We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stylish riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 1,058 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great location, stylish riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Previously enjoyed a stay at sister riad papillon, so decided to try the suites at cinnamon to end our 2 week Moroccan trip this time.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, and kindly stopped burning the fragrant oils during my stay (at my request as I have allergies to them). The food was delicious, both breakfast and dinner, and plenty of it.

The suites are stylish, a modern take on traditional values with hints of Buddhism and spirituality thrown in, and it works to provide a very calming space in which to relax.

I have to say that I'm not sure Cinnamon is as good value as the cheaper Papillon (with much smaller rooms), apart from the extra space in the suites, the communal riad spaces are pretty similar. It was also disappointing to find the dipping pool on the terrace was empty, as the pool on the patio although lovely wasn't very private, and we didn't feel we would be comfortable using it.

Having said that, I would recommend Riad Cinnamon for a bit of a splurge, the extra space in the suites is really welcome in a country where a lot of riad rooms are tiny and dark, and it was a pleasure spending some time just chilling in the suite.

Staff were also kind in letting us use one of the rooms after we'd checked out since we had a late flight that day, so we were able to shower and freshen up before departing in the afternoon, really appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meknes Suite - probably the best as it is beautifully and colourfully decorated, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This Riad is in the middle of the Souk, We were apprehensive when the taxi driver told is we would have to put our luggage on a barrow and walk the last 10 minutes to the hotel as the taxi cannot negotiate the narrow alleys. Then, directly from the airport, you find yourself walking through the sights, noise and smells of a Marrakech souk.

The reception at the Riad is fantastic, mint tea awaits you in this island of calm amid the bustle of the streets around. It must once have been a wealthy merchant's home, beautifully renovated with ornate ceilings and distinctive rooms. The staff, especially Abdellatif, are attentive and reassuring; they patiently answered all our questions, helped when necessary and made our stay most pleasurable and interesting.

Okay the water could have run stronger in the shower and some things didn't always work perfectly, but this is not a western style five star hotel (thanks goodness). What it lacked in amenities it more than made up for in character. The rooftop terrace and breakfast were a joy.

We would recommend the experience.

B&C

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic location to experience Marrakech and the Medina at close hand. Staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble - they even lent us a mobile so that we could ring is we got lost.
Only thing is the bathrooms were a bit tired or were trying to be old style and were not quite to the quality expected.
Roof terrace including dining area was fabulous and added to the whole Medina experience.

Room Tip: Rooms were individual and unique, we had Essaouria suite. Had to go up and down stairs to the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our 3rd accommodation in morocco and the worst we stayed in.The essaouira suite so cannot comment on other rooms, one of the bathrobes had a hole in it, carpets on last legs the lounge was very small 5ft-10ft approx air con only upstairs, so downstairs was unbearably hot. We stayed 3 nights if it had been longer we would have checked out having said that the staff were very good i thought this riad was over priced compared to the other accommodation we stayed in in morocco i would not go back or recommend it.

Room Tip: Don`t stay in the essaouira suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just back from an amazing experience in Marrakech. The Cinnamon is a perfect haven from the bustle and madness that is Marrakech. Not only was our room lovely, but its the staff there that make staying there such a pleasure. Hosein (sorry if I spelt that wrong my friend) and Abdoub and Miriam and the other girls there were just so warm and helpful. Hosein became what I called our guardian angel......we had to call him on the mobile phone the riad provides (great idea that others should adopt) as we got lost on our first day....he rescued us no problem. He even always seemed to be waiting for us when we arrived back at night as he chatted to friends in the street.....maybe he wasn't waiting for us but it felt like he was!
We had lamb tagine the first night in the riad.....superb food!! The breakfast was varied and healthy....we always looked forward to it. The ambiance at the riad is so relaxing and we used to say that we were back home when we got inside each evening.
Abdoub organised 2 trips for us and both went smoothly.....the staff are well connected with reputable contacts to do this for their guests.
Marrakech can seem daunting initially but the help and advice from the riad staff, plus the comfort of only being a phone call away from 'rescue' gave us increasing confidence.
We ate at the main square twice....great value and also at Cafe Arabe which was also our regular watering hole for a beer or the excellent rosé wine from Meknes.....great rooftop terrace for viewing the sunsets and also excellent food. I should add that the riad also has a nice terrace too!!
The riad is very close to a major mosque so the morning call to prayer is loud but that's life in a country with culture and religion that are very different from our own
All in all a most memorable holiday on all counts!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fez suite on the ground floor and didn't get chance to view the other rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I do not normally bother with reviews of hotels but we felt that Riad Cinnamon was so exceptional that it deserved a mention on trip advisor. Specifically the staff at the hotel are 6 star plus. They went out of their way at any time of the day or night to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They even went out to the supermarket to buy special food for my wife when we told them of her food allergies. They served us breakfast whenever we wanted it including at 1 pm on the day we arrived. They let us keep our room all day on our last day as we had a very late departure without any mention of extra charges. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the guys who worked at the riad.
We loved the food especially our welcome meal under the stars-this was it turned out the best meal we ate in Marrakech- including our blow out birthday dinner at one of the top restaurants.
We visited the Majorelle Gardens and took a cookery course at Maison Arabe which was excellent. We stayed one night at the sister hotel Riad Papillon as Riad Cinnamon was not available for all of our days when we originally booked. The staff made this very easy for us by moving our bags for us while we were out visiting the museum. We got back to our new room and found our bags safe and sound.
Our only slight complaint was that the room at Papillon was quite a bit smaller than our large room at Cinnamon-we did pay a lot less for the room there so thats to be expected. It was fine (and apparently most riads do have the narrow shaped rooms traditionally) as we were there for just one night in any case.
Well done and thanks a bunch for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed with our two teenagers at the wonderful riad cinnamon for 5 nights during our trip between Casablanca and the desert. We were met by an english speaking taxi driver who made us feel very welcome. We were looked after consistently and very well throughout our stay. We could not fault the staff nor our amazingly decorated room. simple clean and oozing style a la morrocain.
we have to make a special mention of hussein who went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us to find our way around and spending hours discussing things with our curious teens. well done.

Room Tip: we highly recommend the casablanca suite as it has a slightly separate area for teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,058 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.