We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So romantic, so confortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Save Saved
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“So romantic, so confortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful house, very well refurbished, in the hearth of the Medina. The atmosphere is romantic, the staff is always helpful and caring of the guests, the location is perfect to visit the main attractions and to hang around in the historical centre of the city. Our room (Meknes suite) was perfect in ant detail, from the colour scheme to the soaps in the bathroom, soft linens, warm lights, jasmine scent. You can sit in the patio, where a small pool is decorated each day with rose petals, or you can relax and have a drink on the roof terrace, enjoying the sunset over the red city. Breakfast is rich of fresh fruits, pressed fresh orange (no canned juice), fresh bread and a different sweet each day. Although they don't run a restaurant, they can cook meals for their guest, and we had three delicious traditional dinners, prepared by a young and always smiling lady, very generous sharing our recipes! All the staff is very helpful and willing to take care of the guests, giving suggestions, arranging excursions... they even lend you a mobile phone to be called if you get lost in the narrow winding streets! But finding the riad is quite easy, since a tower stands in front of the street where it is located!!!
If (should say 'when') I will go back to Marrakech, I'll certainly choose again riad Cinnamon for my stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Getting to Marrakech for us was not an easy affair as there are no direct flights from Poland. In the end we have decided to visit Agadir on a package holiday with a direct flight and then take a taxi to Marrakech. Riad Cinnamon staff was very helpful and arranged taxi pick up for us both ways which was convenient and assuring that we had a reliable service. The journey took about 2.5hrs door to door, as there is a newly build motorway linking Agadir with Marrakech. It was a very pictures trip across the desert and mountainous terrain.

Finding your way around Medina for a new comer is a challenge so to our relief we were met at the taxi drop off point by a Riad Cinnamon manager and he guided us thru the narrow alleyways to our accommodation. If this was not for that, we would be still most likely wandering around the maze of Madina today!

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff of Riad Cinnamon. The place proved to be an oasis of peace and tranquility for our entire stay. The location and proximity of our accommodation proved to be a real asset as it was very easy to nip off for a short stroll around Medina and return have a rest when the busy life of the Red City proved too much for us. Riad Cinnamon is next door to Marrakech Museum and Ben Youseff Madrasa – only 5 mins away walking distains – all key must see tourist attraction of the city.

We have not used the mobile pre-paid phones provide to us by riad staff and opted out to use our own roaming mobile phones. This was a big mistake as roaming charges outside EU are still very high and on upon our return home we were faced with a mobile phone bill tripled. Not to mention mobile handset lost!

First night we were treated to a complimentary dinner and the lamb tagine was the best meal we had during our entire stay in Morocco.

Riad Cinnamon has been restored using traditional craftsmanship methods and no expense was spared to achieve authentic atmosphere on every level of detail. It felt like being at home away from home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We've just spent a week at Riad Cinnamon where we were overwhelmed by the warm, friendly atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who give you breakfast anytime, anywhere you want it, and who welcome you with smiles every time you get back from a trip out, making the riad feel like home.
There are lots of nice touches like candles lit in the courtyard and up the stairs every evening. If you don't feel like eating out in the evening you can order a delicious, home-cooked meal prepared in the riad kitchen. The vegetables were beautifully cooked with delicate flavourings, whilst the lamb targines were particularly excellent.There are lots of DVD's available if you feel like a bit of home culture, and also fast free wifi to get online.
The Riad is right next to the Median in a labyrinth of old streets and allies, but you are given a mobile to ring Abdou if you get lost. He will send someone to find you.There is a delightful garden roof terrace with lots of places to lounge or sit while you gaze at the snow-capped mountains and listen to the call to prayer.
All-in-all it must be the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in - definitely home-from-home.

Room Tip: Some stairs can be steep so choose a ground floor room if you have problems going upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I have been travelling around Morocco andNorthAfrica for the past two months and at the end of our trip we rewarded ourselves with a stay at Riad Cinnamon.We were overwhelmed by the friendliness and generosity of our hosts Abdou and Hamid. The really could not do enough for us from carrying our bags to offerring us drinks and giving us the low down on Marrakech. We arrived as weary travellers and left as friends. The food was beautifully presented on the roof terrace and they even managed to cater for my particularities in diet- gluten free which was a first (we hadwarned them inadvance about this though). Delicious and setting so romantic and relaxing.Our room (the Cheffchawen suite was breathtaking with its arched lamps and intense blue decor with high ceiling and little staircase up to our tv area. The shampoo and soaps smelt wonderful i think it was jasmin and the sheets were the softest and smoothest i have ever experienced. Lots of little extras with no charge- eg loan of mobile phone. We slept really well there and even the echoing call to prayer didnt wake us for once on our trip! Definitely recommend this for romantic couples. The doorman was a quiet but reassuring presence and came to find us when we got a bit lost in the medina. We hope to be back next year and want to try out the sister hotel which is opening soon. I think its called Riasd Star or Hotel Star and one of the other guests told us it was home of an American Star from the 20s-josephine Baker so it has an art nouveau slasnt to it. We didnt get to see where it is located but apparently it is just as central as Cinnamon is. We are very keen on art nouveau and art deco period so excited about this.

