We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Riad Cinnamon is a delight. The suites are impeccably decorated in local style, our bed was very comfy indeed, and there's aircon in all suite. Not that that matters - the building is cool and fresh throughout even in the midday heat; while the plush rooftop terrace offers leafy shade or blazing sun as you wish.

Service is utterly beyond reproach. Our hosts (Hassien in particular) could not have tried harder to please, and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Breakfast is generous, fresh, and served on demand. We also had dinner in the riad on our first night; it was also excellent. If you've flown in during the afternoon, do eat on-site for your first night; as food is not a highlight of Marrakech - you might as well make yourself at home. (There are excellent tagines etc. on offer in town, but you won't be missing out).

Marrakech is a full-on city, and Cinnamon is in a relatively impoverished part of town (yes, all these things are comparative). Although you are unlikely to come to any harm, you are going to face a barrage of salesmanship and occasionally either anti-Western sentiment or good old-fashioned con-artistry. I suspect the city could be challenging for e.g. single women. At Riad Cinnamon, we were offered a phone in case of any problems, and the staff were adamant that they would come and rescue us from anywhere if we needed it. Very reassuring, and utterly charming.

I heartily recommend Riad Cinnamon to you. It's central, charming, and staffed by heroes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
68
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from Riad Cinnamon and were so impressed with how calm and relaxing it was and how fantastic the service from the staff was. We stayed in the Fez suit which was beautifully decorated and spotless. We had dinner on our first night which was lovely, and having breakfast each morning on the terrace in the morning sun was really special. The staff were second to none, from offering us good tips on bartering at the souks to always being there to ask for a coffee. The location was great, just being a few minutes from the souks and about 10 to the square. Our experience of staying at Riad Cinnamon helped to make our trip to Merrakech wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

just returned from trip to marrakech and the riad cinnammon
would just like to compliment all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable and relaxing
the riad was beautiful, breakfast a real treat (taken whenever and wherever we wished)and an evening dinner was excellent
as two older ladies on own our , the mobile phone and escort back from evenings out if we felt unsure or lost was a real godsend and hassan was always a sweetheart
would certainly recommend this riad as a super place to stay

Room Tip: cassablanca suite was roomy and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this riad and I must say it was such a wonderful oasis of peace in the midst of the chaos! The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The food was fantastic... We ate here one evening and were not disappointed. The breakfast was sufficient. The room we stayed in 'chefchaouen' was superb! We were given a map when we first arrived along with a mobile phone in case we got lost which was very thoughtful. I must say I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have returned recently from the Riad Cinnamon. It is an absolute amazing place to stay with a suprise around each corner. We were looked after by the amazing staff, Abdou and his team were fantastic.Nothing was too much trouble.The food was absolutely amazing, we had a freshly cooked breakfast (absolutely devine) every morning at our convenience. We ate an evening meal which was fabulous. We were recomended places to visit and had a very enjoyable stay. We were lucky to meet Andrew and his wife who were a pleasure to meet. We were given use of a mobile phone to use if we got lost. One of the team would come and meet us if we got lost. We both felt we had been treated like royalty during our stay. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Riad Cinnamon - what a lovely cool oasis to go back to after a day of sightseeing in hot colourful Marrakech. Nothing was too much trouble for Abdou and the rest of the staff to ensure we enjoyed every moment of our stay - the rooms were veryclean & beautifully decorated, the food & service was outstanding and breakfast on the sun terrace was idyllic!
We were given a phone to 'call home' should we get lost, which gave us the confidence to explore further afield and received sound advice on where to eat, visit or explore. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in this Riad for only two nights during half term. We wish we had longer in Marrakech and when we return we will definitely stay here again. Abdou and his staff could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble - even when my youngest daughter asked for the roof top plunge pool to be filled (despite the weather not being that hot) someone was duly despatched to clean the pool and fill it for her. Food was delicious and really can't compliment the staff enough. An oasis of calm in a very busy exciting city!

Room Tip: Our four children shared the Casablanca suite which was ideal with two beds in the main part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.