We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Cinnamon a 'must stay place'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riad Cinnamon a 'must stay place'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

To start booking, nice and simple, do take the option of transfers from the hotel well organised with someone to meet you & guide you through the hustle & bustle that is the Medina.
Walking through the door into the Riad the peace is immediate, you are welcomed with mint tea & warmth. The staff are exceptional nothing is to much trouble whether it be to arrange a taxis, restaurants or to bring more mint Tea up to the terrace. Breakfast is good, do have the evening meal on the Terrace the first night, well worth it both in delicious tastes, quality & quantity, the views & atmosphere made the whole experience a night to remember
You are provided with phones to call if you need guidance or to send for Hossein to help you get back to the Riad all very reassuring.
Rooms are wonderfully authentic with all you need and are kept clean & fresh with aroma of essential oils.
This Riad is in a great location to feel the real Marrakech, also to just sit and look at the Atlas Mountains listening to the evocative sounds of life there.
There were lots of highlights but if we had to choose one in particular then it would be Marjorelle Gardens stunning as is the Berber Museum inside the house.
We ate at Le Jardin, Le Foundouk and in the famous square which was an experience not to be missed.
We would certainly recommend the Riad Cinnamon & would stay there next time we go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
69
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Riad last year with a group of friends and came back this year with another group of friends!
The booking process was easy and both Ramona and Andrew assisted us with our booking and any queries we had.
The Riad is an oasis of calm in the madness of the Medina. The staff are exceptional, nothing is ever too much for them and they are ever so kind. The manager Hossein was always so helpful and assisted us in booking taxis and restaurants. We were given mobile phones which we could use at any time. After our late nights out, we would call Hossein and he would greet the taxi driver at a point where they could drive no more and walk back to the Riad with us. The Riad is situated in a maze of alleyways in the Medina with no immediate main road which wasn't a problem as we were either met at the Riad by our taxi driver or walked to the taxi by one of the Riad staff. Being 5 females, this was very reassuring and we felt safe at all times.
The breakfast is delicious, eggs, bread, crepes, jams, yogurt and fruit was served daily at any time that suited us. We had dinner on the first night which I highly recommend, absolutely delicious and we'll worth the £16 a head!
The roof terrace gave us amazing views of the Medina, the rooms were authentic, clean and comfortable and smelt of Jasmine.
Cafe Arabe and Le Foundouk are both a 5 minute walk away, definitely worth a try.
For nightlife, I recommend Jad Mahal who put on an amazing show with great atmosphere and free entry to Silver nightclub (next door) when the live act ends at 1.30am. La Comptoir Darna has great food, belly dancers, sax player and DJ all in the same venue.
I strongly recommend a day trip to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains.
We had an amazing and fun time and would definitely come again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the first6 time I have ever used trip advisor as I have never felt impressed enough to make a review. However last week my partner and I stayed at Riad Cinnamon and we were blown away by the whole experience-from the charming and attentive staff to the beautiful architecture and spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom. We loved every minute of our stay and we are now thinking of coming back in the Summer-possibly even staying for longer to encompass a visit to the dessert.
So what advice can I give you about Marrakech and Riad Cinnamon?
Well firstly, make sure that you stay in the Medina and not outside. We were very lucky that our riad is perfectly located just next to the souks and a couple of minutes away from the major monuments such as the Marrakech Museum and the korranic school etc. We were given a phone and a mobile app that uses GPS not data roaming so we found getting around a doddle. Highly recommend downloading the free app Marrakech guide and tours I think it is called Marrakech-riad. It has a turquoise and black arch-so you will recognise it on the app pages if you type in Marrakech tours.
The souks are a must as is the Majorelle gardens and the square at day and night preferably both-we watched the stalls being set up from the cafe de france which was fun.
We loved our riad and to be honest we spent a lot of time in our beautiful room and in the courtyard and roof terrace. There are lots of board games and cards and we just enjoyed having some rare down time where we just talked and sipped mint tea or played 21s! So peaceful.
One thing we loved about Riad Cinnamon was that we could have breakfast at whatever time we wanted-latest we had it was 1.30 pm and Hosein was not at all phased by this-nothing was too much trouble.
We ate an evening meal and lunch at the riad. Lunch was a delicious chicken and veg sandwich and dinner was quite an amazing spread of three courses for under £17 a head. The chefs here are amazing and they even cooked a local speciality just because we expressed an interest in it-We recommend pigeon or chicken pastilla very highly-especially if you have a sweet tooth-just amazing.
One last thing we loved was the moroccan music-very subtle but so haunting. We met some really nice people at the riad which was an unexprected bonus. We booked day trips from the riad as they were about the same price as others we checked out and we had the convenience of being picked up at our door rather than having to find the taxi area. Our transport was excellent with good air con and a driver who was polite and spoke brilliant english as he had studied in the US.
Faults with Riad Cinnamon? Well not many if there are some. Well I guess it would be nice if the taxi arrived in front of the door but then we would have to endure road noise I suppose.
Really I cant fault it! It was an experience we will always remember and hopeful;ly repeat in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Meknes suite which was lovely but we also saw that the casablanca suite was stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

