We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed two nights in Cinnamon.
What a wonderful experience it was. The room we booked was very clean and decorated with taste, the bathroom and the shower were at the same time stylish and traditional.
I remember with great joy the fresh atmosphere of the inner yard and cooling down in the mini pool on the roof after long hours of wandering in the Medina's labyrinth.
The riad is located very conveniently, close to some of the most important Marrakech attractions.

The people working at the riad were kind, helpfull and above all very receptive to our needs.
As a tourist is pretty difficult to see what happens behind the locked doors of the traditional morrocan homes. Some of our curiosities were answered in the long discussion we had with Hussein (the riad manager) while enjoying a mint tea about the people of Morroco, their traditions and habits. You can't ever get that feeling while reading about in Morroco guides.

Thank you for a superb experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

There are seemingly dozens if not hundreds of riads online to choose from, and having not been to Morocco the sheer number of choices was intimidating. Somehow we happened onto Riad Cinnamon and couldn't have been happier with the choice. There are cheaper riads around, and more expensive ones too, so the options really are limitless. We opted for roundtrip delivery from and to the airport, which for us was also a really good choice. Perhaps getting to the riad from the airport at 3PM wouldn't have been much of a task... perhaps. But the early morning flight back would have presented problems getting a taxi, as the medina part of the city is very commercially quiet around sunrise, and cars do not reach the "street" in front of the riad, i.e., it's pedestrians only. So, if you've got the extra money to pay for that service, I would recommend it. Also saves trying to figure too many things on the fly upon arrival. One would never know this lovely building existed from the outside, like much of the meandering alleyways and souqs of the old part of the town it is impossible to know what is going on behind the walls and doorways. Riad Cinnamon is delightfully appointed in traditional style, but with modern amenities like air conditioning, comfortable bedding, iPod players, and so on. The rooftop terrace is great for breakfast, hanging out in the evening, or a soak in the pleine aire dipping pool. Inside the courtyard area is mesmerizing to look at as the light goes down in the evening, and the dipping pool in this area is cold, which is fantastic on one of the hot summer days after tripping around the maze outside. We had dinner the first night at the riad, and all are in agreement that it was the best meal we had in Marrakech. Chicken tagine with four mixed veggie salads as opener and chocolate crepes for dessert. Those smells of cinnamon, cumin, garlic, cloves, saffron wafting around inside. Nice. They have beer on hand for sale, and if you go to the supermarket in the Nouvelle Ville you can buy beer/wine, which the riad staff are glad to keep cold for you (or put them in your room fridge). We ate at several other places, on the street, at the Djeema el Fna, Cafe Arabe, and the food at Riad Cinnamon was the stand out. Furthermore, the staff present you with a mobile phone for your use when you arrive, just in case you need "rescuing" from the maze and madness. We used it the first night and Abdou and Hosin were there to save us. It's not that there are dangers, it's just that the alleyways of the medina are confusing and sort of all look the same at first, and therefore a little intimidating. You get over that after a day or so, though. The staff put you at ease and are there to help, and as Abdou said, "This is your house." We felt that way. And we were quite happy we didn't fall for one of the Nouvelle Ville, Angelina Jolie Brad Pitt resorts. That part of the city is a broad avenued French colonial addition that seems somehow disconnected from the real soul of the town. Prices of ordinary things, food, souvenirs, a coffee or tea, all seemed higher there, as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautifully finished with excellent detail, this Riad was an oasis in the middle of Marrakech. Our suite had stairs to an area with a TV, twin sinks in the bathroom, its own air conditioning (a must come summer) and an open fire for chilly winter evenings. The central area of the Riad was beautiful with a pool, and there was a further plunge pool on the terrace. The terrace was our favourite place to relax, with lots of shady areas, comfortable seating, beautiful Moroccan decor and a 360 degree view. We had breakfast on the terrace every day.

The Riad was only a few minutes walk from the central square and a stone's throw from the shops of the Medina, yet is tucked away in a little quiet side street.

The staff were really friendly and on hand 24/7 to assist with any queries. They even gave us a mobile phone to use in case we got lost, and arranged some great trips out for us (Ourika is a must!). They also arranged taxis to and from the airport and a horse and carriage ride round the palaces.

