We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This restaurant is tucked away in the Souks, but worth searching for! They have 2 set menus available, we went for the 180DH one which included starter, main (any from menu), dessert & mint tea/coffee. This was great value, the Meze starter was delicious, and the chicken Tagine was the best i've tasted. An earlier review mentioned they had wine, although no alcohol was served when we went. Smoothies were a great alternative! We sat on the terrace which was a lovely atmosphere, it did get busy later on so could be worth reserving a table. They do not accept card payments, so take cash! We didn't... but the friendly waiter took my boyfriend to the cashpoint on his scooter! Fantastic service!! Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    265
    62
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We had the 180DH menu, a lot of food for the two of us and so worth the money! You couldn't get the same in the UK for the same amount. Friendly service, amazing food and very relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed a lot! Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice place with terrace but even nicer inside if you like Moroccan musicians. Food was good and the cocktails were large and tasty. Helpful friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a lucky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stumbled across the Souk Kafe completely by accident - but i think that is generally the way in Marrakesh, if you set your heart on one place you will probably never find it in the maze of tiny streets.
We had lunch here on the roof terrace and it was very pleasant. A lovely tasty Tanjier and a sharing plate of starters were very good value - though the full set menu seemed incrediable value at about £10 for a four course lunch. The fresh fruit smoothies also looked very nice. NIce little place if you can find it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coffee in the souk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Roof top cafe with little pastries. In the midst of the souk you can look down on the hagglers, sunbathe and hook up to wifi if you want.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.