After reading all the rave reviews for this riad we had no worries about booking our five day break here. There is no doubt that the best thing about Riad Cinnamon is its service. Hossein and the team were incredibly polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. As it was our first visit to Marrakech we needed that extra bit of information, help making plans and reservations, local advice etc. The additional use of the local mobile phone for when you inevitably get lost on your first day is very reassuring. We also loved the food and would very much recommend a meal on your first night. And the lovely breakfast on the roof terrace was one of our favourite times of the day.
The riad is located in the heart of the Medina, right next to the souks and its maze of alleyways. To be honest the surrounding area is not 'nice', it's like a step back to medieval times, except with the addition of mopeds zooming down the limited space too! And the riad is a definite escape from the noise and stress! Our suite was nice but there are now rusty marks and water stains in the bathroom. This didn't affect our enjoyment in any way but is one of the reasons for saying that it's not 5*. I also had a freezing cold shower one morning and waited about 20 minutes for the water to heat up another morning. Again, I realised that I'm in the middle of an incredibly old area and building, so there was no real problem! Just be prepared!
One thing that surprised me, and I had read nothing about it in other reviews, was the fact that you are unable to lock your room. I am a bit security conscious so I personally didn't like that. The other thing to be aware of is the fact that there is a mosque very near and so chances are you will be woken by the dawn call to prayer. This can last for quite a while around 05.30-06.00. You can hear other calls in the distance but they are not loud enough to wake you.
I would definitely recommend using the hotel transfers to and from the airport, they may cost more than a taxi but you are accompanied to and from the car and at least you are with a reliable driver who will definitely take you where you want to go. Unlike one taxi driver during our stay, who took us to where he wanted to go and was annoyed when we weren't impressed by his choice!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Marrakech is indeed a magical place...in the midst of all the humdrum of the Medina, through the dingy alley ways .... Riad Cinnamon is a perfect place to relax and embrace your experience. We traveled with our two kids - ages 9 and 11 and stayed in the Casablanca Suite. The Riad and the suites are superb. Very clean and comfortable place to stay. Its the people there which make the experience so great. Hussein, Abdu, Mariam and Khalija - are a great team which is always making sure that you are well taken care of. The meals at the Riad are delicious and they are able to accommodate diet restrictions easily. Thanks a lot to the team of Riad Cinnamon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have used Andrew and Marrakech Riad twice this year. We enjoyed dar habiba so much that we wanted to come back an stay again. Unfortunately when we got to the airport there was a double booking, which we thought would be a nightmare. However, Abdou sorted this very quickly and we were upgraded to riad cinnamon into the suite.
The riad was stunning and the suite was beautiful with a mezzanine floor for relaxing. However, the location was not as good as dar habiba. The area didn't feel as comfortable and safe as in the Jewish quarter, and it was further from the square which made it tricky a night. Although to be fair, the staff were fantastic and always willing to walk us around if needed.
We would use Marrakech riad again, but would stay at dar habiba in the suite or maybe riad star. No doubt another visit to marrakech will take place in 2014 as we love it!
Enjoy

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were upgraded to the Riad Cinnamon due to work being done on the one we originally booked and were given the Essaouira suite. On arrival we were met by friendly staff who took great time to explain our location on a map they provided and made recommendations for places to eat and drink over a pot of delicious mint tea. Our room was beautiful: clean, spacious and ornately decorated with little luxuries like bath robes and slippers. We even had a double ended bath, although no plug was available unfortunately! The riad was peaceful and has a lovely roof terrace where we managed to soak up a few rays, even in December. A special mention to Aziz who went way above and beyond the call of duty - even walking us to the local restaurants when we got so lost that we could not make it ourselves! He organised a city tour for us and also a fantastic hammam (I would highly recommend doing this) as well as lunch at the riad and many other small things. And all with a smile. I will be recommending Riad Cinnamon to everyone I know!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#67 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#72 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
#151 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#87 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#97 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Papillon
Riad Papillon
#13 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.