medina. He helped us with our luggage and we followed him to the riad, he was very helpful pointing out key places to remember our way back to the riad. The Riad is about 10 min walk to the Jemma el Fna, it is kind of scary at night, but we had no problems at all. The riad is beautiful, clean, the owners are great. They gave us maps with the main attractions, they guided us again in the morning, they recomended a couple of places to eat, to have a snack, etc. where to buy spices, where to buy gifts. We had the best time. We felt at home. Thank you Nathalie and Gerard.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Wonderful place, the lovely couple who run the Riad brought us breakfast on the terrace every morning, guided us into the centre and taking time to tell us which juice bar or restaurant they would suggest. Beautiful interiors, located within a maze of friendly streets. We will definetly come back! Romantic, fun, cosy, laid back.

Room Tip: choose the room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I booked Riad Souad for a surprise as part of my husbands 40th birthday celebrations and I'm so glad I did.We stayed for 3 nights in November and the weather was amazing - so nice to get away from the English drizzle and find 26 degree sunshine..but more about the Riad......
We normally stay at the big, branded hotels so I was a little unsure of what to expect from a privately owned boutique hotel but the experience was amazing.
Natalie organised the taxi from the airport for us, so no stress there and we when arrived we had mint tea whilst she showed us a map of the area and highlighted the key places to visit (we then kept the map on us at all times to help navigate the little cobbled streets). As if that wasn't enough she then took us on a short tour to make sure we could get to the main square from the hotel - we were so grateful for this as it made our first evening out really pleasant as we were pointed in the direction of some fantastic restaurants and bars. As not everywhere sells alcohol its nice to know where you can have a quick drink if you fancy one.
The Riad has been beautifully restored and is wonderfully calm and cool after the hustle and bustle of the souks. Our room was very pretty and i loved waking up to find the sun coming through the stained glass windows.
Breakfast was something different each day but always freshly made local produce which added to the experience. Whilst we didn't eat dinner at the Riad Natalie did book a fantastic restaurant for us (foundouk) which again was lovely to be given the recommendation given the amount of choice there is.
I'd highly recommend anyone travelling to Marrakech to stay at Riad Souad - Natalie & Gerard are amazing hosts, the Riad is perfectly located to see all the sights as well as being safe, absolutely spotless and hugely restful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Musc room - its a large room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Souad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Souad

Address: 19 Derb Abdelwasaa | Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Souad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Souad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.