We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Marrakech Medina Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cinnamon to your Saves list
Riad Cinnamon
9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little Marrakech Medina Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Riad Cinnamon is THE place to stay for a visit to Marrakech. It is beautifully presented, the staff are really helpful and friendly and the food is delicious. Situated in a quiet part of the Medina the instance you step into Riad Cinnamon you just feel relaxed and peaceful. I have stayed there twice now and am going back in June and know that the experience will be wonderful again as Mike, the owner, and his professional team do everything to make it so.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed with 2 friends to explore the centre of Marrakesh. We had a fantastic time. The food was great. The staff were really helpful. Restaurant recommendations were all good. It is a beautiful riad to chill out in - particularly enjoyed drinks on the roof terrace watching the sun set. Loved it, can't wait to go back.
I plan to take my mum on a Farida Adventure, staying at the Riad Cinnamon, next June.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
althorpe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

the riad cinnamon is the most beautiful luxurious place to stay.in the quiet medina but only 2mins from the wonderful chaos of the souk.decorated in contempary morracan style the attention to detail is second to none.the rooms have everything you could possibly want.i travelled on the first of a group dance/spa weekend and have already booked for a return visit this june.the staff from abdou the manager to the wonderful guys and ladies who looked after our every need and more were wonderful.breakfast on the rooftop garden was a feast and the two evening meals we had were delicious.i cant rate this riad highly enough.mike and lucy the english owners have set a standard that others can only try to achieve.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This hotel has recently been refurbed in impeccable taste, with a feeling of no expense spared. The staff are amazingly helpful, and Hassan, the porter, was despatched twice when we got lost, turning up silently on his bicycle to lead us home. Down the road was The Cafe Arabe, which was Rick's Bar made flesh. Breakfasts were good, rooms were clean and tasteful, decor delightful, views at dusk and dawn especially stunning, service prompt, I have no criticisms at all. Oh, one. At one point I looked in the spare toilet roll holder and it was empty. When that is the only bad thing you can say though....

I've given this hotel five out of five for everything, but in fact I can't comment on value. We were supposed to be staying elsewhere, but for convoluted reasons got put up here. I never saw the bill, and hence don't know what it cost. Given all the rest are fives though, anything else would imply criticism. I suspect it costs the same as any other top notch riad, and given that it was lovely, it should be good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve, switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

After a lot of research on Marrakech riads, I booked the Essaouira suite for my husband and I for a long weekend. We didn't have any problem navigating the medina but overall were not impressed with out stay at Riad Cinnamon. There are so many beautiful riads in the city that offer exceptional service and this was not one of them. The food was very good and the staff were friendly but only the manager spoke English and he was never around. They gave a us a cell phone to call if we needed them which ran out of credit twice even though we never used it. We finally just gave it back. The safe in our room ran out of batteries and no one had the key to unlock it except the manager who, surprise surprise - wasn't there. It was just one thing after another. One our first morning we asked about suggestions to buy carpets and the following afternoon, he said that he had found a place even though we were leaving at 7:30 the next morning. We also were going to book a hammam at Le Bains de Marrakech but the riad said they had a special deal with another luxury spot and would arrange it and it was similar in price to le bains de Marrakech. It was a complete rip-off - much more expensive - we told them we would not go there and then could not get a reservation at le bains de marrakech at such short notice. Our bed was very hard and we never had toiletries replaced (in fact they just refill the containers from guest to guest). All in all it was a shame because we got a peek at other riads and wished we had booked somewhere else. We have travelled all around the world both backpacking hostels and at top-class resorts and would not say that Riad Cinnamon is providing all that it is advertising.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011 via mobile

We spent 4 days at Riad Cinnamon in the Essouria room. Great choice and really good location. The dinner we had on 2 nights was the best food we ate and very reasonably priced. Hassan was lovely and helped us find our way to restaurants .... And back again, always with a smile! we had breakfast on the terrace and nothing was too much trouble. Abdou made us feel very welcome and always was on hand with advice and help with reservations, ideas of things to do and answering our texts! Thank you to all the team! We will be coming back to see you!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011 via mobile

Thi road is lovely but I really wouldn't recommend it for a first timer in Marrakech as it's in the heart of the medina where all the roads and alleys look the dame and there is someone trying to direct you elsewhere at every corner. Having said that the road itself is really well done up and only 11 months old being the younger sibling to it's sister hotel road papillon around the corner. The roof terrace gives a great view of the city and each room is laid out differently with it's own individual features. On arrival we were met at one of be many city gates and walked to re road as cars can't get down the narrow street- pay attention to your surroundings as you will have to find your own way back later! Having said that we were offered a local mobile phone on case we needed to call for someone to come and find us of we got lost so it must be a common occurrence!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. Dining in the Riad is highly recommended.Riad Cinnamon has the most amazing staff who all love to make guests feel at home. You are given a mobile phone to use during your stay and if you have any concerns or get lost whilst you are exploring the medina then our staff will willingly assist and even send someone from the riad to escort you home if you are really lost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.