We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and Cool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 610 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy and Cool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

My girlfriend and I have eaten twice at this cool little restaurant/ cafe. Both times we've sat on the terrace which is a well appointed space with comfy sofas and shade yet still assailed by the hurly-burly of the city below.

The harira soup is fantastic and the selection of Moroccan salads are wonderful. The main meals are top notch, the lamb and prune tagine being our favourite. Portions as generous and good value. The place serves alcohol and is reasonable compared to most other places we've found. Ok a half pint can is still a shade over £2 but better than £5 a bottle in other places we've been in Marrakech. There isn't a selection of alcoholic drinks; red/white/rose or beer, but that covers all my needs.

Two sumptuous courses each, a large red and 2 beers all for a little over £20.

Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    247
    58
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Very quiet terrace away from all the hassle where you can sit and enjoy enjoy good food with very good service.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tasty food, a little overpriced ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

We stopped in here for a quick lunch and I really enjoyed the Beef Tagine. The meat was incredibly tender and had been cooked in a simple but very tasty sauce. The semolina it was served with was light and fluffy and worked really well with the Tagine. My partner had the chicken kebabs and they had a tasty marinade on them and a nice smokey/grilled flavour. I've marked it down as the service wasn't great and the restaurant was a little over priced compared to what else we've eaten in Marrakech.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Worth the hike up several flights of stairs to get to the comfortable and relaxing atmosphere on the terrace. Courteous and friendly staff, and great coffee. Perfect spot for a break in the middle of the afternoon.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Book for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW via mobile

This is a great place for dinner, but it does get busy so book in advance and reserve a table on the terrace. Good food and good wine with nice views!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.