We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went here for lunch and it was lovely. I had the selection platter and it was all really tasty. Our waiter even helped us with directions. Very steep stairs to get on the roof terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    248
    192
    42
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great, traditional lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent food, perfect setting sat on a roof terrace above the Souks. Staff were friendly and helpful, assisting us with directions and supplying us with a map!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay - both times for an evening meal. The food is traditional Morrocan and everything we had was really tasty. Staff are friendly and restaurant itself has a cosy and traditional feel. It was best value place to eat we found with the best food too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While in Marrakech my husband and I came to Souk Kafe twice. The first time was to take a break from the hot day and grab a cold mint tea. It was absolutely amazing! So much mint and a bit citrusy. Two nights later we came back for food, and it didn't disappoint at all....best meal we had in Marrakech! We got the Moroccan Salad and Beef tagine (recommended by our riad). The salad was good, but, you guys- the beef was so tender it practically melted in our mouths. It was amazing! I have thought about this meal multiple times since being home and wish I could have it again! Honestly, come here, it's cool, mellow and a good break from the souks. The atmosphere is really great and the space pretty. Also when we came for dinner there were musicians playing, and it was just perfect. A lot of people had a hard time finding this place, but we actually found it pretty quickly, on the first try. Have fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Hideaway near the souk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

01.09.13 - Read the reviews on Trip Advisor as well as Guide Routard and although it was a 20 walk for us, we decided to go.
So glad we did. We opted for the 180Dh menu and it was amazingly generous. I would advise that if you are starving or very hungry then go for it. We had the Morrocan pastries (samosa with meat and veg & spring roll shaped wraps with cheese), followed by Tagine Makfoul for me and my wife had the Brochettes Mixte (one each of Lamb/chicken/kofte/sausage skewers) with chips. Both were really good, then we had fresh fruits salad and then tea (mint) and coffee (espresso). Definitely a good menu, nice terrace, live music from two locals (strings and drum). All for 445Dh, including 1 large bottle of water, 2 cokes and a freshly made smoothie. Amazing value. Thank you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.