We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning for the 4th time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
althorpe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“returning for the 4th time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

excellent as always....a truly beautiful riad.staff are the most helpful and friendly you could wish for.
a calm oasis in the madness that is Marrakech.

Room Tip: i have stayed in all but one of the rooms and they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Riad Cinnamon is cool, calm , clean and well furnished. I agree with other reviews about the quality of the staff and service and the food - all are outstanding. One of the best trips I have ever had.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are single so, try and take friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Riad Cinnamon feels like my second home as I have stayed there many times, it is always a delight to go back. The riad is ideally situated in a quiet part of the Medina but within easy reach of everything you could wish for. The staff are lovely and extremely helpful and the facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all the rooms and they all have their own charm and all are very quiet and have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I had already heard from a good friend that Riad Cinnamon was an excellent choice so I was delighted when I experienced it for myself. The staff were outstanding, the welcome warm and friendly and the food and accommodation were divine. Loved the fact we were all given phones to enable us to navigate our way around the city and nothing we asked for was ever an effort for the staff who were on hand throughout our four day stay.
Glorious city and so many wonderful things to do and see, taste and experience. Couldn't recommend it more!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated and stylishly furnished. Toweling dressing gowns and complement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stepping through the little door off a small alley way (lined with cats) in the north of the medina, you suddenly leave the hubbub of motor scooters, donkey carts and bread vendors and step into the cool interior of this beautiful riad. A genuinely warm and friendly welcome from the staff - Abdou and Mohammed always on hand with a smile and helpful advice, including rescuing you from any part of the medina where you might be hopelessly lost - by giving you a guest mobile phone with his number on speed dial! The rooms are cool (air con is installed but not essential), beautifully decorated in jewel colours and traditional Morroccan style, with 'all mod cons' - attention to details is delightful, from jasmine oil burners and hairdryers to bath robes, UK plug adapters and complimentary mint tea. A surprisingly tranquil rooftop terrace for sunbathing or greeting the morning sun rising over the mosque and practising a few sun salutations, and a charming courtyard (with retractable roof for year round surity!) with a sdmall pool - the perfect spot for our daily yoga practice! Beautiful and highly recommended. We didn't make it to the sister Riad Papillon this time - a reason to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The riad offers the best possible support for first time travellers in Marrakech. Not only are they incredibly helpful with where to go, where to eat, what to see, what to spend on a particular item but they also provide you with a local mobile phone in case you should get lost in the maze of lanes and donkeys and need rescuing. The staff, rooms and roof terrace are a calm antidote to the amazing yet hectic surrounding streets, and being in such close vacinity to the mayhem means you can always pop back for a 15 minute calm down!
We thoroughly recommend asking to eat there at least one night as the girls home cooking is outstanding and superb value for money. All in all we really can't fault Riad Cinammon and will be recommending to all our close friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Riad Cinnamon is a delight. The suites are impeccably decorated in local style, our bed was very comfy indeed, and there's aircon in all suite. Not that that matters - the building is cool and fresh throughout even in the midday heat; while the plush rooftop terrace offers leafy shade or blazing sun as you wish.

Service is utterly beyond reproach. Our hosts (Hassien in particular) could not have tried harder to please, and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Breakfast is generous, fresh, and served on demand. We also had dinner in the riad on our first night; it was also excellent. If you've flown in during the afternoon, do eat on-site for your first night; as food is not a highlight of Marrakech - you might as well make yourself at home. (There are excellent tagines etc. on offer in town, but you won't be missing out).

Marrakech is a full-on city, and Cinnamon is in a relatively impoverished part of town (yes, all these things are comparative). Although you are unlikely to come to any harm, you are going to face a barrage of salesmanship and occasionally either anti-Western sentiment or good old-fashioned con-artistry. I suspect the city could be challenging for e.g. single women. At Riad Cinnamon, we were offered a phone in case of any problems, and the staff were adamant that they would come and rescue us from anywhere if we needed it. Very reassuring, and utterly charming.

I heartily recommend Riad Cinnamon to you. It's central, charming, and staffed by heroes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.