We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Absolutely unbeatable - Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newark, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing! Absolutely unbeatable - Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Riad Cinnamon is just beautiful. After booking from their website and being a little unsure if the reality would live up to the photos we were overwhelmed with how beautiful the Riad was when we arrived, it was simply stunning. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The Riad has been renovated to an outstanding level, the rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated in a modern Morrocan style. Air con, fridge, travel adaptor, hairdryer etc all provided in the rooms was great. Also a great touch was the very useful luggage scales provided to aid the Ryanair battle on the way home with luggage weight (we still failed as there was too much amazing shopping to be had!)

The service at the Riad Cinnamon given by Abdou (the manager) is unbeatable, he is there for any queries, helps to book restaurants and trips, organise any whim you may have (ours was camel riding!). On arrival you also receive a very accurate map and directions along with a local mobile phone. The phone is a brilliant touch as if you are ever lost or in need of advice Abdou is always there (his english is brilliant & he is very friendly). The girls that work in the Riad are also brilliant, they are extremely friendly and can do henna tattooing much better than the people in the square. As two women travelling alone we were initially apprehensive about finding our way back to the Riad at night (Marrakech is a maze, but an amazing one) but we needn't have worried as the ever reliable Hassan can guide you at anytime. He even came to meet us from the restaurant the first night to guide us back and ensure we didn't get lost!

We ate one night in the Riad and the food was outstanding, the girls had cooked a beautiful lamb & prune tagine with a morrocan salad starter and lemon cake dessert, all very yummy.

The roof terrace is super relaxing and the perfect spot to sun yourself after a hard mornings shopping!

I can't actually find the words to explain how lovely our 4 days were, only to say that if I could have just moved in and not come back I would have!

Thanks to all at Riad Cinnamon, we will definately be back and highly recommend this Riad to anyone. If you go to Marrakech, stay at the Riad Cinnamon (or the sister Riad Papillion).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We had excelent service and such a warm welcome for our first visit to Morocco. The reviews we had read seemed too good to be true but they were accurate! we loved our stay here and will recommend Cinnamon (and sister Papillon) to anyone we know coming to Marrakech. Thank you all so much!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My partner, Grady and I had the most awesome time celebrating our Honeymoon at Riad Cinnamon. Although it is not particularly promoted on their website as a Honeymoon hotel -it was perfect in every way for us. From our warm welcome by Abdelatif who has almost perfect english to the swan shaped towels adorning our comfortable bed. The staff were quite amazing-discrete but yet attentive. We loved the solarium area on the terrace where there is a little pool that was filled with beautiful red rose petals.
The bed felt a little hard to begin with but we actually had the best sleep we have ever had when travelling away from home. The bedding was silky soft and better than any place i ahev ever been including our own bedding at home! There are so many subtle little touches in this place-the decoration is fantastic-tasteful, traditional and yet clean lines and uncluttered-it has a calming feel to it, the his and hers bathrobes, the little book about love wisdom which we became addicted to and were tempted to steal (but didnt!), the candlelit stairs and most romantic of all the Moroccan Banquet served in the tent with a view of the kutubia mosque.
The breakfast was delicious and the fruit was a welcome bonus as when we had travelled in the rest of Morocco we found the breakfasts a bit stodgy and oily.
The location of the riad is fantastic because it is so close to the action and to the museum of Marrakech which everyone knows. Having said that we did get lost once late at night and we were rescued by the wonderful Yassine who seemed to be quite happy that we had woken him up at 3am in the morning-so thank you thank you thank you for a honeymoon that we will remember forever and ever. We are already planning our Anniversary visit in 2011.
Tips:
We suggest you ask for the list of DVDs as they have dozens but not all are on display. Visit Cafe Arabe for cooking lesson and the most wonderful couples hammam. Visit Esseouirra for a day trip or possible overnight and go surfing or kite boarding-we did this and it was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in Sept 2010, and that was the only problem we had.... we should have stayed for longer. The Riad is an absolute must for any visitor to Marrakesh.

The Service - Outstanding. Abdou and the team go out of their way to help and make you feel at home.

The food - Divine. We only had breakfast but what a breakfast it was! On the roof terrace with the a great selection of the freshest and finest food.

The location - Excellent. No more than 3 mins walk to the Souks and 5 mins to the Main Square. Abdou provides you with a mobile phone so if you need any directions or help you can contact him directly.

The Rooms - Wow! We stayed in the Chefchaouen suite which had air con, mini bar, ipod docking station, twin shower and snug (hidden area with 32 inch plasma, DVD and lots of cushions).

Facilities - are room had great facilities, you wouldnt find such gadgets in most 4 star hotels and the rest of the Riad is no exception. We had full use of the dipping pools, roof top terrace, book library, small DVD library and the small selection of (current) English and French magazines.

This Riad was recommended to me by a Friend and I would most certainly recommend it to anyone else. Marrakesh is a beautiful, vibrant and very busy city - but this Riad provides the perfect tranquil hideaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Cinnamon in early sept 2010. The place is superb. The staff are great too, they cant do enough for you. The Riad is situated in a good place, just north of the Souks.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Only open a few months but run to a really high standard. The accommodation is very comfortable, all 5 rooms decorated with a different Moroccan style, en-suite and air con. Food is typically Moroccan, plentiful, breakfast and evening meal can be served on the roof terrace if you prefer. All the staff are so helpful, and understood my poor French!! Loungers on the terrace have plenty of scope to sunbath or just sit and read, it's very peaceful. Situated in the Medina you don't have far to walk to be in the Souks and main square. Plenty to see, places to go and excursions can be booked through the Manager. I thoroughly recommend the Hammam! All in all a brilliant week exploring Marrakech and beautiful weather.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have just spent two nights at Riad Cinammon, travelling with my 15 year old we had teh Meknes suite. Every detail of this Riad is very well thought through and credit should go to the owners for the standard of the accommodation and interiors. Abdou was a wonderful guardian and looked after all our needs including arranging Taxi's etc... a nice touch is the house mobile that helps you trying to find your way home after a hard days haggling, trust me you will need it...

One small niggle was that the air-conditioning did not have much effect on the overall temperature and we had no hot-water but the two kind of cancelled each other out.

Acid test is that I would stay here again and also recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;