We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Save Saved
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“5-star staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, I don't usually post reviews but the staff here really do provide a 5-star service. They simply could not be more helpful or pleasant. I have just returned from four nights at Riad Cinnamon with a friend, the first trip to Marrakech for both of us. I sure one of the reasons our trip was more enjoyable than other friends' was because we stayed at Cinnamon. We had a wonderful meal one night at Maison Arabe, not very close, and one of the staff walked us there and then came to collect us after dinner, so we didn't have to negotiate the dark and winding streets on our own. Another night we couldn't find out way back from the souk we just rang and were collected.

Like other reviews say, if you are arriving late, book dinner at the riad -- it is beautifully served, quite delicious and very good value for money -- and your visit will be off to a good start. We also booked hotel transfers in advance with the riad and all that worked perfectly, and the guide they organized to take us for a day-trip to the Ourika Valley was very good helpful.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the ground floor suite, because the sitting and eating area is outside the window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
60
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Djuma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Riad Cinnamon exceeded our expectations from the beautiful courtyard to the staff. We arrived late at night and they had a delicious lamb tagine prepared for us. We had to leave very early on the last day and they had a breakfast for us, before sun rise! Well done you all, and thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a fabulous stay in this great little Riad. Set in a quiet side street very close to the Souks, it was a perfect base from which to explore the city. It was comfortable, clean and quiet and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, right down to the thoughtful touches like providing guests with a mobile phone to use in case of getting lost (a sensible precaution in the maze of streets, even for hardened travellers). The dinner on the first night was delicious, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Cinnamon and it was simply amazing. Wonderful service from all the staff, they really treat you as guests right down the little details such as talking you through the map, places to visit, trips and giving you a phone to call them if you get lost. Fantastic place to stay with great attention to detail. The riad is really beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Previously enjoyed a stay at sister riad papillon, so decided to try the suites at cinnamon to end our 2 week Moroccan trip this time.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, and kindly stopped burning the fragrant oils during my stay (at my request as I have allergies to them). The food was delicious, both breakfast and dinner, and plenty of it.

The suites are stylish, a modern take on traditional values with hints of Buddhism and spirituality thrown in, and it works to provide a very calming space in which to relax.

I have to say that I'm not sure Cinnamon is as good value as the cheaper Papillon (with much smaller rooms), apart from the extra space in the suites, the communal riad spaces are pretty similar. It was also disappointing to find the dipping pool on the terrace was empty, as the pool on the patio although lovely wasn't very private, and we didn't feel we would be comfortable using it.

Having said that, I would recommend Riad Cinnamon for a bit of a splurge, the extra space in the suites is really welcome in a country where a lot of riad rooms are tiny and dark, and it was a pleasure spending some time just chilling in the suite.

Staff were also kind in letting us use one of the rooms after we'd checked out since we had a late flight that day, so we were able to shower and freshen up before departing in the afternoon, really appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meknes Suite - probably the best as it is beautifully and colourfully decorated, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This Riad is in the middle of the Souk, We were apprehensive when the taxi driver told is we would have to put our luggage on a barrow and walk the last 10 minutes to the hotel as the taxi cannot negotiate the narrow alleys. Then, directly from the airport, you find yourself walking through the sights, noise and smells of a Marrakech souk.

The reception at the Riad is fantastic, mint tea awaits you in this island of calm amid the bustle of the streets around. It must once have been a wealthy merchant's home, beautifully renovated with ornate ceilings and distinctive rooms. The staff, especially Abdellatif, are attentive and reassuring; they patiently answered all our questions, helped when necessary and made our stay most pleasurable and interesting.

Okay the water could have run stronger in the shower and some things didn't always work perfectly, but this is not a western style five star hotel (thanks goodness). What it lacked in amenities it more than made up for in character. The rooftop terrace and breakfast were a joy.

We would recommend the experience.

B&C

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic location to experience Marrakech and the Medina at close hand. Staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble - they even lent us a mobile so that we could ring is we got lost.
Only thing is the bathrooms were a bit tired or were trying to be old style and were not quite to the quality expected.
Roof terrace including dining area was fabulous and added to the whole Medina experience.

Room Tip: Rooms were individual and unique, we had Essaouria suite. Had to go up and down stairs to the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.