We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 563 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited based on reviews - what a mistake! The worst meal we have had in a very long time. The white wine when it eventually arrived was warmer than the dreadful chicken cous cous and the chicken was drier than the white wine! My husband's brochette was dry and his chips totally overcooked. We sent the cous cous back almost untouched but they still tried to charge us for it. The next table sent a plate of cous cous back as well. Give this place a miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soukkafe, Propriétaire at Souk Kafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I hereby reply to your comments, please we have noticed during your experience that you were a trouble maker as many guest around complained about you. Those are not maners to do in a restaurant, as you were asking to the table around you to approuved your desobligeant comments regarding the food and the service... shame on you !! They all came to us reporting your bad attitude.
To end up this answer, you have eaten more than you said and for your information i first instance we didn't want to charge you all the bill as we do respect all our guests comments but being rude with our staff didn't make it.... so we charge you !!!
We hope you Farewell !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    225
    50
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a great meal here after reading trip adviser reviews. So good we went back again! Great food in a relaxed atmosphere with good staff. Lovely roof terrace and live music. Fab. We have spent 10days in Morocco and the food here was the best we had!Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great food and plenty of it! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to the Souk Kafe for dinner and it was excellent. The portions are enormous but also very good. The lamb tagine was the best I have had yet. The ambiance could have been better but overall this is a great place to visit. NB you can take your own wine!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Souk cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wonderful rooftop restaurant serving traditional Moroccan food. Polite friendly staff. Very reasonable and great place to get away from the confines of the Souk below

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berschweiler germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The owners of our Riad recommended the Souk Kafe to us and they were spot on! We would've gone back again and again had we had time. The rooftop is a nice getaway in the midst of all the hustle and bustle too. We had a tagine and a chicken/almond pastille (?) and they were both wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.