We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven of Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Save Saved
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Haven of Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a great place to stay in the heart of the Medina.

Like many other reviewers we found in the staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. We enjoyed two really tasty evening meals in Riad Cinnamon. We enjoyed all our breakfasts and the service from the staff was always cheerful and helpful.

We made good use of the Riad facilities; we relaxed on the terrace; had tea in the courtyard; dipped our feet in the dipping pools; used the guide books and enjoyed the coolness of our lovely suite. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the decor; subtle and soothing.

The Riad was near a Mosque but after the first night I slept through the call to prayer. The Riad was quiet and cool. It really was a great place to relax after a day in the hustle and bustle of the city.

We did ok with finding our way about. We were escorted, by one of the Riad staff to our destination on a few occasions and then found our way back. Having the Riad mobile phone was reassuring but we didn't use it. After a few days we found it best to avoid eye contact, look confident and firmly say NO to offers from strangers to take us places! We were there is July and it was hot. However, there is lots of shade in the beautiful gardens around the city. The museum of photography was nearby and that was worth a visit. It was cool, had a great terrace and you can go back any time once you have bought your ticket.

One of the guests in the Riad pointed out that the entrance to the alleyway of the Riad had what looked like a propeller painted about the archway. We found that a really helpful marker in finding our way back. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Casablanca suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
60
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staff were extremely friendly, would recommend this to absolutely anyone staying in Marrakesh, although it may be best for couples and groups of friends. Placed so close to the souks I couldn't fault the location, service or hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There´s always a small but huge difference wich separates good from great places and Riad Cinnamon definetely has it. It´s not only about the good location, great room, bed and bathroom. I had maybe one of the best Tajines in Morocco there. The crew is absolutely perfect and helpful beyond limits. Aways trying to serve you the best way they can. And in the last night talking to the manager, I said I liked soccer and he told me there was a match between Tanzania and Morocco and he offered me to stay another night there completely free of charge and that the tickets for the game would be a gift from the owners. I couldnt stay but it explains what I mean about the excelency of this place and their colaborators.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Would definitely recommend to ANYONE who stays in marrakech!! Beautiful views from the terrace, VERY friendly staff, rooms are incredible. 5* A++++

Will definitely be coming back here again this year! Thanks so much for having me guys :D

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here with three girlfriends, what can I say? We hand the most amazing day. The Riad was so clean, the staff were incredibly friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. Our Riad manager Riad was such a darling, he made sure we were looked after, they even give you a phone so that you can call them whenever you are lost or just need to be walked back to the Riad after the taxi drops you off- as we were a group of girls we always had someone meet us after a night out. I would most definitely stay here again and would recommend to my friends. The location is also ideal as you are right in the craziness if Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were here for 3 nights, in two separate suites (the Fez suite and the Meknes suite). Both rooms were spectacular - in fact the whole riad was exceptionally well kept and with a lovely décor. The riad is located right in the heart of the medina / souqs at the end of a quiet alley. But, more importantly, it was the entire staff at the riad that made our visit to Marrakech a memorable one. A special mention goes to Zouhair and Hassan who helped us with everything we required. We would thoroughly recommend this riad for anyone looking for a memorable experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent just under a week here and loved the place. The location is ideal and the building itself was delightful. What made it special, though, was the staff, who were great fun and couldn't do too much for you, but never felt intrusive. We ended up eating here almost every night because the food was better than the restaurants. Having spoken to others who had stayed in other riads in Marrakech, all agreed this was excellent value for money. We're sure that there are cheaper riads, but we wouldn't bother looking, having found this one! Other reviews here have praised the roof gardens, the help with bargaining etc., all of which we endorse.

Room Tip: Pick the Fez suite if you don't want stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.