Room Tip: Our room was great but also saw the fez suite with four poster in cedar which looked nice and is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at Riad Cinnamon with two friends (all Canadian living in London). The people who run the Riad are amazing and will do everything for you: arrange taxis, organise excursions, make dinner reservations, etc. And they’ll walk you anywhere so you don’t get lost. It’s in a fantastic location in the Medina, close to the Souks.

Every morning they set up a delicious breakfast anywhere and anytime you would like it. On the first day they’ll sit down and go through the city map with you and point out anything of interest and answer any questions you have.

The place is gorgeous, but not too expensive or over the top.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed two nights in Cinnamon.
What a wonderful experience it was. The room we booked was very clean and decorated with taste, the bathroom and the shower were at the same time stylish and traditional.
I remember with great joy the fresh atmosphere of the inner yard and cooling down in the mini pool on the roof after long hours of wandering in the Medina's labyrinth.
The riad is located very conveniently, close to some of the most important Marrakech attractions.

The people working at the riad were kind, helpfull and above all very receptive to our needs.
As a tourist is pretty difficult to see what happens behind the locked doors of the traditional morrocan homes. Some of our curiosities were answered in the long discussion we had with Hussein (the riad manager) while enjoying a mint tea about the people of Morroco, their traditions and habits. You can't ever get that feeling while reading about in Morroco guides.

Thank you for a superb experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

There are seemingly dozens if not hundreds of riads online to choose from, and having not been to Morocco the sheer number of choices was intimidating. Somehow we happened onto Riad Cinnamon and couldn't have been happier with the choice. There are cheaper riads around, and more expensive ones too, so the options really are limitless. We opted for roundtrip delivery from and to the airport, which for us was also a really good choice. Perhaps getting to the riad from the airport at 3PM wouldn't have been much of a task... perhaps. But the early morning flight back would have presented problems getting a taxi, as the medina part of the city is very commercially quiet around sunrise, and cars do not reach the "street" in front of the riad, i.e., it's pedestrians only. So, if you've got the extra money to pay for that service, I would recommend it. Also saves trying to figure too many things on the fly upon arrival. One would never know this lovely building existed from the outside, like much of the meandering alleyways and souqs of the old part of the town it is impossible to know what is going on behind the walls and doorways. Riad Cinnamon is delightfully appointed in traditional style, but with modern amenities like air conditioning, comfortable bedding, iPod players, and so on. The rooftop terrace is great for breakfast, hanging out in the evening, or a soak in the pleine aire dipping pool. Inside the courtyard area is mesmerizing to look at as the light goes down in the evening, and the dipping pool in this area is cold, which is fantastic on one of the hot summer days after tripping around the maze outside. We had dinner the first night at the riad, and all are in agreement that it was the best meal we had in Marrakech. Chicken tagine with four mixed veggie salads as opener and chocolate crepes for dessert. Those smells of cinnamon, cumin, garlic, cloves, saffron wafting around inside. Nice. They have beer on hand for sale, and if you go to the supermarket in the Nouvelle Ville you can buy beer/wine, which the riad staff are glad to keep cold for you (or put them in your room fridge). We ate at several other places, on the street, at the Djeema el Fna, Cafe Arabe, and the food at Riad Cinnamon was the stand out. Furthermore, the staff present you with a mobile phone for your use when you arrive, just in case you need "rescuing" from the maze and madness. We used it the first night and Abdou and Hosin were there to save us. It's not that there are dangers, it's just that the alleyways of the medina are confusing and sort of all look the same at first, and therefore a little intimidating. You get over that after a day or so, though. The staff put you at ease and are there to help, and as Abdou said, "This is your house." We felt that way. And we were quite happy we didn't fall for one of the Nouvelle Ville, Angelina Jolie Brad Pitt resorts. That part of the city is a broad avenued French colonial addition that seems somehow disconnected from the real soul of the town. Prices of ordinary things, food, souvenirs, a coffee or tea, all seemed higher there, as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.