I would also recommend the meals that the staff prepare (we let them know the day before and they bought the things they needed fresh from the market the next day and served an incredibly flavoursome, authentic tagine).

Can't think of any faults - sometimes the shower took a while to heat up. I would recommmend this Riad to anyone. Absolutely first class.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms and each is different, but they are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in Cinnamon riad June in Meknes suite. Very nice first impression, but have to say layout and design make the mez area with TV fairly useless unless you are 4ft tall. Not realy sure why one suite over another commands a higher price, i thought that there was very little difference in any of them to justify an extra tariff.

Beds were soft enough and bathroom polished and painted cement, looks nice but very dark.Lovely mood lighting throwing gorgeous shadows over room and ceiling.

After day 2 I sort of realised I had not thought through my plans and previous fantasies about staying in a riad in Marrakesh. What i realy wanted was a space to wander and sit in shady spots, traditional tiled floors, fretwork, and ironwork and all important shadowy lighting, cool fountains and an oasis within. Cinnamon is as I say lovely stylish but oh so tiny and boutique (my mistake) I felt that unless in my room I was on top of other guests, lacked any personal space and found this anything other than relaxing.

Other guest kept repeating how relaxed they felt I kept thinking how stressful it felt having to engage in conversation all the time. It the first time ever Ive thought about the need for peace and quiet ever.

Dont get me wrong I love company and love the busy souks and games played bartering with funny and engaging sellers in the souks and shops.In fact loved the markets and wandering and people. I just didnt like such a small claustrophobic riad.

Breakfasts were nice and fresh , very hit and miss service, you will never get all of your needs in one go and its a long way down to the ground floor kitchen. Having a cold beer or bottle of wine was an issue and Hassan made a few trips out to bring in 4 beers at a time! Hassan was fantastic as was Moustaffa and escorted us to a few places for dinner and back. Some were good some were very poor and over priced. Had our nicest meal in a side street traditional place( cant recall the name) and Cafe Arab Le Jardan ok, Pepe Nero ...mmmm..!!??? nice touches, good steak, but fell short...every other restaurant was pants considering the silly prices.

Nice enough stay, woud i go back no, would I recommend, no I would say stick to traditional and rethink anything longer than 4 days (another mistake I made staying too long)

Room Tip: Dont pay for the more expensive suites there is little to choose between any. Fez looks the least at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Myself and my 2 daughters have just spent a week in Marrakech a tthe Riad Cinammon. What a lovely Riad it was the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. You are given a mobile phone on arrival and can ring if you get lost which we did the first couple of days and Hussein would come and find us. The riad is very quiet and peaceful and the roof terrace gives amazing views. It takes a couple of days to get used to Marrakeck life but then just enjoy it. the people are so friendly and helpful. Vist the henna cafe it is a charity run cafe owned by Lucy and George. We met some lovely people there including Fatima who is the best henna tattoist. I would not recommend get a "calech" from the square as I felt a lot of the horses are not cared for properly, but the riad will organise one for you and it is a lovely way to see the city once you get used to the bedlam on the roads!!! I will definitely go back and enjoy more of Morocco hopefully into the sahara and atlas mountains. My only gripe about the riad was the noise AC. It was very hot when we went and so had to keep ac on all night and it was not that powerful and very noisy. There is plenty to do and see in Marrakech and it is full on everynight. Do visit the Artisan market as here things are a fixed price so it gives you a good idea of what things are worth when bataring. We sooned got used to bataring and it does become quite addictive when you start to feel confident. Most shopkeepers speak English but as always you can get by with sign language. the people of Marrakech have great sense of humour my daughters are young women and were plagued by the men, but we soon got used to handling it and felt it was all just in good humour and got to know most of them in a friendly way. We felt totally safe even at night. The medina has a tourist police force who are very vigilant in looking after tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a great place to stay in the old Medina this is it!! Great staff, great service! Get lost in the souks while working your way towards Jemaa el Fna. I will definitely be going back. Thanks Abdou!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I cannot say enough about this riad. The staff is Fanastic and really takes care of you. They actually give you a cell phone with their numbers in it in case you get lost. We stayed in the Essaouira suite which was very comfortable. We had a meal prepared for us the first night which was excellent. The riad is centrally located, easy walk to the jemma el fna, souks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.