We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff are extremely lovely and helpful. The rooms spotlessly clean.
The suite we had was super comfortable on the first night. The bed was perfect. The noise from a tour group less so. On the second night we had the ground floor room which had a terrible bed.

I wouldn't bother with the airport transfer. it was 200dhr which is very steep for Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
69
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are a family of 4 with children aged 15 & 13. As first timers to Marrakech we had no benchmark against which to judge our selection. Suffice to say that it was excellent in every way. From the prompt & polite greeting at the airport, to the warm greeting from the staff on arrival. We were made to feel special at every turn. Nothing seemed too much trouble, from booking the calesch ride to restaurant reservations & all flawlessly executed.
The Riad has been beautifully renovated paying close attention to authentic colours and design. The Casablanca suite is perfect for a family with a mezzanine for the children.
We ate in on the first night & it was one of the best meals we had during our stay. We would certainly recommend you try a 'meal in' at least once. We liked it so much we did it twice!!
Nicely positioned for access to the El Fna square requiring a walk through the souks, you soon get your bearings. The provision of a local mobile is reassuring if you do get horribly lost, but we were determined not to use it & didn't!!
We left with much still to discover about Marrakech & the surrounding area, so we will be back & most likely stay in Riad Cinnamon again. It's a great place to consider renting it all out for a family gathering or celebration with friends. Many thanks to Hassan and the rest of the staff who all contributed to a wonderful few days in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Casablanca suite great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a fantastic stay in beautiful surroundings. The staff couldn't have done more to help us and a very special thank you to Hassan who took us wherever we wanted to get to. Thoroughly recommend the hamman and massage at Hotel Arabe - a totally indulgent experience! It was our first visit to Morocco and if we ever go back, it'll be to the Riad Cinnamon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Cinnamon with our three children, ages 9, 12 and 15. We were overwhelmed by the kindness and attention showed to us by the staff. One day our youngest daughter was tired, so Abdellattif (mgr) offered to teach her some Arabic so she could rest at the Riad. She really felt special. The rooms were lovely and the whole Riad is an oasis of calm in hectic Marrakech. The rooms all are arranged around a courtyard where meals are served. On the rooftop is a nice sitting area and small pool (better in warmer weather). The staff met us when we arrived and walked us and our belongings through the souk to the Riad. They were always available to help us navigate and to answer questions. They even gave us a phone to use if we should get lost. They helped arrange a carriage ride and made great suggestions of sights, stores and restaurants. They really were what made our trip to Morocco wonderful. If you are traveling with children, I highly recommend the Riad Cinnamon...they will welcome your whole family with open arms and help you discover the enchantments of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a really good place to stay in Marrakech. Good location. The staff were charming. They decorated our room on Christmas Day with rose petals and candles and a gift of nuts and chocolates. We had dinner on the first night and it was superb. For breakfast, there is fresh orange juice and warm bread. Very romantic ambience. The call to prayer wakes you up at 6am but this is all part of the experience and the comfy bed means you soon dift back to sleep...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful house, very well refurbished, in the hearth of the Medina. The atmosphere is romantic, the staff is always helpful and caring of the guests, the location is perfect to visit the main attractions and to hang around in the historical centre of the city. Our room (Meknes suite) was perfect in ant detail, from the colour scheme to the soaps in the bathroom, soft linens, warm lights, jasmine scent. You can sit in the patio, where a small pool is decorated each day with rose petals, or you can relax and have a drink on the roof terrace, enjoying the sunset over the red city. Breakfast is rich of fresh fruits, pressed fresh orange (no canned juice), fresh bread and a different sweet each day. Although they don't run a restaurant, they can cook meals for their guest, and we had three delicious traditional dinners, prepared by a young and always smiling lady, very generous sharing our recipes! All the staff is very helpful and willing to take care of the guests, giving suggestions, arranging excursions... they even lend you a mobile phone to be called if you get lost in the narrow winding streets! But finding the riad is quite easy, since a tower stands in front of the street where it is located!!!
If (should say 'when') I will go back to Marrakech, I'll certainly choose again riad Cinnamon for my stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Getting to Marrakech for us was not an easy affair as there are no direct flights from Poland. In the end we have decided to visit Agadir on a package holiday with a direct flight and then take a taxi to Marrakech. Riad Cinnamon staff was very helpful and arranged taxi pick up for us both ways which was convenient and assuring that we had a reliable service. The journey took about 2.5hrs door to door, as there is a newly build motorway linking Agadir with Marrakech. It was a very pictures trip across the desert and mountainous terrain.

Finding your way around Medina for a new comer is a challenge so to our relief we were met at the taxi drop off point by a Riad Cinnamon manager and he guided us thru the narrow alleyways to our accommodation. If this was not for that, we would be still most likely wandering around the maze of Madina today!

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff of Riad Cinnamon. The place proved to be an oasis of peace and tranquility for our entire stay. The location and proximity of our accommodation proved to be a real asset as it was very easy to nip off for a short stroll around Medina and return have a rest when the busy life of the Red City proved too much for us. Riad Cinnamon is next door to Marrakech Museum and Ben Youseff Madrasa – only 5 mins away walking distains – all key must see tourist attraction of the city.

We have not used the mobile pre-paid phones provide to us by riad staff and opted out to use our own roaming mobile phones. This was a big mistake as roaming charges outside EU are still very high and on upon our return home we were faced with a mobile phone bill tripled. Not to mention mobile handset lost!

First night we were treated to a complimentary dinner and the lamb tagine was the best meal we had during our entire stay in Morocco.

Riad Cinnamon has been restored using traditional craftsmanship methods and no expense was spared to achieve authentic atmosphere on every level of detail. It felt like being at home away from home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#69 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#88 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
#153 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#97 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Papillon
Riad Papillon
#14 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.