We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis of calm in excellent spot in the medina of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful oasis of calm in excellent spot in the medina of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I do not normally bother with reviews of hotels but we felt that Riad Cinnamon was so exceptional that it deserved a mention on trip advisor. Specifically the staff at the hotel are 6 star plus. They went out of their way at any time of the day or night to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They even went out to the supermarket to buy special food for my wife when we told them of her food allergies. They served us breakfast whenever we wanted it including at 1 pm on the day we arrived. They let us keep our room all day on our last day as we had a very late departure without any mention of extra charges. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the guys who worked at the riad.
We loved the food especially our welcome meal under the stars-this was it turned out the best meal we ate in Marrakech- including our blow out birthday dinner at one of the top restaurants.
We visited the Majorelle Gardens and took a cookery course at Maison Arabe which was excellent. We stayed one night at the sister hotel Riad Papillon as Riad Cinnamon was not available for all of our days when we originally booked. The staff made this very easy for us by moving our bags for us while we were out visiting the museum. We got back to our new room and found our bags safe and sound.
Our only slight complaint was that the room at Papillon was quite a bit smaller than our large room at Cinnamon-we did pay a lot less for the room there so thats to be expected. It was fine (and apparently most riads do have the narrow shaped rooms traditionally) as we were there for just one night in any case.
Well done and thanks a bunch for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed with our two teenagers at the wonderful riad cinnamon for 5 nights during our trip between Casablanca and the desert. We were met by an english speaking taxi driver who made us feel very welcome. We were looked after consistently and very well throughout our stay. We could not fault the staff nor our amazingly decorated room. simple clean and oozing style a la morrocain.
we have to make a special mention of hussein who went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us to find our way around and spending hours discussing things with our curious teens. well done.

Room Tip: we highly recommend the casablanca suite as it has a slightly separate area for teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights location is perfect and the exterior hides what is a beautiful tranquil riad away from the madness that is Marrakech !
Food fabulous highly recommend eating in
Staff did everything to help advising on where to visit how to barter and what restaurants to eat at
We visited during Ramadan and the staff placed some beer in the fridge for me
You get the run of the house and it is every bit as good as the photographs
Nothing was too much trouble
Recommend the horse drawn carriage tour great way to spend the morning visiting
All transfers organised by the Riad staff as well as trips out
Stayed out of town for the rest of the week and can confirm that a Riad is the only way to spend the first 3/4 nights

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Right in the heart of Marrakech, yet a haven of tranquility. Beautiful rooms, with a great roof terrace and general atmosphere. Staff were more accommadating than could ever be expected, made us feel so welcome! Food was brilliant. Would recommend to anyone staying in Marrakech

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a great place to stay in the heart of the Medina.

Like many other reviewers we found in the staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. We enjoyed two really tasty evening meals in Riad Cinnamon. We enjoyed all our breakfasts and the service from the staff was always cheerful and helpful.

We made good use of the Riad facilities; we relaxed on the terrace; had tea in the courtyard; dipped our feet in the dipping pools; used the guide books and enjoyed the coolness of our lovely suite. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the decor; subtle and soothing.

The Riad was near a Mosque but after the first night I slept through the call to prayer. The Riad was quiet and cool. It really was a great place to relax after a day in the hustle and bustle of the city.

We did ok with finding our way about. We were escorted, by one of the Riad staff to our destination on a few occasions and then found our way back. Having the Riad mobile phone was reassuring but we didn't use it. After a few days we found it best to avoid eye contact, look confident and firmly say NO to offers from strangers to take us places! We were there is July and it was hot. However, there is lots of shade in the beautiful gardens around the city. The museum of photography was nearby and that was worth a visit. It was cool, had a great terrace and you can go back any time once you have bought your ticket.

One of the guests in the Riad pointed out that the entrance to the alleyway of the Riad had what looked like a propeller painted about the archway. We found that a really helpful marker in finding our way back. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Casablanca suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staff were extremely friendly, would recommend this to absolutely anyone staying in Marrakesh, although it may be best for couples and groups of friends. Placed so close to the souks I couldn't fault the location, service or hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There´s always a small but huge difference wich separates good from great places and Riad Cinnamon definetely has it. It´s not only about the good location, great room, bed and bathroom. I had maybe one of the best Tajines in Morocco there. The crew is absolutely perfect and helpful beyond limits. Aways trying to serve you the best way they can. And in the last night talking to the manager, I said I liked soccer and he told me there was a match between Tanzania and Morocco and he offered me to stay another night there completely free of charge and that the tickets for the game would be a gift from the owners. I couldnt stay but it explains what I mean about the excelency of this place and their colaborators.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.